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THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA FILED
OFFICE OF PROBATION ,

TERRIE GOLDADE, No. 155348 o JUL 22 2015
SUPERVISING ATTORNEY ’ EARI

845 South Figueroa Street STATE BAK COURT
Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 CLERK'S OFFICE
Telephone: (213) 765-1000 LOS ANGELES

STATE BAR COURT
HEARING DEPARTMENT - LOS ANGELES

In the Matter of:

Case No. 15-PM- /3 5‘?7

MOTION TO REVOKE PROBATION,;
MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND
AUTHORITIES; DECLARATION OF MAY
LING FERNANDEZ; EXHIBITS 1 THROUGH
3; PROBATION REVOCATION RESPONSE
FORM [Rule 5.310 et seq., Rules of Procedure
of the State Bar]

STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY,
No. 85433,

A Member of the State Bar

TO: The State Bar Court and Steven Michael McCarthy, Respondent:

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE THAT the State Bar of California, Office of Probation,
hereby moves pursuant to Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California, rules 5.310, et seq.,
to revoke the probation imposed upon Steven Michael McCarthy (“Respondent”) in prior
disciplinary case no. 14-J-02524 and to impose upon Respondent the entire period of suspension
of one year previously stayed by order no. $222035 of the Supreme Court filed on December 9,
2014. The State Bar requests that Respondent be ordered to comply with rule 9.20, California
Rules of Court, and that Respondent be placed on involuntary inactive enrollment pursuant to
Business and Professions Code section 6007(d).

This motion is based upon the factual allegations that Respondent has violated the terms
of probation imposed on Respondent by the aforementioned order as follows:

1. As a condition of probation, Respondent was ordered to, within 30 days from the

effective date of his discipline, by February 7, 2015, contact the Office of Probation and schedule]
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a meeting with his assigned probation deputy to discuss the terms and conditions of his
probation. Respondent has not complied in that he has not contacted the Office of Probation to
schedule such a meeting, and no such meeting has been held.

2. As a condition of his probation, Respondent was ordered to comply with the State
Bar Act and the Rules of Professional Conduct and to report such compliance to the Office of
Probation under penalty of perjury to the Office of Probation on each January 10, April 10, July
10, and October 10 (“quarterly reports™). Respondent has not complied in that he has failed to
file his first two quarterly reports, which were due April 10 and July 10, 2015.

This motion is also based on the attached Memorandum of Points and Authorities, the
attached Declaration of May Ling Fernandez, the attached exhibits, and all documents on file
with the court in this matter.

In accordance with rules 5.314(A) and 5.314(E) of the Rules of Procedure of the State
Bar of California, the Office of Probation requests that a hearing be held unless the Court, based
upon this motion and any response, determines that imposition of the discipline as requested

above is warranted.

NOTICE —~ FAILURE TO RESPOND

YOUR FAILURE TO FILE A RESPONSE WITHIN TWENTY (20) DAYS OF
SERVICE OF THIS MOTION WILL CONSTITUTE AN ADMISSION OF THE
FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS CONTAINED IN THIS MOTION AND MAY
RESULT IN THE IMPOSITION OF ACTUAL SUSPENSION PURSUANT TO
THE UNDERLYING DISCIPLINARY ORDER. ALSO, FAILURE TO
REQUEST A HEARING WILL CONSTITUTE A WAIVER OF YOUR RIGHT
TO A HEARING. SEE RULE 5.314(B) OF THE RULES OF PROCEDURE OF
THE STATE BAR.

NOTICE - INACTIVE ENROLLMENT

YOU ARE HEREBY NOTIFIED THAT, PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND
PROFESSIONS CODE SECTION 6007(d), IF THE STATE BAR COURT
RECOMMENDS ACTUAL SUSPENSION ON ACCOUNT OF A PROBATION
VIOLATION OR OTHER DISCIPLINARY MATTER, YOU MAY BE
INVOLUNTARILY ENROLLED AS AN INACTIVE MEMBER OF THE
STATE BAR. YOUR INACTIVE ENROLLMENT WOULD BE IN ADDITION
TO ANY DISCIPLINE RECOMMENDED BY THE STATE BAR COURT.
SEE RULE 5.315, RULES OF PROCEDURE OF THE STATE BAR.

NOTICE — COST ASSESSMENT
IN THE EVENT THESE PROCEDURES RESULT IN PUBLIC DISCIPLINE,
YOU MAY BE SUBJECT TO THE PAYMENT OF COSTS INCURRED BY
-2-
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THE STATE BAR IN THE INVESTIGATION, HEARING AND REVIEW OF
THIS MATTER PURSUANT TO BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE
SECTION 6086.10. SEE RULE 5.129, ET SEQ., RULES OF PROCEDURE OF
THE STATE BAR.

Respectfully submitted,

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA
OFFICE OF PROBATION

DATED: July 22, 2015 M@M{

Terrle Goldade
Supervising Attomey
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MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND AUTHORITIES
L RESPONDENT HAS NOT COMPLIED WITH THE TERMS OF PROBATION, AND
PROBATION SHOULD BE REVOKED.

By order filed December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court imposed discipline on Respondent
in case no. §222035. The Supreme Court suspended Respondent for one year but stayed the
execution of the suspension on the condition that Respondent comply with all terms of probation.

As terms of probation, Respondent was ordered as follows:

1. within 30 days from the effective date of his discipline, by February 7, 2015, contact

the Office of Probation and schedule a meeting with his assigned probation deputy to

discuss the terms and conditions of his probation. Respondent has not complied in that
he has not contacted the Office of Probation to schedule such a meeting, and no such
meeting has been held.

2. to comply with the State Bar Act and the Rules of Professional Conduct and to report

such compliance to the Office of Probation under penalty of perjury to the Office of

Probation on each January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10 (“quarterly reports™).

Respondent has not complied in that he has failed to file his first two quarterly reports,

which were due April 10 and July 10, 2015.

Consequently, the State Bar Court should recommend revocation of Respondent’s probation.

Attached hereto as Exhibit 1 is a certified copy of Respondent’s registration card and
Respondent’s membership records address history with the State Bar of California. Exhibit 1
will be offered as evidence based upon the certification of Membership Records and

Certification to show that Respondent was properly served in this proceeding.
A. Respondent Was Served With The Supreme Court Order.

It is presumed that Respondent was served with the disciplinary order of the Supreme
Court imposing a period of probation. The clerks of the reviewing courts have a duty to transmit
a copy of all decisions of those courts to the parties. (California Rules of Court, rule 8.532(a).)
Pursuant to Evidence Code section 664, there is a rebuttable presumption that such official duties

have been regularly performed. Therefore, absent any evidence to the contrary, it is presumed
-4-
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that the Supreme Court clerk has complied with the duty to transmit to Respondent a copy of the
order placing Respondent on probation. (In re Linda D. (1970) 3 Cal.App. 3d 567; People v.

Smith (1965) 234 Cal.App.2d 407; Fischer v. Lukens (1919) 41 Cal.App. 358.)
B. Respondent’s Violation of Probation Was Willful

Violation of a condition of probation must be willful to warrant discipline. (In the Matter
of Potack (1991 Review Dept.) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 525.) A willful failure is demonstrated
by a general purpose or willingness to permit the omission and can be proven by direct or
circumstantial evidence. (Durbin v. State Bar (1979) 23 Cal.3d 461; Zitny v. State Bar (1966) 64
Cal.2d 787.) It does not require bad faith.

The burden of proof in a probation revocation proceeding is the preponderance of the
evidence. (Rule 5.311, Rules of Procedure.) For purposes of determining culpability, it is
misguided to distinguish between "substantial" and "insubstantial" or "technical" violations of
probation conditions. (In the Matter of Potack, supra.) Respondent's failure to comply with
probation demonstrates a lack of concern about professional responsibilities, and therefore,

probation should be revoked.
II. RESPONDENT’S VIOLATION OF PROBATION WARRANTS THE IMPOSITION
OF THE FULL STAYED SUSPENSION.

In a probation revocation proceeding, the hearing judge may recommend actual
suspension up to the entire period of stayed suspension. (Rule 5.312, Rules of Procedure.) In
this case, the Supreme Court imposed a stayed suspension of one year. Based on the violation of
probation, the hearing judge should now recommend that Respondent be actually suspended for

the full period of stayed suspension.
1. UPON FINDING OF VIOLATION OF PROBATION, THE COURT MAY ORDER A
RESPONDENT PLACED ON INACTIVE STATUS.

In a probation revocation proceeding, the hearing judge may order the involuntary
inactive enrollment of a Respondent upon a finding that each of the elements of Business and
Professions Code section 6007(d) have occurred. (Rule 5.315, Rules of Procedure.) Those

elements have occurred where the Respondent is under an order of stayed suspension with a
-5-
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period of probation and has violated that probation and where the hearing judge recommends a
period of actual suspension. (Business and Professions Code, section 6007(d)(1).) See In the
Matter of Tiernan (Review Dept. 1996) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 523, 531-532. The order
enrolling a respondent inactive shall be effective upon service unless otherwise ordered by the
judge. (Rule 5.315, Rules of Procedure.)

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Court has stayed Respondent's suspension and placed him on probation,
and Respondent has violated that probation. The State Bar requests that the hearing judge
recommend revocation of Respondent's probation and the imposition of one year of actual
suspension. Furthermore, the hearing judge should order Respondent placed on involuntary
inactive enrollment until the suspension is effective and order Respondent to comply with Rule

9.20, California Rules of Court.
Respectfully submitted,

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA
OFFICE OF PROBATION

DATED: July 22, 2015 By: /W QT’QCQO‘OO'Q

Terrie Goldade \
Supervising Attorney
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DECLARATION OF MAY LING FERNANDEZ

I, May Ling Fernandez, declare:

1. I am over eighteen years of age and not a party to the above entitled action. All
statements made herein are true and correct and based upon my personal knowledge; if
necessary, I could and would testify thereto.

2. I am employed as a Probation Deputy for the Office of Probation, State Bar of
California. The Office of Probation is generally comprised of the Supervising Attorney, six
Probation Deputies, and an Administrative Assistant. As of June 30, 2015, the Office of
Probation was monitoring 1,054 matters.

3. My duties include establishing and maintaining files for those attorneys who have,
as a result of State Bar disciplinary proceedings, been ordered either by the State Bar Court or
the California Supreme Court to comply with certain terms and conditions of probation imposed
on them.

4, In my capacity as Probation Deputy, I maintain and monitor a file conceming
Steven Michael McCarthy, hereinafter “Respondent”, in keeping with the custom and practice in
this office.

5. It is the custom and practice of this office to maintain, in each Respondent’s file, a
copy of the court orders by which said Respondent is placed on probation. I am informed and
believe that it is the custom and practice of the California Supreme Court to serve on each
Respondent the disciplinary orders imposing discipline, including actual and stayed suspension
and probation, on said Respondent.

6. It is also the custom and practice of this office: (a) to mail all correspondence sent
to a Respondent, by first class mail, to the address on file with the Membership Records
Department of the State Bar and to maintain a copy in the file; (b) to mail said letters on the date
noted thereon and to place any such mail which is returned as undeliverable in the file; (c) to
place in the file all documents received from a Respondent and others concerning Respondent;
and (d) to memorialize contacts made or received by any Office of Probation employee

concerning a Respondent and place such memoranda in the file.
-7-
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7. A review of the probation file on Respondent reflects that a disciplinary order
imposing probation is contained therein. A certified copy of said order, filed on December 9,
2014, is attached hereto and incorporated by reference as Exhibit 2. A certified copy of the
stipulation filed August 15, 2014 is also included within Exhibit 2 for the Court's convenience.
Pursuant to said order, the terms and conditions of probation imposed on Respondent include the
following:

a. within 30 days from the effective date of his discipline, by February 7, 2015,
contact the Office of Probation and schedule a meeting with his assigned probation
deputy to discuss the terms and conditions of his probation. Respondent has not
complied in that he has not contacted the Office of Probation to schedule such a meeting,
and no such meeting has been held.

b. to comply with the State Bar Act and the Rules of Professional Conduct and to
report such compliance to the Office of Probation under penalty of perjury to the Office
of Probation on each January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10 (“quarterly reports™).
Respondent has not complied in that he has failed to file his first two quarterly reports,
which were due April 10 and July 10, 2015.

