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Introduction
1
 

In this probation revocation proceeding, respondent Charles Reginald Wear 

(Respondent) is charged with violating his probation conditions imposed by the California 

Supreme Court.  The Office of Probation of the State Bar of California (Office of Probation) 

seeks to revoke his probation, to impose on Respondent the entire period of suspension 

previously stayed, and to enroll Respondent as an involuntary inactive member of the State Bar. 

The court finds, by a preponderance of the evidence, that Respondent has violated his 

probation conditions.  As a result, the court recommends, among other things, that Respondent’s 

probation be revoked, that the previously-ordered stay of suspension be lifted, and that 

Respondent be suspended from the practice of law for one year, execution of that period of 

suspension be stayed, and that he be placed on probation for two years on conditions, 

including that he be suspended from the practice of law for the first year of probation.  

                                                 
1
 Unless otherwise indicated, all references to rules refer to the State Bar Rules of Professional 

Conduct.  Furthermore, all statutory references or references to section(s) are to the Business and 

Professions Code, unless otherwise indicated. 
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Finally, the court orders that Respondent be enrolled as an involuntary inactive member of the 

State Bar  pursuant to section 6007, subdivision (d)(1). 

Significant Procedural History 

On October 3, 2013, the Office of Probation filed and properly served a motion to revoke 

probation on Respondent.  The motion was mailed to Respondent’s official membership records 

address.  Respondent did not file a response within 20 days of the service of the motion.  The 

court then took this matter under submission on November 4, 2013. 

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law 

Respondent was admitted to the practice of law in California on February 5, 1982, and 

has been a member of the State Bar of California at all times since that date.  

On July 18, 2012, in Supreme Court case No. S201892, the California Supreme Court 

ordered, among other things, that: 

1. Respondent be suspended from the practice of law for one year; that execution of 

the suspension be stayed; and that he be placed on probation for two years, as 

recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar Court in its order 

approving stipulation, filed March 6, 2012 (State Bar Court case                        

No. 11-O-15087); and 

2. Respondent must comply, among other things, with the following probation 

conditions: 

A. Within one year after the effective date of his discipline, Respondent was to 

provide the Office of Probation with satisfactory proof of attendance at a 

session of the State Bar Ethics School and passage of the test given at the end 

of that session; and 
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B. Within one year of the effective date of his discipline, Respondent was to 

provide the Office of Probation with satisfactory proof of attendance at a 

session of the Ethics School Client Trust Accounting School and passage of 

the test given at the end of that session. 

The Supreme Court order became effective on August 17, 2012, 30 days after it was 

entered.  (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.18(a).)  It was properly served on Respondent.
2
 

On July 26, 2012, the Office of Probation wrote a letter to Respondent, properly sent to 

him at his then correct official address, reminding him of certain terms and conditions of his 

suspension and probation and enclosing, among other things, copies of the Supreme Court's 

order, the probation conditions portion of the stipulation, the 2012 schedule of the State Bar’s  

Ethics and Client Trust Accounting Schools, the State Bar’s Ethics and Client Trust Accounting 

Schools’ information sheets, and an Application Enrollment Form for the schools. 

Respondent then met with his assigned probation deputy by phone on September 18, 

2012.  Respondent confirmed that he had received the probation officer’s July 26, 2012 letter.  

The probation deputy reviewed with Respondent all of his probation conditions and their 

deadlines, including the deadlines for presenting proof of passage of the Ethics and Client Trust 

Accounting Schools. 

Respondent subsequently failed to provide the Office of Probation with any proof that he 

had either attended or passed either the State Bar’s Ethics School or its Client Trust Accounting 

School by the deadline for doing so. 

                                                 
2
 Although no proof was offered that the Clerk of the Supreme Court served the Supreme Court’s 

order upon Respondent, California Rules of Court, rule 8.532(a) requires clerks of reviewing 

courts to immediately transmit a copy of all decisions of those courts to the parties upon filing.  

It is presumed pursuant to Evidence Code section 664 that official duties have been regularly 

performed.  (In re Linda D. (1970) 3 Cal.App.3d 567, 571.)  Therefore, in the absence of 

evidence to the contrary, this court finds that the Clerk of the Supreme Court performed his duty 

and transmitted a copy of the Supreme Court’s order to Respondent immediately after its filing. 
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On August 19, 2013, the Office of Probation mailed and emailed to Respondent a letter 

informing him, inter alia, that he had not provided proof of attendance at the Ethics and Client 

Trust Accounting Schools by the deadline for doing so.  The letter enclosed a complete copy of 

the reminder letter that had been mailed to him on July 26, 2012.  At the time that the instant 

motion to revoke Respondent’s probation was filed on October 3, 2013, Respondent had still not 

provided such proof to the Office of Probation.  After the motion was filed, he then made no 

effort to oppose it. 

Section 6093, subdivision (b), provides that violation of a probation condition constitutes 

cause for revocation of any probation then pending and may constitute cause for discipline.  

