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INTRODUCTION 

 Respondent Robert Duane George was charged with a single count of misconduct of 

willfully failing to comply with California Rules of Court, rule 9.20, as ordered by the California 

Supreme Court.  Respondent failed to file a response to the notice of disciplinary charges (NDC) 

and his default was entered.  The court finds by clear and convincing evidence that respondent is 

culpable of the charged violation.  In view of respondent’s misconduct and the evidence in 

aggravation, the court recommends that respondent be disbarred from the practice of law. 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY 

 The NDC in this case was filed on August 17, 2010, and was served on respondent.  

Respondent did not file a response to the NDC or otherwise participate in the case and his default 

was entered on October 26, 2010.
1
  The matter was taken under submission for decision on 

                                                 
1
 As detailed in the declaration attached to the State Bar’s motion for entry of default, in 

addition to service of the NDC by certified mail, the State Bar took several other reasonable 

steps to notify respondent of this proceeding.  (See Jones v. Flowers (2006) 547 U.S. 220.) 
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November 15, 2010, after the State Bar waived a hearing and submitted a brief on the issues of 

culpability and discipline.  Exhibit one attached to the brief is admitted into evidence.      

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

Culpability 

 Pursuant to former rule 200(d)(1)(A) of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar,
2
 upon 

entry of default the factual allegations in the NDC are deemed admitted and no further proof is 

required to establish the truth of such facts.  Accordingly, the court adopts the facts alleged in the 

NDC as its factual findings.  Briefly, those facts show that respondent was admitted to the 

practice of law in the State of California on December 10, 1996, and has been a member since 

then. 

 By order filed on February 18, 2010, the California Supreme Court suspended respondent 

from the practice of law for three years, stayed execution of that suspension on conditions, 

including that respondent be suspended for a minimum of 90 days and until a motion to 

terminate the actual suspension was granted under the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar.  

(Supreme Court case no. S178567; State Bar Court case no. 08-O-12789.)  The Supreme Court 

also ordered respondent to comply with California Rules of Court, rule 9.20,
3
 and perform the 

acts specified in subdivisions (a) and (c) of the rule within 30 and 40 days, respectively, after the 

effective date of the order.  Respondent was served with, and received, a copy of this order.   

 The Supreme Court order became effective on March 20, 2010, and at all times thereafter 

remained in full force and effect.  Respondent was therefore required to comply with subdivision 

(a) of rule 9.20 no later than April 19, 2010, and with subdivision (c) of the rule no later than 

                                                 
2
 The Rules of Procedure of the State Bar were amended effective January 1, 2011.  

However, the amended rules do not apply to this proceeding.  (See Rules Proc. of State Bar (eff. 

Jan. 1, 2011), Preface, item 1.)   
3
 All further references to “rules” are to these rules unless otherwise noted.  
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April 29, 2010.  Rule 9.20(c) mandates that the attorney “file with the Clerk of the State Bar 

Court an affidavit showing that he or she has fully complied with those provisions of the order 

entered under this rule.”  Respondent did not file the affidavit required by rule 9.20(c).   

 The term “willful” in the context of rule 9.20 does not require bad faith or actual 

knowledge of the provision which is violated.  (Lydon v. State Bar (1988) 45 Cal.3d 1181, 1186.)  

The Supreme Court has disbarred attorneys whose failure to keep their official addresses current 

prevented them from learning that they had been ordered to comply with rule 9.20.  (Powers v. 

State Bar (1988) 44 Cal.3d 337, 341-342.)  Based on the foregoing, the court concludes that 

respondent willfully failed to comply with rule 9.20, as ordered by the Supreme Court on 

February 18, 2010.  

Mitigating and Aggravating Circumstances  

 No mitigating circumstances have been shown.  In aggravation, respondent has been 

disciplined on one prior occasion, which is the discipline underlying the Supreme Court’s 

February 18, 2010, order in this case.  Respondent did not participate in this prior case and his 

default was entered.  In a single client matter, respondent was found to have failed to: 

communicate with his client, perform services competently, provide an accounting to his client, 

returned an unearned fee of $5,000, release the client’s file to the client, and cooperate with the 

State Bar in its investigation of the case.  

DISCUSSION 

 The purpose of State Bar disciplinary proceedings is not to punish the attorney, but to 

protect the public, to preserve public confidence in the profession, and to maintain the highest 

possible professional standards for attorneys.  (Chadwick v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 103, 111;  

std 1.3, Rules Proc. of State Bar, tit. IV, Stds. for Atty. Sanctions for Prof. Misconduct.)  Rule 
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9.20(d) states in pertinent part:  “A suspended member’s willful failure to comply with the 

provisions of this rule is a cause for disbarment or suspension.”   

 Respondent’s willful failure to comply with rule 9.20 is extremely serious misconduct for 

which disbarment is generally the appropriate sanction.  (Bercovich v. State Bar (1990) 50 

Cal.3d 116, 131;  Lydon v. State Bar, supra, 45 Cal.3d at p. 1188;  Powers v. State Bar, supra, 44 

Cal.3d at p. 342.)  A violation of the rule undermines the critical prophylactic function of 

ensuring that all concerned parties learn about an attorney's suspension from the practice of law.  

(Lydon v. State Bar, supra, 45 Cal.3d at p. 1187.)  Moreover, failing to participate in this case 

shows that respondent comprehends neither the seriousness of the charges against him nor his 

duty as an officer of the court to participate in disciplinary proceedings.  (Conroy v. State Bar 

(1991) 53 Cal.3d 495, 507-508.)    

 Respondent’s current misconduct, his prior discipline and his failure to participate in this 

case demonstrate his inability or unwillingness to comply with his professional obligations.  As a 

consequence, disbarment is necessary to protect the public, the courts and the legal community; 

to maintain high professional standards; and to preserve public confidence in the legal 

profession.   

RECOMMENDATION 

 It is recommended that respondent Robert Duane George be disbarred from the practice 

of law in the State of California and that his name be stricken from the rolls of attorneys.  The 

court further recommends that respondent be ordered to comply with California Rules of Court, 
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rule 9.20, and to perform the acts specified in subdivisions (a) and (c) of that rule within 30 and 

40 calendar days, respectively, after the effective date of the Supreme Court order in this matter.
4
 

 Finally, the court recommends that costs be awarded to the State Bar in accordance with 

Business and Professions Code section 6086.10 and that the costs be enforceable both as 

provided in Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. 

ORDER OF INACTIVE ENROLLMENT 

 In accordance with Business and Professions Code section 6007, subdivision (c)(4), the 

court orders that Robert Duane George, State Bar number 185306, be involuntary enrolled as an 

inactive member of the State Bar of California effective three calendar days after the service of 

this decision and order.  (Rules Proc. of State Bar, former Rule 220(c).) 

 

 

 

 

Dated:  February _____, 2011 RICHARD A. HONN 

 Judge of the State Bar Court 

 

                                                 
4
 An attorney's failure to comply with rule 9.20 may be punished as a crime or a 

contempt.  (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.20(d).)  In addition, respondent is required to file a rule 

9.20(c) affidavit even if he has no clients to notify.  (Powers v. State Bar, supra, 44 Cal.3d at p. 

341.)  