8. As Custodian of Records, I have reviewed the entire contents of the probation file
on Respondent which reflects that the relevant portions of the disciplinary orders imposing
probation and a letter confirming the terms and conditions of probation, including suspension,
were provided to the Respondent on January 21, 2015.

9. The following documents, attached hereto and incorporated by reference
collectively as Exhibit 3, are contained in the Office of Probation file maintained on respondent:

a. Reminder letter mailed to Respondent on January 21, 2015 outlining the terms

and conditions of his probation.

b. Letter mailed to Respondent at his membership records address on June 3,

2015 noting his noncompliance with his probation conditions.
c. Letter e-mailed to Respondent at his membership records e-mail address on

June 3, 2015 noting his noncompliance with his probation conditions.
-8-
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. E-mail notifications that a temporary error had occurred in delivering June 3,

2015 e-mail to Respondent and of permanent error.

June 10, 2015 fax to Respondent’s membership records fax number noting his
noncompliance with his probation conditions with communication journal
showing that fax could not be delivered.

E-mail to Respondent on June 10, 2015 to a different e-mail address noting
that his membership records e-mail and fax information did not work and
reminding him that he is required to update his contact information within 10
days of any change. A copy of the June 3, 2015 letter was attached to the e-

mail.

. June 10, 2015 e-mail reply from Respondent requesting a copy of the fax

transmission and the letter “hereinbelow falsely represent[ed] as attached” to

the e-mail.

. E-mail trail of Office of Probation’s e-mail response to Respondent on June

11, 2015 to both his membership records and alternate e-mail addresses
setting forth in detail attempts to contact him and noting that the June 3, 2015
letter to him had been attached to the June 10, 2015 e-mail. Respondent’s
June 15, 2015 response did not address the substance of the Office of
Probation’s e-mail except for asking if he could “just quit the California bar”
and that he was “not able to comply with the terms of my ‘probation.””

June 11, 2015 e-mail notification that a temporary error had occurred in
delivering June 11, 2015 e-mail to Respondent’s membership records e-mail
address.

June 16, 2015 e-mail notification that a permanent error had occurred in
delivering June 11, 2015 e-mail to Respondent’s membership records e-mail

address.

. E-mail trail including June 16, 2015 response to Respondent’s alternate (not

membership records) e-mail and Respondent’s e-mail of June 15, 2015 with
9-
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resignation with charges pending documents attached. Delivery confirmation
1s included.

10. A complete review of the Respondent's file reflects that none of the letters
referred to above were returned to the State Bar of California, Office of Probation by the United
States Postal Service as undeliverable, or for any other reason.

11. Although the proof is not due until February 7, 2016, Respondent has not
provided proof of completion of 12 hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the

foregoing is true and correct.

Executed this & @ pé& dayof )U] ‘4 , 2015 at Los Angeles, California.

Lo~

May Ling Fernandez /_-
Declarant /

-10-
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DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY CERTIFIED AND REGULAR MAIL

CASE NUMBER(s): NEW PM

I, the undersigned, over the age of eighteen (18) years, whose business
address and place of employment is the State Bar of California, 845 S. Figueroa
Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515, declare that | am not a party to the
within action; that | am readily familiar with the State Bar of California's practice for
collection and processing of correspondence for mailing with the United States
Postal Service; that in the ordinary course of the State Bar of California's practice,
correspondence collected and processed by the State Bar of California would be
deposited with the United States Postal Service that same day; that | am aware that
on motion of party served, service is presumed invalid if postal cancellation date or
postage meter date on the envelope or package is more than one day after date of
deposit for mailing contained in the affidavit; and that in accordance with the practice
of the State Bar of California for collection and processing of mail, | deposited or
placed for collection and mailing in the City and County of Los Angeles, on the date
shown below, a true copy of the within

MOTION TO REVOKE PROBATION; MEMORANDUM OF POINTS
AND AUTHORITIES; DECLARATION OF MAY LING FERNANDEZ
EXHIBITS 1 THROUGH 5; PROBATION REVOCATION RESPONSE
FORM { Rule 5.310 et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar}

in a sealed envelope placed for collection and mailing as Certified mail #7160 3901
9335 4871 9420 and regular mail mailed at Los Angeles, on the date shown below,
addressed to:

Steven Michael McCarthy Courtesy copy by regular mail to:
POB 3524 Steven Michael McCarthy
DelLand, FL 32721 POB 3524

Deland, FL 32721

in an inter-office mail facility regularly maintained by the State Bar of California
addressed to:

N/A

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the
foregoing is true and correct. Executed at Los Angeles, California, on the date shown
below.

DATED: July 22, 2015 \
siGNED: —— N\ DD W

Mia Hibler
Declarant
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Counsel for Respondent (for Court use)
In the Matter of Case no(s).
Bar #

A member of the State Bar of California (“Respondent”)

PROBATION REVOCATION RESPONSE
(Rule 5.314, Rules of Procedure)

As required by rule 5.314(B), Rules of Procedure, Respondent attaches one or more declarations to this form
which set forth the facts upon which my opposition to the motion to revoke probation is based.

(1) D Respondent requests a hearing in this matter and intends to participate.

OR
2 D Respondent requests that this proceeding be

If you checked box (1), check one of the following:

resolved on the pleadings without any hearing.

(a) D Respondent requests the opportunity to cross-examine the person(s) who executed
declaration(s) in support of the motion to revoke my probation.

(b) D Respondent does not request the opportunity to cross-examine the person(s) who
executed declaration(s) in support of the motion to revoke my probation.

Date:

Signature

Approved by the Executive Committee of the State Bar Court 12/11/97
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THE STATE BAR
OF CALIFORNIA MEMBER RECORDS & COMPLIANCE

180 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94105-1617 ' TELEPHONE: 888-800-3400

July 9, 2015

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:
1, L_ouisc;: Turner, Custodian of Membership Records of the State Bar of
California, hereby certify that attached is a full, true and correct copy of the

registration card on file in the Membership Records Department of the
State Bar of California for STEVEN MICHAEL MCCARTHY, #85433.

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA

P/ N
Louise Turner
Custodian of Membership Records

00001




THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA

REGISTRATION CARD

. . 0 Zﬂ{ LEAVE THIS SECTION
H

BLANK
HECORTHS - STRIEN. ), MRS | pssps
OFFICE ADDRESS: No.
Street and number ............. e eeeetmmemse e eem e ttmam s eemeeu et eam e omtamnenen S F/ -7 ?
City - State. e Zip Code... — Date Admitted
Date of birth......... S' Z{‘-}ﬁ ................... Place of birth MMSEW‘J N :r'
If not born in United States; when and where naturalized ?.. & / ............
Undergraduate degree from.-.QMt‘.(:.QZ‘il/_tMiﬂiﬁ..Law degree from. G ocden (oot Ui .
Dates and places of prior admission to practice..... &/88 &
Dates and places of actual practice prior to admission in California... Ao

Date... S{ 2{/ T‘[‘

Signamreg%@-\.w N‘G’cﬂ-ﬁd

MIC ROWgLWEE;D
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THE STATE BAR
OF CALIFORNIA MEMBER RECORDS & COMPLIANCE

180 HOWARD STREET, SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA 94105-1617 TELEPHONE: 888-800-3400

July 9, 2015

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

|, Louise Turner, Custodian of Membership Records of the State Bar of
California, hereby certify that attached is a full, true and correct copy of the
address history on file in the Membership Records Department of the
State Bar of California for STEVEN MICHAEL MCCARTHY, #85433 from
November 25, 1985 to the date of this certificate.

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA

%/M
Louise Turner
Custodian of Membership Records

l 00003



MM595R2 MEMBER ADDRESS CHANGE HISTORY Print Date:

Date of Admission:
Name :

Address:

Member #: 085433

5/31/1979 Status: Active Effective:

Steven Michael McCarthy

Eff:
POB 3524
DeLand FL 32721

Eff:
1265 Hwy 51
Independence OR 97351

Eff:
1946 Embarcadero
Oakland CA 94606 5213

Eff:
2100 Embarcadero #100
Oakland CA 94606

Eff:
Jacoby & Meyers
311 California St #700
San Francisco CA 94104

Eff:
Jacoby & Meyers
311 California St
San Francisco CA 94104

Eff

McCarthy & Wakeley
1120 E 14th St #E
San Leandro CA 94577

7/09/15

5/31/1979

7/24/2014

2/14/2008

5/19/2005

3/10/1992

2/25/1991

2/12/1991

:11/02/1989

00004



MM595R2 MEMBER ADDRESS CHANGE HISTORY Print Date:

Date of Admission:
Name :

Address:

Member #: 085433

5/31/1979 Status: Active Effective:

Steven Michael McCarthy

Eff:
McCarthy & Waklley
1124 E 14th St #B
San Leandro CA 94577

Eff:
1124 E 14th St {#B
San Leandro CA 94577

Eff

580 Grand Avenue
Oakland CA 94610

7/09/15

5/31/1979

2/16/1988

2/22/1988

:11/25/1985

00005



® ® SUPREME COURT

FILED

(State Bar Court No. 14-1-02524) DEC 09 204
Frank A. McGuire Clerk
$222035
Deputy
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA
En Banc

In re STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY on Discipline

The court orders that Steven Michael McCarthy, State Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject
to the following conditions:

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of
probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15, 2014; and

2. At the expiration of the period of probation, if Steven Michael .
McCarthy has complied with the terms of probation, tt.xe one-year period
of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be

terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Qfﬁce
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any insta.xll.ment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately. CANTIL
I, Frank A. McGuire, Cletk of the Supreme Court Chief Justice
of the State of Califomia, do hereby certify that the '
preceding is a true copy of an order of this Court as 00001

shown by the records of my office.
Witness my hand and the seal of the Court this

CDEC 6 2

day of :
Clerk
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(Do not write above this line.)

State Bar Court of California
Hearing Department
Los Angeles P UBLIC MATI'ER

(Respondent)

A Member of the State Bar of California

STAYED SUSPENSION
Counsel For The State Bar Case Number(s): For Court use only
14-J-02524
William Todd
Deputy Trial Counsel
845 South Figueroa Street .
Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 |
213-766-1491 FILED
' Bar # 259194 AUG1520“' ?B
o STATE BAR COURT
LERK'S OFFICE
in Pro Per Respondent LOS ANGELES
Steven M. McCarthy
POB 3524
DeLand, Florida 32721
386-736-8668
Submitted to: Settlement Judge
Bar # 88433 STIPULATION RE FACTS, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND
in the Matter of DISPOSITION AND ORDER APPROVING
STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY
STAYED SUSPENSION; NO ACTUAL SUSPENSION
Bar # 85433

[J PREVIOUS STIPULATION REJECTED

Note: All information required by this form and any additional information which cannot be providetz in the”
space provided, must be set forth in an attachment to this stipulation under specific headings, e.g., “Facts,
“Dismissals,” “Conclusions of Law,” “Supporting Authority,” etc.

A. Parties’ Acknowledgments:

(1) Respondent is a member of the State Bar of California, admitted May 31, 1979.

(2) The parties agree to be bound by the factual stipulations contained herein even if conclusions of law or
disposition are rejected or changed by the Supreme Court.

(3) Allinvestigations or proceedings listed by case number in the caption of this stipqlation are e:nti;elx resolv'ed by
this stipulation and are deemed consolidated. Dismissed charge(s)/count(s) are listed under “Dismissals.” The
stipulation consists of 12 pages, not including the order.