Section 6093, subdivision (c), provides that the standard of proof is the preponderance of the 

evidence.  Bad faith is not a requirement for a finding of culpability in a probation violation 

matter.  Instead, a general purpose or willingness to commit an act or permit an omission is 

sufficient.  (In the Matter of Potack (Review Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 525, 536.) 

Respondent did not comply with the conditions of probation, as ordered by the Supreme 

Court in S201892:  (1) Respondent has failed to provide the Office of Probation with satisfactory 

proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar’s Ethics School and passage of the test given at 

the end of that session; and (2) Respondent has failed to provide the Office of Probation with 

satisfactory proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar’s Client Trust Accounting School 

and passage of the test given at the end of that session.   

As a result, the revocation of Respondent’s probation in California Supreme Court order 

No. S201892 is warranted. 

 

 

 



 

- 5 - 

Aggravation 

Prior Record of Discipline (Std. 1.2(b)(i).) 
 

Respondent has two prior records of discipline.
 3

 

In Respondent’s first prior record of discipline, the case giving rise to the probation 

subject to the pending motion, Respondent stipulated to culpability in a single client matter for: 

(1) failing to return unearned fees; (2) failing to promptly pay out client funds at the client’s 

direction and request; and (3) failing to cooperate with a State Bar investigation.  As previously 

noted, Respondent was ordered suspended for one year, stayed, and placed on probation for two 

years, effective August 17, 2012.  (Supreme Court case No. S201892; State Bar Court case No. 

11-O-15087.) 

In Respondent’s second record of discipline, effective September 27, 2013, Respondent 

stipulated to culpability in a single client matter for: (1) failing to competently perform legal 

services; (2) improperly withdrawing from legal services upon termination of employment; (3) 

failing to keep a client reasonably informed of significant developments; and (4) failing to 

cooperate with the State Bar regarding a disciplinary investigation.  Respondent was ordered 

suspended for two years, stayed, placed on probation for three years, and actually suspended 

from the practice of law for one year.  (Supreme Court case No. S211554; State Bar Court case 

No. 12-O-12506.) 

This prior record of discipline is an aggravating factor. 

 

                                                 
3
 The court takes judicial notice of the certified copy of Respondent’s first prior record of 

discipline, which is attached to the Office of Probation’s motion.  Additionally, because the 

Office of Probation failed to include a certified copy of Respondent’s second prior record of 

discipline, the court takes judicial notice of the pertinent State Bar Court records regarding that 

prior discipline (Supreme Court case No. 211544; State Bar Court case No. 12-O-12506), admits 

those records into evidence, and directs the Clerk to include copies in the record of this case. 
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Multiple Acts/Pattern of Misconduct (Std. 1.2(b)(ii).) 

 

As noted above, Respondent committed multiple acts of wrongdoing. 

Indifference Toward Rectification/Atonement (Std. 1.2(b)(v).)  

 

An attorney’s continued failure to comply with his probation conditions after being 

notified of that noncompliance is properly considered a substantial aggravating circumstance.  It 

demonstrates indifference toward rectification of or atonement for the consequences of one’s 

misconduct.  (In the Matter of Tiernan (Review Dept. 1996) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 523, 530.)    

Respondent demonstrated indifference toward rectification of or atonement for the consequences 

of his misconduct by not complying, despite numerous reminders from the Office of Probation.    

Mitigation 

Because Respondent did not file a response to the probation revocation motion, no 

evidence in mitigation was presented, and none is apparent from the record.  (Std. 1.2(e).) 

Discussion 

Section 6093 authorizes the revocation of probation for a violation of a probation 

condition.  The extent of the discipline to recommend is dependent, in part, on the seriousness of 

the probation violation and Respondent’s recognition of his misconduct and his efforts to comply 

with the conditions.  (In the Matter of Potack, supra, 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. at p. 540.)  

However, any actual suspension cannot exceed the period of stayed suspension imposed in the 

underlying proceeding.  (Rules Proc. of State Bar, rule 5.312.) 

It is clear that Respondent remains indifferent to operating “within the lines” of his 

professional obligations, especially those arising from his obligations to the State Bar and its 

consumer protection functions.  Under such circumstances, the court concludes that his original 

probation should be revoked and the one-year suspension, previously stayed, should now be 
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imposed.  (Potack v. State Bar (1991) 54 Cal.3d 132; Barnum v. State Bar (1990) 52 Cal.3d 104, 

107.) 

Recommendation 

The court recommends that the probation of respondent Charles Reginald Wear, 

Member No. 102381, imposed in Supreme Court case No. S201892 (State Bar Court case No. 

11-O-15087) be revoked; that the previous stay of execution of the suspension be lifted; and that 

that Respondent be suspended from the practice of law for one year; that execution of such 

suspension be stayed; and that Respondent be placed on probation for two years, with the 

following conditions:  

1. Respondent must be actually suspended from the practice of law for the first one year of 

probation. 

2. Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act, the Rules of 

Professional Conduct, and all the conditions of this probation. 