(4) A statement of acts or omissions acknowledged by Respondent as cause or causes for discipline is included

under “Facts.”

(6) Conclusions of law, drawn from and specifically referring to the facts are also included under “Conclusions of

Law”.

(Effective January 1, 2014)

é//

kwiktag® 048 638 281 Staved Suspension

‘ 00002
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(Do not write above this line.)

(€)

@)

C)

The parties must include supporting authority for the recommended level of discipline under the heading -
“Supporting Authority.”

No more than 30 days prior to the filing of this stipulation, Respondent has been advised in writing of any
pending investigation/proceeding not resolved by this stipulation, except for criminal investigations.

Payment of Disciplinary Costs—Respondent acknowledges the provisions of Bus. & Prof. Code §§6086.10 &
6140.7. (Check one option only): :

O
X

[l
a

Costs are added to membership fee for calendar year following effective date of discipline.

Costs are to be paid in equal amounts prior to February 1 for the following membership years: the three
billing cycles immediately following the Supreme Court order in this matter. (Hards[np, special
circumstances or other good cause per rule 5.132, Rules of Procedure). If Respondent fa_lls to pay any
instaliment as described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining balance is
due and payable immediately. ) .

Costs are waived in part as set forth in a separate attachment entitied “Partial Waiver of Costs”.

Costs are entirely waived.

B. Aggravating Circumstances [Standards for Attorney Sanctions fqr Professional
Misconduct, standards 1.2(f) & 1.5]. Facts supporting aggravating circumstances are
required.

(1)

@

3)

(4)

()

(6)

(7)

O
@)

(b)

(c)
(@
(e)

O

O

O

<

Prior record of discipline

[0 state Bar Court case # of prior case

[0 Date pn'or‘discipline effective

[1 Rules of Professional Conduct/ State Bar Act violations:
[0 Degree of prior discipline

0 Respondent has two or more incidents of prior discipline, use space provided below or a separate
attachment entitled “Prior Discipline.

Dishonesty: Respondent's misconduct was intentional, surrounded by, or followed by bad faith,
dishonesty, concealment, overreaching or other violations of the State Bar Act or Rules of Professional
Conduct.

Trust Violation: Trust funds or property were involved and Respondent refused or was una_ble to account
to the client or person who was the object of the misconduct for improper conduct toward said funds or

property.

Harm: Respondent's misconduct harmed significantly a client, the public or the administration of justice.

Indifference: Respondent demonstrated indifference toward rectification of or atonement for the
consequences of his or her misconduct.

Lack of Cooperation: Respondent displayed a lack of candor and ooopeyation to victims of his/her
misconduct or to the State Bar during disciplinary investigation or proceedings.

Multiple/Pattern of Misconduct: Respondent’s current misconduct evidences mult'i'ple acts of wrongdoing
or demonstrates a pattern of misconduct. Please see “Attachment to Stipulation,” at page 9.

(Effective January 1, 2014) Staved Suspension
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Restitution: Respondent failed to make restitution.

No aggravating circumstances are involved.

Additional aggravating circumstances

Please see "Lack of Insight,” at page 9.

C. Mitigating Circumstances [see standards 1.2(g) & 1.6]. Facts supporting mitigating
circumstances are required.

(M 0O

@)
3)

O 0O 0

)

(5)

(6)

(7)
®)

oo 0O 0O

@ 0O

(10 O
(a0 0O
(12) O

(13 O

No Prior Discipline: Respondent has no prior record of discipline over many years of practice coupled
with present misconduct which is not deemed serious.

No Harm: Respondent did not harm the client, the public, or the administration of justice.

Candor/Cooperation: Respondent displayed spontaneous canqor a_nd cooperation _with the victims of
his/her misconduct and to the State Bar during disciplinary investigation and proceedings.

Remorse: Respondent promptly took objective steps spontaneously demonstrating remorse and _
recognition of the wrongdoing, which steps were designed to timely atone for any consequences of hisher
misconduct.

Restitution: Respondent paid $ on in restitution to without the threat or force of

- disciplinary, civil or criminal proceedings.

Delay: These disciplinary proceedings were excessively delayed. The delay is not attributable to
Respondent and the delay prejudiced him/her. :

Good Faith: Respondent acted with a good faith belief that was honestly held and reasonable.

Emotional/Physical Difficulties: At the time of the stipulated act or acts pf prgf_essional misconduct
Respondent suffered extreme emotional difficulties or physical or mental disabilities which expert testimony
would establish was directly responsible for the misconduct. The difficulties or disabilities were not the
product of any illegal conduct by the member, such as illegal drug or substance abuse, and the difficulties
or disabilities no longer pose a risk that Respondent will commit misconduct.

Severe Financial Stress: At the time of the misconduct, Respondeqt suffered from severe financial stress
which resulted from circumstances not reasonably foreseeable or which were beyond his/her control and
which were directly responsible for the misconduct.

Family Problems: At the time of the misconduct, Respondent suffered extreme difficulties in his/her
personal life which were other than emotional or physical in nature.

Good Character: Respondent's extraordinarily good character is attested to by a wide range of references
in the legal and general communities who are aware of the full extent of his/her misconduct.

Rehabillitation: Cdnsiderable time has passed since the acts of professional misconduct occurred
followed by subsequent rehabilitation.

No mitigating circumstances are involved. v ; 00004

(Effective January 1, 2014) : Stayed Suspension
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Additional mitigating circumstances
Please see "No Prior Discipline,” at page 9.

Please see "Pre-Filing Stipulation,” at page 9.
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(Do nat write above this line.)

D. Discipline:

(1) [X stayed Suspension:
(a) Respondent must be suspended from the practice of law for a period of one year.

i. [0 and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabilitation and
present fitness to practice and present leaming and ab@lity in tt)e law pursuant to standard
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attorney Sanctions for Professional Misconduct.

i. [ and until Respondent pays restitution as set forth in the Financial Conditions form attached to
this stipulation.

ii. [0 and until Respondent does the following:
The above-referenced suspension is stayed.
) Probation:

Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court.)

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:

(1) X During the probation period, Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of
Professional Conduct.

(2) X Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Recorps "Ofﬁce of the
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of California (“Office of Probation”), all changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code.

(3) X Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent's assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must
promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request.

(4) DI Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, April 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of perjury, Respondent must state
whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether there
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Court and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period.

In addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earlier than
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no fater than the last day of probation.

(5) [0 Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the term§ and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance.
During the period of probation, Respondent must fumish to the monitor such reports as may be requested .
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Respondent must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor.

(Effective January 1, 2014) Qtavad Suspension
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(6) DX Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent must answer fully, promptly and truthfully any
inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are
directed to Respondent personally or in writing refating to whether Respondent is complying or has
complied with the probation conditions.

(Do not write above this line.)

(7) DJ Within one (1) year of the effective date of the discipline herein, Respondeqt must provide to the Office of
Probation satisfactory proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar Ethics School, and passage of the

test given at the end of that session.
No Ethics School recommended. Reason: Please see section “F (2)" below.

2. 7%} 3 . . - 3 3 d
(8) [d Respondent must comply with all conditions of probation imposed in the underlying criminal matter an
must so declare under penalty of perjury in conjunction with any quarterly report to be filed with the Office

of Probation.
(9) [ The following conditions are attached hereto and incorporated:
(] Substance Abuse Conditions [0 Law Office Management Conditions

[0 Medical Conditions [0 Financial Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

(1) X} Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent mgst provide proof qf passageof -
the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (‘MPRE”), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, to the Office of Probation within one year. Failure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspension without further hearing until passage. But see rule 9.10(b), California
Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure.

[J No MPRE recommended. Reason:

(2) [XI OtherConditions:

As a condition of Respondent's probation and in lieu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to return to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall complete 12 hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics within one year of the
effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will
not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the

State Bar).

(Effective January 1, 2014) Staved Suspension
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ATTACHMENT TO
STIPULATION RE FACTS, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND DISPOSITION

IN THE MATTER OF: STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY
CASE NUMBER: 14-J-02524
FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW.

Respondent admits that the following facts are true and that he is culpable of violations of the specified
statutes and/or Rules of Professional Conduct.

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND IN OTHER JURISDICTION:
1. On May 1, 2008, Respondent was admitted to the practice law in the State of Oregon.

2. Following an Oregon State Bar disciplinary hearing on July 25-26, 2012, the trial panel which
presided over the hearing filed an opinion on October 5, 2012. That opinion concluded that the Oregon
State Bar proved, by clear and convincing evidence, that Respondent committed violations of Oregon
Rules of Professional Conduct rules 1.1 [failure to provide a client with competent representat:on],.
1.4(a) [failure to comply with client’s reasonable requests for information], 1.4(b) [failure to e.xplam
matters to a client to the extent reasonably necessary to allow the client to make informed decisions] and
1.15-1(¢) [failure to deposit fees paid in advance by a client into a lawyer trust account and withdraw
them only as eamed, or as expenses incurred].

3. On January 16, 2014, the Supreme Court of the State of Oregon.ﬁled Ord;r SO§O882 .
suspending Respondent from the practice of law for 90 days for the violations described in the trial
panel opinion. Thereafter, the order of the Oregon Supreme Court became final.

4, The disciplinary proceeding in the other jurisdiction provided fundamental constitutional
protection.

FACTS FOUND IN OTHER JURISDICTION:

5. In June of 2008, a mortgage lender initiated foreclosure procedures against Dottie Robertson
regarding two properties. As a result of her search for assistance with the foreclosures, Robertson was
eventually referred to Respondent.

6. On July 9, 2008, Robertson hired Respondent to represent Robertson in non-judicial
foreclosure proceedings filed against her in June of 2008. Robertson paid RCSpondent $3,000 in fees
shortly after hiring him as advanced fees toward Respondent’s representation.

7. On August 12, 2008, Respondent filed a complaint on Robertson’s behalf (“Robertson

complaint™) in the Deschutes County Circuit Court in the state of Oregon against prertsox}’s mortgage
lender and several other defendants. The complaint alleged violations of the Truth in Lending Act
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(“TILA”), the Real Estate Settlement Procedures Act (“‘RESPA™), and various other contract and tort
claims.

8. At the time Respondent filed the Robertson complaint, Respondent had no prior experience
with TILA or RESPA matters, and he did not read the complete TILA or RESPA statutes before filing
the complaint, choosing instead to rely upon sample pleadings. Prior to filing the lawsuit, Respondent
did not know that filing a lawsuit against Robertson’s mortgage lender exposed Robertson to a
deficiency judgment in excess of $500,000, and Respondent did not warn Robertson of the potential for

a deficiency judgment.

9. On September 9, 2008, Robertson attempted to contact Respondent via e-mail, seeking
information about Robertson’s case. Respondent received the e-mail but did not respond, and on
October 20, 2008, Robertson sent an additional e-mail. Respondent received this e-mail, and did reply
with an update on the Robertson complaint.

10. On January 30, 2009, Robertson again requested an update on her case. Respondent received
the e-mail. On February 5, 2009, Respondent replied to Robertson by e-mail, and advised her for the
first time that the suit he filed on her behalf exposed Robertson to a deficiency judgment. Robertson
responded with a request to discuss the matter, but Respondent did not respond to that request.

11. In April 2009, Respondent reccived letters from counsel for several of the defendants m the
Robertson complaint regarding service of the Robertson complaint and various alleged def:ects within
the complaint. Respondent did not respond to those letters, and did not amend the complaint.

12. Robertson ultimately resolved her dispute with her mortgage lender in September 2009,
acting on her own behalf without Respondent’s involvement in either the settlement negotiations that
immediately preceded the resolution. Robertson entered into a settlement agreement dismissing her
claims against her mortgage lender on October 9, 2009, again without Respondent’s involvement.

13. Though Respondent ceased all communications with Robertson by early July 2009, he
continued to represent Robertson until dismissing her remaining claims in Apnl 2010, having failed to
serve any of the defendants identified in the August 2008 complaint.

14. Oregon Rules of Professional Conduct rule 1.1, failure to provide a client with competent
representation, is analogous to California Rules of Professional Conduct rule 3-110(A), which states that
a member shall not intentionally, recklessly, or repeatedly fail to perform legal services with
competence.

15. Oregon Rules of Professional Conduct rules 1.4(a), failure to comply with client’s reasonable
requests for information, and 1.4(b), failure to explain matters to a client to the extent reasonably
necessary to allow the client to make informed decisions, are analogous to California Business and
Professions Code section 6068(m), which requires all members to respond promptly to reasonable status
inquiries of clients and to keep clients reasonably informed of significant developments in matters with
regard to which the attorney has agreed to provide legal services.

16. Oregon Rules of Professional Conduct rule 1.15-1(c), failure to deposit fees pfu'd in ad\{ance
by a client into a lawyer trust account and withdraw them only as earned, or as expenses incurred, is not
analogous to any rule found in the California Rules of Professional Conduct or the Business and
Professions Code.
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CONCLUSION OF LAW:

17. As a matter of law, Respondent’s culpability of professional misconduct determined in the
proceeding in Oregon warrants the imposition of discipline under the laws and rules bmdmg upon
Respondent in the State of California at the time Respondent committed the misconduct in the other
jurisdiction, pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6049.1, subdivision (a).

AGGRAVATING CIRCUMSTANCES.

Multiple Acts of Misconduct (Std. 1.5(b)): Respondent committed multiple acts of misconduct
during his representation of Robertson.

Additional Aggravating Circumstances:

Lack of Insight into Misconduct: Respondent initially argued that his conduct in the Robertson
matter was not worthy of discipline, and he questioned the motives behind the Oregon State Bzfr’s
disciplinary action against him. Although the law does not require false penitence, it does require that
the attorney who committed misconduct appreciate his culpability. (See In re Aquino (1989) 49 Cal.3d
1122, at 1133.) Though Respondent now appears to appreciate his culpability, his initial resistance is an
aggravating factor.

MITIGATING CIRCUMSTANCES.
Additional Mitigating Circumstances:

No Prior Discipline: Respondent has no prior record of discipline in the 29 years .of practice
preceding his misconduct. Even though the misconduct here is serious, Respondent is entitled to some
weight in mitigation. (See In the Matter of Riordan (Review Dept. 2007) 5 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 41,
49 [attorney’s practlce of law for more than 17 years considered to be mitigating circumstance even the
misconduct at issue is serious].)

. Pre-Filing Stipulation: By entering into a pre-filing, dispositive stipulation, Respondent has
spared State Bar Court time and resources. (See Silva-Vidor v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1071, 1079
(where mitigative credit was given for entering into a stipulation as to facts and culpability].)

AUTHORITIES SUPPORTING DISCIPLINE.

The Standards for Attorney Sanctions for Professional Misconduct “set forth a means for determining
the appropriate disciplinary sanction in a particular case and to ensure consistency across cases dealing
with similar misconduct and surrounding circumstances.” (Rules Proc. of State Bar, tit. IV, Stds. for
Atty. Sanctions for Prof. Misconduct, std. 1.1. All further references to Standards are to this source.)
The Standards help fulfill the primary purposes of discipline, which include: protection of the public, the
courts and the legal profession; maintenance of the highest professional standards; and preservation of
public confidence in the legal profession. (See std. 1.1; In re Morse (1995) 11 Cal 4th 184, 205.)

Although not binding, the standards are entitled to “great weight” and should be followed “whenever
possible” in determining level of discipline. (In re Silverton (2005) 36 Cal.4th 81, 92, quoting Inre
Brown (1995) 12 Cal.4th 205, 220 and In re Young (1989) 49 Cal.3d 257, 267, fn. 11.) Adherence to the
standards in the great majority of cases serves the valuable purpose of eliminating disparity and assuring
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consistency, that is, the imposition of similar attorney discipline for instances of similar attorney
misconduct. (Jn re Naney (1990) 51 Cal.3d 186, 190.) If a recommendation is at the high end or low
end of a Standard, an explanation must be given as to how the recommendation was reached. (Std. 1.1.)
“Any disciplinary recommendation that deviates from the Standards must include clear reasons for the
departure.” (Std. 1.1; Blair v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 762, 776, fn. 5.)

In determining whether to impose a sanction greater or less than that specified in a given Stax}dard, in
addition to the factors set forth in the specific Standard, consideration is to be given to the primary
purposes of discipline; the balancing of all aggravating and mitigating circumstances; the type of
misconduct at issue; whether the client, public, legal system or profession was harmed; and the
member’s willingness and ability to conform to ethical responsibilities in the future. (Stds. 1.7(b) and

©))

The sanction applicable to Respondent’s misconduct is found in Standard 2.5(c). Standard 2.§(c) .
provides that reproval is appropriate for failing to perform legal services or properly communicate in a
single client matter.

Here, Respondent’s conduct violated Rules of Professional Conduct rule 3-110(A) by failing to perform
competently in a client matter. Respondent also violated Business and Professions Code sectifm
6068(m) by failing to communicate with the client in the same client matter. Respondent’s misconduct
is aggravated by multiple acts of misconduct, a lack of insight into his misconduct and the fact that
Robertson was left to resolve her matter on her own, without Respondent’s involvement in her
settlement. At the same time, Respondent’s misconduct is mitigated by his 29 years of disciplin.e-free
practice prior to his misconduct and his willingness to enter into a pre-filing, dispositive stipulation.

As a result of Respondent both failing to perform and failing to communicate in this matter, and the
effect of the aggravating and mitigating factors, reproval is insufficient to address the purposes of
attorney discipline. Therefore, the appropriate level of discipline includes a one-year suspension,
stayed, with two years’ probation and standard conditions. However, the State Bar Ethics School
requirement is replaced with 12 hours of continuing legal education in ethics since Responden:c currently
lives outside the state of California, which makes attendance at State Bar ethics school excessively
burdensome. Respondent must also take and pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility
Examination within one year of the effective date of the discipline. This level of discipline is
appropriate given the facts of this matter, and will serve the purposes of discipline, which include fhe
protection of the public, the courts and the legal profession, and will help to maintain high professional

standards for attorneys.

This level of discipline is also consistent with prior cases. In Layton v. State Bar (1990) .50 (;al.3d 889,
the Supreme Court ordered 30 days’ actual suspension for an attorney who repeatedly failed in the
administration of an estate for which he was an executor, eventually resulting in his removal as eftecutor.
Both the attorney in Layton and this Respondent had nearly three decades of discipline free practice at
the time of the misconduct, and both had multiple aggravating factors. Ultimately though., R.csl.)ondent’s
misconduct is less severe than that in Layton, and requires a slightly less severe level of discipline.

COSTS OF DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS.

Respondent acknowledges that the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel has infqrmed Respondent that as of
July 7, 2014, the prosecution costs in this matter are $2,992. Respondent further acknowledges that

o 00011
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should this stipulation be rejected or should relief from the stipulation be granted, the costs in this matter
may increase due to the cost of further proceedings. '

EXCLUSION FROM MCLE CREDIT

Pursuant to rule 3201, Respondent may not receive MCLE credit for completion of the educational
course(s) to be ordered as a condition of suspension. (Rules Proc. of State Bar, rule 3201.)

00012
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(Do not write above this line.)
in the Matter of — Case number(s):
STEVEN MICHAEL MCCARTHY 14-J-02524

SIGNATURE OF THE PARTIES

By their signatures below, the parties and their counsel, as applicabie, signify their agreement with each of the_
recitations and each of the terms and conditions of thig Stipulation Re Facts, Conclusions of Law, and Disposition.

4&&]&«/\ Steven M. McCarthy

Respondents Signature Print Name
\ _
Date Res ts-Counsel Signa Print Name
7/30/1Y William Todd
Date Deputy Trial Counsel’s Signature Print Name
(Effective January 1, 2014) Sianature Page
Page [
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{Do not write above this line.)

In the Matter of: Case Number(s):
STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY 14-J-02524
STAYED SUSPENSION ORDER

Finding the stipulation to be fair to the parties and that it adequately protects the public, IT IS ORDERED that the
requested dismissal of counts/charges, if any, is GRANTED without prejudice, and:

E’ The stipulated facts and disposition are APPROVED and the DISCIPLINE RECOMMENDED to the
Supreme Court.

[0 The stipulated facts and disposition are APPROVED AS MODIFIED as set forth below, and the
DISCIPLINE 1S RECOMMENDED to the Supreme Court.

[0 AllHearing dates are vacated.

The parties are bound by the stipulation as approved uniess: 1) a motion to withdraw or modify the stipulation, filed
within 15 days after service of this order, is granted; or 2) this court modifies or further modifies the approved
stipulation. (See rule 5.58(E) & (F), Rules of Procedure.) The effective date of this disposition is the effective date
of the Supreme Court order herein, normally 30 days after file date. (See rule 9.18(a), California Rules of
Court) ,

407an /5, 2a1¥ 42& FZ g
Date o GEORGE E. SCOTT, JUDGE PRO TEM

Judge of the State Bar Court

(Effective January 1, 2014) Staved Suspension Order
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

[Rules Proc. of State Bar; Rule 5.27(B); Code Civ. Proc., § 1013a(4)]

I am a Case Administrator of the State Bar Court of California. I am over the age of e.ighteen
and not a party to the within proceeding. Pursuant to standard court practice, in th; City and
County of Los Angeles, on August 15, 2014, I deposited a true copy of the following

document(s):

STIPULATION RE FACTS, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW AND DISPOSITION AND
ORDER APPROVING

in a sealed envelope for collection and mailing on that date as follows:

X] by first-class mail, with pdstage thereon fully prepaid, through the United States Postal
Service at Los Angeles, California, addressed as follows:

STEVEN MICHAEL MCCARTHY
POB 3524
DELAND, FL. 32721

X by interoffice mail through a facility regularly maintained by the State Bar of California
. addressed as follows:

William S. Todd, Enforcement, Los Angeles

Terrie Goldade, Probation, Los Angeles

] hereby certify that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed in Los Angeles, California, on

August 15, 2014.

Paul Barona
Case Administrator
State Bar Court
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The document to which this certificate is affixed is a full,
true and correct copy of the original on file and of record
in the State Bar Court.

ATTESTJuly 17, 2015
State Bar Court, State Bar of California,

Los Angeles
Bm
Clerk -
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> THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
e AR
OF CALIFORNIA : Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
FAX: (213) 765-1439
http:/fwww.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
OFFICE OF PROBATION
- ADDRES$S VERIFIED
January 21, 2015 January 21, 2015
Steven M. McCarthy BY: m | 1[ .
POB 3524 ‘
DeLand, FL 32721
Inre: S222035 (14-J-02524) | In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently

represented by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the

Office of Probation within five days so that future communications may be directed to your counsel.

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice of law for a period of one (1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certain conditions for a period of two (2) years.

You must schedule a meeting with me to discuss the terms and conditions of your discipline within.
30 days from the effective date of discipline. Make sure you read this letter including all
attachments before the required meeting.

Additionally, by court order, you must take and provide proof of successful passage of the Multi-State
Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before January 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. It
is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-

take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. The passing scaled score is 86. The MPRE
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your

particular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension until you provide proof that you have passed the examination. (See
Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8.)

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
compliance, in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
perjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared a
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quarterly Report form, you must
submit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself.

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliance. See In the Mfztter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244. If it is not, it can be rejected for filing.
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Steven M. McCarthy

January 21, 2015
Page 2

Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe
that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an error, or if there

are any questions, please notify me immediately. You are responsible for timely complying with
each and every term and condition whether or not it is reflected in this letter and/or the Quarterlz

Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, proof of compliance must be physically
received in the Ofﬁce of Probation by your due date. Bemg even one day late means that you are NOT

in compliance.