3. Respondent must maintain, with the State Bar’s Membership Records Office and the 

State Bar’s Office of Probation, his current office address and telephone number or, if no 

office is maintained, an address to be used for State Bar purposes.  (Bus. & Prof. Code,   

§ 6002.1, subd. (a).)  Respondent must also maintain, with the State Bar’s Membership 

Records Office and the State Bar’s Office of Probation, his current home address and 

telephone number.  (See Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6002.1, subd. (a)(5).)  Respondent’s home 

address and telephone number will not be made available to the general public.  (Bus. & 

Prof. Code, § 6002.1, subd. (d).)  Respondent must notify the Membership Records 

Office and the Office of Probation of any change in any of this information no later than 

10 days after the change. 
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4. Within thirty (30) days after the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the 

Office of Probation and schedule a meeting with Respondent’s assigned probation deputy 

to discuss these terms and conditions of probation and must meet with the probation 

deputy either in-person or by telephone.  During the period of probation, Respondent 

must promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request. 

5. Respondent must report, in writing, to the State Bar’s Office of Probation no later than 

January 10, April 10, July 10 and October 10 of each year or part thereof in which 

Respondent is on probation (reporting dates).
4
  However, if Respondent’s probation 

begins less than 30 days before a reporting date, Respondent may submit the first report 

no later than the second reporting date after the beginning of his probation.  In each 

report, Respondent must state that it covers the preceding calendar quarter or applicable 

portion thereof and certify by affidavit or under penalty of perjury under the laws of the 

State of California as follows: 

(a) in the first report, whether Respondent has complied with all the provisions of 

the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all other conditions of 

probation since the beginning of probation; and 

(b) in each subsequent report, whether Respondent has complied with all the 

provisions of the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all other 

conditions of probation during that period. 

During the last 20 days of this probation, Respondent must submit a final report covering 

any period of probation remaining after and not covered by the last quarterly report 

required under this probation condition.  In this final report, Respondent must certify to 

                                                 
4
 To comply with this requirement, the required report, duly completed, signed and dated, must 

be received by the Office of Probation on or before the reporting deadline.   
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the matters set forth in subparagraph (b) of this probation condition by affidavit or under 

penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California. 

6. Subject to the proper or good faith assertion of any applicable privilege, Respondent must 

fully, promptly, and truthfully answer any inquiries of the State Bar’s Office of Probation 

that are directed to Respondent, whether orally or in writing, relating to whether 

Respondent is complying or has complied with the conditions of this probation. 

7. Within six months after the effective date of the Supreme Court order in this matter, 

Respondent must attend and satisfactorily complete both the State Bar’s Ethics School 

and its Client Trust Accounting School and provide satisfactory proof of such completion 

to the State Bar’s Office of Probation.  This condition of probation is separate and apart 

from Respondent’s California Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) 

requirements; accordingly, Respondent is ordered not to claim any MCLE credit for 

attending and completing these courses.  (Rules Proc. of State Bar, rule 3201.) 

8. Respondent’s probation will commence on the effective date of the Supreme Court order 

imposing discipline in this matter.   

Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination 

It is not recommended that Respondent be ordered to take and pass the Multistate 

Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) because he was previously ordered to do so in 

Supreme Court case No. S201892. 

California Rules of Court, Rule 9.20 

It is further recommended that Respondent be ordered to comply with the requirements of  

rule 9.20 of the California Rules of Court and to perform the acts specified in subdivisions (a) 
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and (c) of that rule within 30 and 40 days, respectively, after the effective date of the Supreme 

Court order in this proceeding.  Failure to do so may result in disbarment or suspension.
5
  

Costs 

It is recommended that costs be awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business 

and Professions Code section 6086.10, and be enforceable both as provided in Business and 

Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment.   

Order of Involuntary Inactive Enrollment and Further Recommendation 

Section 6007, subdivision (d)(1), provides for an attorney’s involuntary inactive 

enrollment for violating probation if: (A) the attorney is under a suspension order any portion of 

which has been stayed during a period of probation; (B) the court finds that probation has been 

violated; and (C) the court recommends that the attorney receive an actual suspension due to the 

probation violation or other disciplinary matter.  The requirements of section 6007, subdivision 

(d)(1), have been met in the instant matter. 

Therefore, it is hereby ORDERED that respondent Charles Reginald Wear, Member 

No. 102381, be involuntarily enrolled as an inactive member of the State Bar of California 

pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6007, subdivision (d).  This enrollment shall 

be effective three days following service of this order.  It is also ordered that Respondent’s 

inactive enrollment be terminated in the future as provided by Business and Professions Code 

section 6007, subdivision (d)(2). 

Finally, it is RECOMMENDED that that any period of involuntary inactive enrollment  

/// 

///D 

                                                 
5
 Respondent is required to file a rule 9.20(c) affidavit even if he has no clients to notify.  

(Powers v. State Bar (1988) 44 Cal.3d 337, 341.) 
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under section 6007, subdivision (d), be credited against the period of actual suspension ordered.  

(Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6007, subd. (d)(3).) 

 

Dated:  December _____, 2013 DONALD F. MILES 

 Judge of the State Bar Court 

 