The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary only reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
compliance to the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation.

Condition Deadline(s)

1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Requited Meeting February 7, 2015

2. Quarterly Reports Quarterly; beginning April 10,
2015

3. Continuing Legal Education Courses January 8, 2016'

4. MPRE | January 8, 2016

5. Final Report i January 8, 2017

You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports are due on or before the 10™ day after the end of each
quarter. If the 10" falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017.

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,
office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as prescribed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

official membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend com_pliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar
Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

''You muét complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no later than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016.
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Page 3

Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral which may lead to the imposition of additional discipline.

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probation, which you have already
received from the Courts or your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination
schedule, Quarterly Report with instructions, MCLE information sheet, and Notice of Counsel

Representation form.

It is recommended that you maintain a file containing all orders as well as communication between the
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if you have contact
with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended that you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will immediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required original(s).

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seek compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-governing nature of
probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system. In the Matter of Gorman (Review

Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 567, 573.
Sincerely,
Cpa ~ ‘77/
May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mlf
Enclosures
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SUPREME COURT

¢ ¢ FILED

(State Bar Court No. 14-1-02524) DEC 09 204
$222035 Frank A. _l}/(cGuire Clerk
| | Deputy '
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA
En Banc

In re STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY on Discipline

The court orders that Steven Michael McCarthy, State Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions:

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of
probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15, 2014; and

2. At the expiration of the period of probation, if Steven Michael
McCarthy has complied with the terms of probation, the one-year period
of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be

terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately. L
Chief Justice

I, Frank A, McGuire, Clerk of the Supreme Court
of the State of California, do her‘ilby certify that the
preceding is a true copy of an oider of this Court as
shown by the recogds of my office.

Witness my hatd aind the seal of the Court this
DEC § 21t
r ;
o S 00004
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(Do not write above this line.)

Co . .31 -
‘ ! i

D. Discipline:

(1 Stayed Suspension:
@ Respondent must be suspended from the practice of law for a period of one year.

[J - and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabilitation and
present fitness to practice and present leaming and ability in the law pursuant to standard
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attomey Sanctions for Professional Misconduct.

i. [0 and until Respondent pays restitution as set forth in the Financial Conditions form attached to

this stipulation. : ' v :

ii. [ and until Respondent does the following:

The above-referenced suspension is stayed.

@) Probation:

Respondent is. placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court.)

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:

(1) KX
2 X
@) X
“@
® 0O

During the probation period, Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of

“Professional Conduct.

Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Records Office ofthe
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of California (“Office of Probation”), all changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. ~ =~

Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent's assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must
promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request. :

Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, Apnl 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of perjury, Respondent must state
whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether there
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Court and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period. ‘

In addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earlier thap
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no later than the last day of probation.

Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the terms and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance,
During the period of probation, Respondent must fumish to the monitor such reports as may be requested,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Responderit must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor.

(Effective January 1, 2014)

Stayed Suspension

° 00005



D

{Do not write above this line.)

6) | Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent must answer fully, pmmptly anq fruthfully any
inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these oondgtuons which are
directed to Respondent personally or in writing relating to whether Respondent is complying or has

complied with the probation conditions.

Within one (1) year of the effective date of the discipline herein, Respondent must provide to the Office of

Probation satisfactory proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar Ethics School, and passage of the

test given-at the end of that session. . oo ‘ Tt o

No Ethics School recommended. Reason: Please see section "F (2)" below. ‘

[J Respondent must comply with all conditions of probation lmposed in the underlying criminal matter and
must so declare under penalty of perjury in conjunction with any quarterly report to be filed with the Office
of Probation. _ ,

(9) [ The following conditions are attached hereto and incorporated:

[0 Law Office Management Conditions

(7) X

®

[0 Substance Abuse Conditions

[0  Medical Conditions [J Financial Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

(1) [XI Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of
, the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (“MPRE"), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, to the Office of Probation within one year. Failure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspension without further hearing until passage. But see rule 9.10(b), California

Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure.

[J No MPRE recommended. Reason: .

(2) X Other Conditions:
As a condition of Respondent's probation and in lieu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to return to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall complete 12 hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics within one year of the
effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will
not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the

State Bar).

Stayed Suspension

° 00006
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MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE")

2015 Examination Schedule and Information
This document was created as a courtesy by the State Bar of California, Office of Probation.

The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRE.
TO REGISTER AND FOR THE MOST RECENT INFORMATION REGARDING MPRE TEST
DATES, DEADLINES, RESOURCES, ETC., YOU MUST CONTACT:

National Conference of Bar Examiners (“NCBE")
Website: www.ncbex.org

Test Regular Registration | Late Registration | $cores Tentatively
Dates* . Deadline ($80)* Deadline ($160)* Released by
Saturday, March 28, 2015 February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15, 2015 June 25, 2015 July 2, 2015 September 19, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | September 17,2015 | September 24, 2015 | December 12, 2015

1. The MPRE fee for applications received on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regular receipt deadline but
before the late receipt deadline is $160. '
2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to the Office of Probation, you
MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or
before your due date. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay confirming
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation
matters or a non-compliance referral in all other matters.

3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the
National Conference of Bar Examiners in advance of the examination.

Passing scaled score 86 |

*Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE’s website for current information.

Revised O/20/15
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

(For Office of Probation Use Only)

CASE NO(s): 5222035 (14-J-02524)

Probation

QUARTERLY REPORT

[:I First Report Due: April 10, 2015 : [:] Final Report Due: January 8, 2017
(for period January 8, 2015 through March 31, 2015) (for period October 1,2016 through January 8, 2017)

Due: [ |January10,20__ [ |April10,20__ [ ] July10,20__ [ | October 10,20__
(for period 10/1 through 12/31) (for period 01/01 through 3/31) (for period 4/1 through 6/30) (fof period 7/1 through 9/30)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 .

Place an "X" before each of the statements below that applies to you:

Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

During the reporting period noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all
provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of
probation; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed
under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court
including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

During the reporting period above or portion thereof, I have complied with all provisions
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of probation
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this
space):

(attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is needed);
and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending against me
in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed under
penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status.

00008
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. 5222035 (14-J-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

—  VWithin 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other.
address for State Bar purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.10f the Business and

Professions Code

Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination

I have registered for the MPRE given on

__ Ihave taken the MPRE given on and am awaiting the results.
__ I'passed the MPRE given on . A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.
and have re-scheduled to take

I did not pass the MPRE given on
the examination given on

Continuing Legal Education Courses

__ Thave completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education-
approved course(s) in legal ethics and have attached proof of completion if not previously
submitted. I understand that the course hours required by this condition are in addition to
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

‘ I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate.

Date: Signature:
(Date of actual signature)

Steven M. McCarthy
(Please sign in blue ink)
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: ﬁu Office of Probation g |
QX TERLY REPORT INSTRUCICIONS

1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to b
reported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carefully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect you
conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you ar(

required to timely complete all of your ordered conditions. The report form is provided as a courtesy only, and you ar
not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Report form. YOU
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORTS. In the
future, one additional copy may be provided if you make a written request with an explanation under penalty of perjury

why you need such copy made.

3.  For each quarter's report, mark the box for the correct reporting period and write in the correct year. Place an "X" in
front of each condition that applies to your activities during each respective reporting period. Provide all required

information.

4. Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your business day on the last day of the month of each calendar
quarter (i.e., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED IF

YOU DATE, SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH
CALENDAR QUARTER.

O 3 3
OD O
January 1- March 31 v April 10
April 1 - June 30 July 10
July I - September 30 October 10
October 1 - December 31 January 10

5. Your original signed and dated report must be physically received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that
it is received no later than the last State Bar business day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Probation. It is recommended
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the tenth, and
because some Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.

8. The Office of Probation files your report as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9. The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must calendar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance.

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your compliance. See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244. Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing. OOO 1 0

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Office of Probation at
(213)765-1035. :



.’ ‘,

MCLE Information Sheet

Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirements, but many orders require similar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immediately ask your Probation Deputy if you have any questions.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the State Bar of

California’s website: http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/MCLE.aspx. For example, the MCLE you submit must be provided by
approved California MCLE providers; they are listed on the website.

2. The State Bar’s website defines self-study and participatory. If you are required to do participatory MCLE, self study
courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do “live”, you must physically attend the course(s). Unless your order
states it is acceptable for you to receive MCLE for courses you teach, the Office of Probation will NOT credit such hours to

your condition.

3. Generally, your disciplinary requirement is separate from your regular MCLE requirement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your disciplinary requiréments is a violation of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201.

4. Generally, you will NOT receive credit for courses completed before the effective date of your discipline.

5. Generally, you are required to provide “satisfactory evidence” to the Office of Probation. Forward the certificate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy
of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD

and/or DVD.

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by
the Office of Probation, NOT for you to have completed the courses.

7. If you may take courses in general legal ethics, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State
Bar of California in ethics.
8. If you are to take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Office Management may differ from Law

Practice Management. Law Office Management usually covers issues involved in in the day to day running of a law office,
which m might include calendaring, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing

your practice, limiting your liability, etc.

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Office Managemen_t. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10. Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requiremfmt, you may's.end a copy of
the provider, course title and information, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Atto.mey,
Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to

terrie.goldade@calbar.ca.gov.

11. Sometimes only a portion of a course may satisfy your requirement. The Office of Probation has not attended all courses
by all providers, and so cannot make a reasoned determination as to what pomon of a course might be applicable.
Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be approved if it relates
to your practice and the facts related to your matter. For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise
employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.

Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each reﬁuirement, you may be referred for non-compliance. A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/11
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NOTICE OF COUNSEL REPRESENTATION

Respondent: Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: 5222035 (14-J-02524)

Member Number: 85433

Counsel Name;

Firm Name:;

Address:

Bar Number:

Phone Number:

Respondent Signature:

Date:

Counsel Signature:

Date:

s datr:ﬂrm ﬁlﬂ rb?l?w o m:vm'*’\ a’ﬂ:
sy born st Hist o
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Please complete and return this foxm 1o t‘he “‘f‘gce g‘f l"ur?l)atnon 84§ South F; qeroa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-2515. — A , o
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THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
\ OF CALIFORNIA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
FAX: (213) 765-1439
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
- May.Femnandez@calbar.ca.gov
OFFICE OF PROBATION
June 3, 2015 _ ADDRES$$ VERIFIED
June 3, 2015
Steven M. McCarthy L C— i
POB 3524 ‘

DeLand, FL 32721
Sent via"em'ail and mail.

Inre: $222035 (14-J-02524) In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

" Dear Ste\;en M. McCarthy:

. On January 21, 2015, this office sent to you a letter (copy enclosed) for the purpose of reminding you of
the terms and conditions of your probation imposed by the Supreme Court which became effective

January 8, 2015.

The ‘follo_wing chart summarizes your compliance and non-compliance with the conditions of your
probation to date: e . ' . B .

Condition Due Date Completion Date Comments
Schedule Reqd. Mtg. 2/7/15 Please contact me immediately to
: . ‘ schedule required meeting.
Hold Required Mtg. As Scheduled
Quarterly Reports 4/10/15 Please file immediately.

You are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non--
compliance referral which may result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs (see
attached). Even if you contact the Office of Probation, a referral may still be prepared. The Office of
Probation will not send any further reminder letters regarding the aforementioned non-compliance or
any future compliance due dates or lack of receipt of compliance documentation.

Please be reminded that LATE completion, submission, or filing of proof/documents, does not
mean you are in compliance. You will pever be in compliance because being even one day late
means that you are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation.

If for any reason, you cannot timely comply with the terms and conditions of the discipline imposed, and
to avoid a non-compliance referral, you must file a motion with the State Bar Court. See rules 5.162 and
5.300, et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California. A copy of the motion must he served
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Steven M. McCarthy‘
June 3, 2015
Page 2

upon the Office of Probation. The Office of Probation does not have the authorzty to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of your probation.

Please note that even if you are referred, you are STILL REQUIRED TO TIMELY COMPLY with all
probation conditions in this matter.  Additional violations may be subject to a separate non-compliance
referral. If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at (213) 765-1035. :

Sincerely,
May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mlf

Enclosure(s)
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Discipline Costs - 2015

Effective January 1, 2015,

Pursuant to action by the State Bar’s governing board in January 2011 and May 2012, the costs assessed
for disciplinary matters are adjusted annually to account for changes in labor and other resource costs.
The adjustment is calculated by combining 40% of the year-on-year percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index’ with 60% of the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Management,
Professwnal and Related Occupations’. For 2015, the adjustment is an increase of 2.47%.

For matters filed on or after Janualy 1, 2015, the costs assessed are as follows:

Matters that go in Default - ' ' - %4451
Matters that Settle Prior to Filing of a Notice of Dlsclplmary Charges '$3,066 |
Matters that Settle during first 120 days of proceeding | . 835841
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed » $5,680
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed ' - __$7431
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial ' $7.431
Matters that proceed to a Multi-day trial ' $16,758
Matters that proceed to the Review Department ’ $20,499

“LCost Assessment

':Wnlii'ic'!it)il"Rd'éi‘i‘"’ilé‘ {Btage at'wihiich 1he matter seitles)

$3,003

Matters that go into Default

Matters that Settle during the first 120 days of proceedmg . $2,507 |
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed o $5,378
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed - $7,059
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial I R ' $7,059
Matters that proceed into a Multi-day trial j - v . . . $12,854
Matters that proceed to the Review Department ‘ ) ' $18375

Probation Revocation Proceedings ' ' - _ $2.401
Rule 9.20 Proceedings _ ‘ ,' $2.549

Cost Assessment |

-Additional Costs {as appropriate) .
$978 .

Each investigation matter over one . , ' 137

Each resignation
Consolidation cost equal to the minimum cost for the consohdated case type

Transcript costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(1)).
Taxable costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(2))

! Speclﬂcally, the December-to-Deoember change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CUURA422SAQ.
Speclﬁcally, the Q4-t0-Q4 change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CIU20100001000001.
1
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‘Inre: $222035 (14-J-02524)

® o

m{;;\ THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
/?5‘,,;_;\ @ A .
{@“{ML" QU% OF CALIFORNIA ‘ Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attomey (213) 765-1494
’ “\")%Fi 6’9‘1 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 " TELEPHONE: (213) 7651000
N E= Y _ FAX: 213) 7651439
= http:/fwww.calbar.cagov -
Mav Ling F ernandez. (213) 765-1035
OFFICE OF PROBATION
ADDRES$S VERIFIED
-January 21, 2015 ‘ January 21, 2015 -
- Steven M. McCarthy BY: M|1[ o
- 'POB 3524 ' i N
~ DeLand, FL 32721 |
In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently

represented by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the
Office of Probation within five days so that future commumcauons may be directed to your counsel.

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice of law for a period of one (1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certam conditions for a period of two (2) years.

You must schedule a meeting Wlﬂl me to discuss the terms and conditions of your dlsclplme within

30 days from the effective date of discipline. Make sure you read this letter including all

attachments before the required meetmg_

Additionally, by court order, you must take and provide proof of successful passage of the Multi-State

Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before January 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. It

is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-
take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. The passing scaled score is 86. The MPRE
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your
partlcular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension until you provide proof that you have passed the examination. (See

Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
comphance in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
petjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared a
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quarterly Report form, you must
submit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself.

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliance. See In the Matter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244. Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.
00017



' in compliance. -

Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
Page 2

Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe
that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an error, or if there
are any questions, please notify me immediately. You are responsible for timely complying with
each and every term and condition whether or not it is reflected in this letter and/or the Qui '

Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, proof of compliance must be physically
received in the Office of Probation by your due date. Being even one day late means that you are NOT

The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary enly reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
compliance to the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation. -

Condition Deadline(s)

1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Required Meeting February 7, 2015

2. Quarterly Reports Quarterly; beginning April 10,
2015 :

3. Continuing.Légal Education Courses January 8, 2016

4. MPRE | January 8, 2016

5. Final Report January 8,207

You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports dre due on or before the 10® day after the end of each
quarter. If the 10* falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017,

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,
office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as prescribed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

official membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend compllance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar

Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

' You must complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no later than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016.
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Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
- Page3

Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral which may lead to the imposition of additional discipline. _

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probation, which you have already
received from the Courts or your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination
schedule, Quarterly Report with instructions, MCLE information sheet, and Notice of Counsel -
Representation form. T S S o
It is recommended that you maintain a file containing all orders as well as‘communication between the
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if you have contact
with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended that you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will immediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required original(s).

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seek compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-governing nature of

probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system. In the Matter of Gorman (Review
Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 567, 573. '

Sincerely,
May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mlf
Enclosures
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SUPREME COURT

FILED
(State Bar Court No. 14-J-02524) DEC 09 204
5222035 Frank A. MoGuiro Clrk
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

- En Barnc

Inre STEVEN MCHAELMcCARmYoanphne o

The court orders that Steven Mlchael McCarﬂly, Slnte Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions:

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of
probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation ﬁled on August 15, 2014; and

. Atthe expiration of the period of probatlon, if Steven Michael .
McCarthy has eomphed with the terms of probation, the one-year period

of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspenslon will be -
terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and -
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately.
Chicf Justice

I ankA MeGmre, Supreme Court
' ofﬂ:eStateofCalemmu,dohggymfymm
preceding is a true copy of an ofder’of this Court as

eyt o o o
my an seal this
00020
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(Do not write above this line.)

D. Discipline: .

(1) 3 Stayod Suspension: |
(@ X Respondentmustbesuspendedﬁp:ﬁmépmﬁeeoﬂawfprapeﬁodgfmym.

‘J ’ : : 'é ! -
' i

i [0 - and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabiltation and
- present fitness to practice and present leaiing and ability in the law pursuant to standand
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attomey Sanctions for Professional Misconduct |

nd until Respondent pays resttition as sst forth in the Financisl Conditions form ifached fo

0O
o this
. [0 sind until Respondent does the following:

(2) [ Probation: |
Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commenice upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court.)

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:
During the probation period, R
“Professiona

esporident must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of
I Conduct. o A - e
Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Records Office of e
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of Califomia (*Office of Prabation”), all changes of

information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code.

Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent's assigned probation deputy fo discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the périod of probation, Respondent must
promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request. S

Respondent must submit written quarterly reports fo the Office of Probation on each January 10, April 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of perjury, Respondent must state
whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and &l
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether there
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Couit and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period. ‘

In addition fo all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earfier than
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no fater than the last day of probation,

Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the terms and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance;
During the period of probation, Respondent must furnish to the monitor such reports as may be requested,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Responderit must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor.

Staved Suspension

(Effective January 1, 2014)
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(Do not write above this line.)

6) [X Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondentmustanswermlly,prompﬁyandlmmmllyany
© munesofheOfﬁoeof% and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are
dimctedbResmndeMpasonaleangmlaﬁnghwheﬂaResmMthmplymg«ms

complied with the probation conditions.

'(7) X Wmmone(1)yearofmeeﬁecﬁvedateofmedlsapﬁneherem Respondent miist provide to the Office of
Probation proofofamndanceatasessionofmesmeBarEﬁlicsSdlool and passage of the

satisfactory
testgivenatﬂ'neendofmasession
B NoEmieesmoolreomnmended Reason: Plouemucﬁon"l’(zr'

8 [ R deMmustcanplywlmallomdmmsofpmbaﬂmknpmdhmeundaimmmhdmaWM
® mmdﬁdﬂ'e"ﬂd@fpendtyofmduryhcocﬂuncﬁonmmanyqumenympoubbeﬁledwmmomce

of Probation.

o 0O Thefo“omngcondiﬁonsareattachedheretoandhcomoraﬁed

[J Financial Conditions - -

[0 Substance Abuse Conditions
[0 Medical Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

(1) X Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of
. the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination ("MPRE"), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, fo the Office of Probation within one year. Faliure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspension without further hearing until passage. But see mle 9.10(0). California

Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure.

[] No MPRE recommended. Reason:

@ [X Other Conditions: |
As a condition of Respondent’s probation and in lieu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to return to California from his current home in Ongon).rwm
yea

shall complete 12 hours of continuing legal education In legal ethics within one
effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will
not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the

State Bar).

Staved Suspension

6 | 00022

(Effective January 1, 2014)



e e
 MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE”)

2015 Examination Schedule and Information
lmwdhmnmwmﬂamuuhuaaunuvhyukﬂhklhufﬁdﬁnﬂhdﬂﬂnaﬂﬁﬁuhm

The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRE.
TO REGISTER AND FOR THE MOS‘I' RECEN'I' lNFORMA‘I'lON REGARDING MPRE TES‘I'
DA'l'ES, DEADI.INES RESOURGES ET C., VOU MUST CON'I‘AC'I': - R

Natlonal Conference of Bar Examiners (“NCBE")

Websrte. www.ncbex.org
Test | Regular Registration | Late Registratlon $cores Tentatively
Dates* . Deadline ($80)* Deadline ($160)* Released by
Saturday, March 28, 2015 February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15, 2015 June 25, 2015 july 2, 2015 Seplember l’) 2015
sam.g, November 7, 2015 Sepl:embe'_r 17,2015 se.,’umse;r‘ 24,2015 | December mber 12, 2015

1. The MPRE fee for applications received on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regular reeeipt deadline but

before the late receipt deadline is $160.
2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to the Office of Probation, you

MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or
before your due date. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay conﬁrming
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation

matters or a non-compliance referral in all other matters.
3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the

National Conference of Bar Examiners in' advance of the examination.

“Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE's welysite for current information.
Revised OY20/15
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

CASE NO(s): §222035 (14-J-02524)

Probation ‘

(For Office of Probation Use Only)

_ QUARTERLY REPORT
[ First Report Due: April 10,2015 [ Final Report Due: January 5, 2017
(for period January 8; 2015 through March 31, 2015) “(for périod Ottober 1,2016 tllrugh January 8,2017)
Due: [ |January10,20__ [ |April10,20__ [ | July10,20__ [ | October10,20__

(for period 10/1 through 12/31) (for period 0101 through 3/31) (for period 4/1 through 6/30) ( for period 7/1 through 9/30)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 .

Place an "X" before each of the statements below that applies to you:

Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

Dunng the reporting period noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all

provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of
probaftion; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no pmceedmgs pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed

under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court

- including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

During the reportiné period above or portion thereof, I have complied with all pr.ovisio_ns
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of probation
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this

space)

(attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is needed);
and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending against me
in the State Bar Court; or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed unfler
penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status.

00024
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. 5222035 (14-J-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

Within 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office.and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other
address for State Bar purposés, as prescnbed by sectlon 6002.10f the Business and

'Professmns Code

Multl-State Professmnal Responsnblllty Exammatlon

I'have registered for the MPRE given on .
and am awaiting the results.

I have taken the MPRE given on

[ passed the MPRE given on ‘ . A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.

I did not pass the MPRE given on _ and have re-scheduled to takc
the examination given on

Continuing Legal Education Courses

I have completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education-
approved course(s) in legal ethics and have attached proof of completion if not previously
submitted. Iunderstand that the course hours required by this condition are in addition to
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

I declare under penalty of pequry under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate.

Date:

Signature:.

Steven M. McCarthy

(Date of actual signature) |
' (Please sign in blue ink)
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Office of Probati S
CriIONS

i

JARTERLY REPORT INS

1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to
reported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carefully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect y
conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you s

required to timely complete all of your ordered conditions. The rcport form is provided as a courtesy only, and you :

not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Report fom. YO
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORTS. In t
future, one additional copy may be provided if you make a written request with an explanation under penalty of pequ

why you need such copy made

' 3. For each quarter's report, mark the box for the correct reportmg penod and wnte in the correct year. Place an "X" i
front of each condition that apphes to your activities durmg cach' respective reportmg period. Provide all require

information.

4. Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your business day on the last day.of the month of each calenda
quarter (i.e., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED It

YOU DATE SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH
CALENDAR QUARTER.

~ January 1- March 31 . April 10

April 1 - June 30 - July 10
July 1 - September 30 QOctober 10
October 1- December 31 January 10

5. Your original signed and dated report must be physncally received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that

it is received no later than the last State Bar busiiiess day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Probation. It is recommended
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Proccdurc section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the tenth, and
because somé Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.

8. The Office of Probation files your report as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9. The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must calendar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.
00026

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your compliance. See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Offfice of Probation at
(213)765-1035. :
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MCLE Information Sheet

~Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirements, but many orders require similar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immedmtely ask your Probation Députy if you have any questions.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the State Bar of
For examplé, the MCLE you submit must be pmvnded by

C'ahfonua ’s website: http:/mcle.calbar.ca.gov/MCLE.aspx.

approved California MCLE providers; they are lxsued on the website.

2. The State Bar’s website defines self-smdy and paruclpatoxy If you are requu'ed to do partlclpatory MCLE, sdf-study
. courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do. “live”, you must physically attend the course(s) Unless your order
states it is acceptable foryouto receive MCLE foreourses youteach, ﬂxe OfﬁceofProbatlon wxllMcmdltsuchlmrsto

. your condtt:on. ' ‘ _

3. Generally, your disciplinary requu'ement is separane from your regular MCLE requlrement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your dlsclplmary requiréments is a vnolatlon of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201

‘4. Generally, you will NOT receive credit for courses completed before ﬂ:e effective date of your dxselplme.

5. Generally, you are required to provide “satisfactory evidence” to the Office of Probation. Forward the certificate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy

of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD
and/or DVD.

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by
the Oﬂice of Probation, NOT for you to have completed the courses.

7. If you may take courses in general legal ethics, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State

Bar of California in ethics.

8. If you are to-take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Office Management maydlﬁ'er ﬁ'omLaw,w
Practice Management. Law Office Management usually covers issues involved in the day to day running of a law office,
which mi might include calendarmg, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing
your practice, limiting your liability, etc

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Office Management. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10. Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requirement, you may send a copy of
the provider, course title and mformatlon, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Attomey,

Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to

terrie.goldade@calbar.ca.gov.

11. Sometimes only a portion of a course may satisfy your requirement. The Office of Probation has not attended all courses
by all providers, and so carinot make a redsoned determination as to what portlon of a course might be appllcable.
Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be approved if it relates
to your practice and the facts related to your matter. For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise

employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.
Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each reollirement, you may be referred for non-compliance, A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/11
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NOTICE OF COUNSEL REPRESENTATION

Respondent: Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: 8222035 (14-J-02524)

" Member Number: _85433

Counsel Name:
Firm Name:
Address:
Bar Number:
Phone Number:
Respondent Signature:
Date:
Counsel Signature:
Date:
o tegrs oF st My gl -t ot s ~=‘!’
fe IR DI SR BREY. TR T Y RILIR: | s N’\,
Please complete and return ﬂ’llS form to the Office of,’,l}tgbatlon, 845 Sduth Figueroa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-25T5. . ..'
) TR * ,,c"’"
o Yo 503 6 3
PO P .4
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Fernandez, May

From: Fernandez, May

Sent: Wednesday, June 03, 2015 3:18 PM
To: ‘Steve@McCarthylLegal.com'
Subject: Non-Compliance with your Probation
Attachments: Non-Compliance Letter.pdf

Please see the attached document.

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation
The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the intended
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply
e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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2. THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
‘19 ﬁij?l : OF CALIFORNIA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-14%4
Y ‘(/("Y >3V 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
N FAX: (213) 765-1439
2 http:/fwww.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
OFFICE OF PROBATION
ADDRES$S VERIFIED
June 3, 2015 June 8, 2015
Steven M. McCarthy BY: L hﬁ
POB 3524
DeLand, FL 32721
~ Sent via email and mail.
Inre: 8222035 (14-J-02524) In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

On January 21, 2015, this office sent to you a letter (copy enclosed) for the purpose of remindin.g you of
the terms and conditions of your probation imposed by the Supreme Court which became effective

January 8, 2015.

The following chart summarizes your compliance and non-compliance with the conditions of your
probation to date:

Condition Due Date Completion Date Comments
Schedule Reqd. Mtg. 2/7/15 Please contact me immediately to
schedule required meeting.
Hold Required Mtg. | As Scheduled
Quarterly Reports 4/10/15 Please file immediately.

You are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non-
compliance referral which may result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs (see
attached). Even if you contact the Office of Probation, a referral may still be prepared. The Qfﬁce of
Probation will not send any further reminder letters regarding the aforementioned non-compliance or
any future compliance due dates or lack of receipt of compliance documentation.

Please be reminded that LATE completion, submission, or filing of proof/documents, does not
mean you are in compliance. You will never be in compliance because being even one day late
means that you are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation.

If for any reason, you cannot fimely comply with the terms and conditions of the discipline imposed, and
to avoid a non-compliance referral, you must file a motion with the State Bar Court. See rules 5.162 and
5.300, et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California. A copy of the motion must be served
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Steven M. McCarthy
June 3, 2015
Page 2

upon the Office of Probation. The Office of Probation does not have the authorzty to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of your probation.

Please note that even if you are referred, you are STILL REQUIRED TO TIMELY COMPLY w1th all
probation conditions in this matter. Additional violations may be subject to a separate non-compliance
referral, If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at (213) 765-1035.

Sincerely,

Do

May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mif

Enclosure(s)
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Disciplineﬂ;ésts - 2015 o

Effective January 1, 2015,

Pursuant to action by the State Bar’s governing board in January 2011 and May 2012, the costs assessed
for disciplinary matters are adjusted annually to account for changes in labor and other resource costs.
The adjustment is calculated by combining 40% of the year-on-year percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index' with 60% of the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Management,
Professional and Related Occupations®. For 2015, the adjustment is an increase of 2.47%.

For matters filed on or after January 1, 2015, the costs assessed are as follows:

Matters that go in Default ' $4,451
Matters that Settle Prior to Filing of a Notice of Disciplinary Charges $3,066
Matters that Settle during first 120 days of proceeding $3,584
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed $5,680
Matters that Settle before wial but after Pretrial Statement is filed $7.431
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial $7.431
Matters that proceed to a Multi-day trial - $16,758
Matters that proceed to the Review Department $20,499
Matters that go into Default $3,003
Matters that Seitle during the first 120 days of proceeding $2,507
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed $5,378
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed $7,059
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial $7,059
Matters that proceed into a Multi-day trial $12,854
Matters that proceed to the Review Department $18,375
Probation Revocation Proceedings $2,401

$2,549

Rule 9.20 Proceedings

“Additional Costs (as appropriate) . - oo Cost Assessment
Each investigation matter over one - $978
Each resignation §137
Consolidation cost equal to the minimum cost for the consolidated case type

Transcript costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(1))

Taxable costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(2))

! Specifically, the December-to-December change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CUURA422SAO.
? Specifically, the Q4-to-Q4 change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CIU20100001000001.
1
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»n{'? THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
*‘ OF CALIFORNIA ‘ Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
,;V, 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
g FAX: (213) 765-1439
http:/fwrww.calbar.cagov
Mav Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
OFFICE OF PROBATION '
ADDRESS VERIFIED
January 21, 2015 ’mmnm
Steven M. McCarthy BY: Mh[ .
POB 3524 ‘
Deland, FL 32721
In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Inre: $222035 (14-J-02524)

" Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently

represented by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the
Office of Probation within five days so that future communications may be directed to your counsel.

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice of law for a period of one (1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certain conditions for a period of two (2) years.

You must schedule a meeting with me to discuss the terms and conditions of your discipline within
30 days from the effective date of discipline. Make sure you read this letter including all

attachments before the required meeting.

Additionally, by court order, you must take and provide proof of successfuil passage of the Multi-State

Professional Responbelhty Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before January 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. It

is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-

take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. The passing scaled score is 86. The MPRE
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your

partlcular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension until you provide proof that you have passed the examination. (See

Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8.)

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
comphance in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
perjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared a
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quarterly Report form, you must
submit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself,

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliance. §ee In the Mfztter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifitis not, it can be rejected for filing.
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Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe

that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an error, or if there
are any questions, please notify me immediately. You are responsible for timely complying with
each and every term and condition whether or not it is reflected in this letter and/or the Quarterly
Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, proof of compliance must be physically
received in the Office of Probation by your due date. Being even one day late means that you are NOT

in compliance. )

The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary only reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
compliance to the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation.

Condition Deadline(s

1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Requited Meeting February 7, 2015

2. Quarterly Reports Quarterly; beginning April 10,
2015

3. Continuing Legal Education Courses January 8, 2016"

4. MPRE ' January 8, 2016

5. Final Report January 8, 2017

You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports are due on or before the 10* day after the end of each
quarter. If the 10™ falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017,

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,

office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as prescribed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

official membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar
Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

! You must complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no later_ than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016.
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Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral which may lead to the imposition of additional discipline. _

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probation, which you ha\fe already
received from the Courts or your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination
schedule, Quarterly Report with instructions, MCLE information sheet, and Notice of Counsel"

Representation form.

It is recommended that ybu maintain a file containing all orders as well as communication betweei the
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if you have contact

with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended that you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will inmediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required original(s).

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seck compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-governing nature of
probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system. In the Matter of Gorman (Review

Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 567, 573.
Sincerely,

lor~

May Ling Fernandez

Probation Deputy

/mlf
Enclosures
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* 4 FILED
(Staté Bar Court No, 14-J-02524) DEC 09 2014
$222035 Fmﬂli McGuire Clork
. . -
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc

In re STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY on Discipline

The court orders that Steven Michael McCarthy, State Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions;

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of

probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15, 2014; and

2. At the expiration of the period of probation, if Steven Michacl
McCarthy has complied with the terms of probation, the one-year period
of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be

terminated.
Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of

this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspensjon.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately.

1 ek A, MG, Ceck of he Suprecue Cours Chief Justice
ofwmofamm&maum &4 '
preceding is a true copy of an ofder of this Court as
shown by the records of my office.
Witness my hand aitd the seal of the Court this

6 B 00037
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D. Discipline:

(1) sumw: |
(@ X Respondent must be suspended from the practice of law for & period of one year.
[J . and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabititation and

present fitness to practice and present learriing and ability in the law pursuant to standard
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attomey Sanctions for Professional Misconduct.

MP@NW.&SS&MMMF&;@&]MMSWW&

i. [0 and until Respon
' this stipulation.

ii. [J and until Respondent does the following:
The above-teferenoed suspension is stayed.

2 [ Probation: .
Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court.)

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:

(1) During the probation period, Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of
Professional Conduct, '

2 X Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Records Office of e
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of California (“Office of Probation”), all changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address'for State Bar
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code.

(3) X Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent's assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must
promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request. '

“) Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, Apd 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of pefjury, Respondent must state

whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether tere
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Coutt and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period. '

In addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, i due na earlier than
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no fater than the last day of probation.

(5) [0 Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the terms and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance,
During the period of probation, Respondent must furnish to the monitor such reports as may be requested,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Responderit must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor.
(Effective January 1, 2014)

Stayed Suspenskn
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6) [ Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent must answer fully, promptly and truthfully any
. inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are
directed to Respondent personally or in writing relating to whether Respondent is complying or has

complied with the probation conditions.

Within one (1) year of the effective date of the discipline herein, Reéspondent must provide to thé Office of
Probation satisfactory proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar Ethics School, and passage of the
test given at the end of that session. o

No Ethics School recommended. Reason: Piease see section *F (2)" below.

Respondent must comply with all conditions of probation imposed in the underlying criminal matier and
must so deciare under penalty of perjury in conjunction with any quatterly réport to.be filed with the Office
of Probation. . .
(9) [0 Thefollowing conditions are attsched hereto and incorporated:

[0 Law Office Management Conditions

[0 Financial Conditions

@ 0O

] Substance Abuse Conditions
O Medical Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

(1) Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of
the Muiltistate Professional Responsibility Examination ("MPRE®), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examinefs, to the Office of Probation within one year, Fallure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspension without further hearing until passage. But see rule 9.10(b), t_:aﬂfornia
Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure. :

[J No MPRE recommended. Reason:

@) Other Conditions:
As a condition of Respondent’s probation and in lieu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to retum to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall complete 12 hours of continuing legal education In legal ethics within one year of the
effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will
not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the

State Bar).

Stayed Suspension

6
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~ MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE”)

2015 Examination Schedule and Information

iy documment way created as a courtesy by the State Bar of Callfornia, Office of Probation.

The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRE.
TO REGISTER AND FOR THE MOST RECENT INFORMATION REGARDING MPRE TES‘I‘
DATES, DEADLINES, RESOURCES, ETC., VOU MUST CONTACT:

National Conference of Bar Examiners (“NCBE")
Website: www.ncbex.org

Test Regular Registration | Late Registration Scores Tentatively
Dates* . Deadline ($80)* | Deadline ($160)* Released by
Saturday, March 28, 2015 February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15, 2015 June 25, 2015 July 2, 2015 September 19, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | September 17,2015 | September 24, 2015 | December 12, 2015

1. The MPRE fee for applications received on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regular receipt deadline but

before the late receipt deadline is $160.
2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to the Office of Probation, you

MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or

before your due date. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay confirming
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation

matters or a non-compliance referral in all other matters.
3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the

National Conference of Bar Examiners in advance of the examination.
' Passing scaled score 86 |
“Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE's website for current information,

Revised OY2045
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

CASE NO(s): $222035 (14-J-02524)

Probation

QUARTERLY REPORT
[ First Report Due: April 10, 2015 [__] Final Report Due; January 8, 2017
(for period October 1, 2016 through January 8, 2017)

(for period January 8, 2015 through March 31, 2015)

Due: [ _|January10,20__ [ ]April10,20__ [ | July10,20__ October 10,20__
(for period 10/1 through 12/31) (for period 0101 through 3/31) (forvperiod 4/1 through 6/30)  (for period 7/1 throvgh 9/30)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515

Place an "X" before each of the statements below that applies to you:

Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

—  During the reporting period noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all
provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of
probation; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed
under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court ‘
including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

—  During the re:portingr period above or portion thereof, I have compl_ied with all pr.ovisions
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of pr.obatl.on .
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this

space):

(attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is negded);
and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending against me
in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed under
penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status.
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. §222035 (14-J-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

Within 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other.
address for State Bar purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.10f the Business and

Professions Code

Maulti-State Professional Responsibility Examfnation

———

I have registered for the MPRE given on

I have taken the MPRE given on and am awaiting the results.
I passed the MPRE given on . A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.

I did not pass the MPRE given on and have re-scheduled to take
the examination given on

Continuing Legal Education Courses

I have completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education-
approved course(s) in legal ethics and have attached proof of completion if not preyiously
submitted. I understand that the course hours required by this condition are in addition to
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

. Ideclare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate,

Date:

. Signature:
Steven M. McCarthy

(Date of actual signature) y
(Please sign in blue ink)
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1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to

re'ported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carefully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect yol
conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you al

required to timely complete all of your ordered conditions. The report form is provided as a courtesy only, and you at

not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Report form. YOI
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORTS. In th
future, one additional copy may be provided if you make a written request with an explanation under penalty of petjur,

why you need such copy made.

3. For each quarter’s report, mark the box for the correct reporting period and write in the correct year. Place sn "X" ir
front of each condition that applies to your activities during each respective reporting period. Provide all required

information.

4. Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your business day on the last day of the month of cach calendar
quarter (i.c., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED IF

YOU DATE, SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH
CALENDAR QUARTER.

January 1- March 31 April 10

April 1 - June 30 July 10
July 1 - September 30 October 10
October 1 - December 31 January 10

5. Your original signed and dated report must be physically received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that

it is received no later than the last State Bar business day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Proba'tion. Itis recomme'nded
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the tenth, gnd
because some Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.

8.  The Office of Probation files your teport as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9.  The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must calendar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.
00043

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your comp}iance. See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Office of Probation at
(213)765-1035.
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MCLE Information Sheet

Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Bducation (MCLE) requirements, but many orders n?quire similar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immediately ask your Probation Députy if you have any questions.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the S!nte. Bar of
California’s website: http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/MC . For example, the MCLE you submit must be provided by
approved California MCLE providers; they are listed on the website.

2. The State Bar’s website defines self-study and participatory. If you are required to do participatory MCLE, self-study

courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do “live”, you must physically attend the course(s). Unless your order
states it is acceptable for you to receive MCLE for courses you teach, the Office of Probation will NOT credit such hours to

your condition.

3. Generally, your disciplinary requirement is separate from your regular MCLE requirement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your disciplinary requiréments is a violation of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201.

4. Generally, you will NOT receive credit for courses completed before the effective date of your discipline.

5. Génerally, yod are required to provide “satisfactory evidence™ to the Office of Probation. Forward the oexﬁﬁc'ate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy

~ of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD

and/or DVD.

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by
the Office of Probation, NOT for you to have completed the courses.

7. If you may take courses in general legal ethics, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State
Bar of California in ethics. ,

8. If you are to take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Office Management may differ from Law
Practice Management. Law Office Management usually covers issues involved in the day to day running ofa !.aw oﬂi'oe,
which might include calendaring, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing
your practice, limiting your liability, etc.

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Office Management. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10. Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requirem;nt: you may send a copy of
the provider, course title and information, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Attomey,

Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to

terrie.goldade@ecalbar.ca.gov.

11. Sometimes only a portion of a course may satisfy your requirement. The Office of Probation has not atl;ended all courses
by all providers, and so cannot make a reasoned determination as to what portion of a course might be gpphcable.
Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be apgroved if it rela?es
to your practice and the facts related to your matter. For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise
employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.

Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each rei;uiremcnt, you may be referred for non-compliance. A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/11
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NOTICE OF COUNSEL REPRESENTATION

Respondent: Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: S222035 (14-J-02524)

Member Number: 85433

Counsel Name:

Firm Name:

Address:

Bar Number:

Phone Number:

Respondent Signature:

Date:

Counsel Signature:

Date:

Please complete and return this form to the Office of Probation, 845 South Figuetoa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-2515.
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Fernandez, May

From: Microsoft Outlook

To: 'Steve@McCarthylLegal.com'

Sent: Wednesday, June 03, 2015 3:18 PM
Subject: Relayed: Non-Compliance with your Probation

Delivery to these recipients or groups is complete, but no delivery notification was sent by the destination server:
‘Steve@McCarthylegal.com' (Steve@McCarthylLegal.com) <mailto:Steve@McCarthylegal.com>

Subject: Non-Compliance with your Probation
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Ferﬁandez, May

Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01c120148.mxlogic.net>

From:

Sent: Wednesday, June 03, 2015 7:20 PM

To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Warning: could not send message for past 4 hours
Attachments: ATTO00001.txt

THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY
YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE

A temporary error occurred while delivering to the following address(es):

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: 451 All MX servers are unavailable for domain mccarthylegal.com

 will continue trying to send the message until it is delivered or expires.
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) ATT00001. txt
Included is a copy of the message header:
Received: from unknown [67.97.90.154] (EHLO SFCASOl.calsb.org)
by ﬁ01c120148.mx1o ic.net(mx]1_mta-8.4.0-1) over TLS secured channel
with ESMTP id efc7f655.0.580528.00-311.1650515.p01c120148.mx]logic.net
(envelope-from <may.fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>);
wed, 03 Jun 2015 16:17:34 -0600 (MDT)
X-MXL~Hash: 556f7cfe6fd2390c-0633b4b0802c235b785bf9f4141d130158483794
Received: from SFMAIL0S5.calsb.org ([fe80::615f:744d:4b5:67be]) by
SFCASOl.calsbh.org ([fe80::f05e:89d5:a272:b081%17]) with mapi id
14.03.0210.002; wed, 3 Jun 2015 15:17:33 -0700
From: "Fernandez, may" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
To: "'Steve@McCarthyLegal.com'" <Steve@MccCarthyLegal.com>
Subject: Non-Compliance with your Probation
Thread-Topic: Non-Compliance with your Probation
Thread-Index: AdCeSwpx4eiNIDNQQDSAR6NBVeL1rQ==
Disposition-Notification-To: "Fernandez, May" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
Return-Receipt-To: <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov> o
Date: wed, 3 Jun 2015 22:17:33 +0000
Message-ID: <302A4449378E684385DBA605SA6E2ABSE217A159E@SFMAILOS.calsb.org>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach: yes
X-MS~-TNEF-Correlator:
x-originating-ip: [172.15.16.45]
content-Type: multipart/mixed; "
boundary="_004_302A4449378E684385DBA605A6E2AB5E217A159ESFMATILOScalsbor_

MIME-Version: 1.0

Page 1
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Fernandez, May

From: Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01¢c120148.mxlogic.net>
Sent: Monday, June 08, 2015 3:20 PM

To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Mail delivery failed

Attachments: ATT00001.txt

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you have sent could not be delivered to one or more recipients. This is a permanent error. The
following address(es) failed:

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: Message was undeliverable and has expired

' 00049



‘ : ‘ }
' i

THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION

+ W3RN
> OF CALIF ORN IA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
y ‘,7°~’ 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
FAX: (213) 765-1439
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
FACSIMILE COVER SHEET
DATE: June 10,2015
TO: Steven M. McCarthy FAX No.: (386) 736-8668
FROM: May Ling Fernandez PHONE No.: (213) 765-1035

Office of Probation, State Bar of California

Number of pages (including cover sheet): 16

RE:  Non-Compliance with your Probation

The following letter was mailed and emailed to you on June 3,2015. You are receiving this fax because
the Office of Probation received an email message that the email was undeliverable. Please update your
contact information with the Membership Records Office immediately. You are reminded that you are
required to update the Membership Records Office within ten (10) days of any change in your contact
information including “other address for State Bar purposes”.

Will follow in U.S. Mail X |Will NOT follow in U.S. Mail
Unless requested to Probation

FACSIMILE PRIVACY NOTICE: This facsimile transmission with its contents may contain sensitive, confidential and/or
legally privileged information. This communication is solely for the use of the intended recipient(s) named above.
Unauthorized interception, review, use or disclosure is prohibited and may violate applicable laws. If you are not the
intended recipient, please contact the sender and destroy all copies of the communication.
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\ THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
LI OF CALIF ORNIA ‘Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765- 1494
Y o 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 900172515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
> - FAX: (213) 765-1439
http:/fwww.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
May.Ferandez@calbar.ca.gov
OFFICE OF PROBATION
. - ADDRESS VERIFIED
June 3,2015 . 7 hmes 205

Steven M. McCarthy
POB 3524
DeLand, FL 32721

Sent via'éniail and mail.

In re: 8222035 (14-J-02524) In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

" Dear Stcven M McCarthy:

- On January 21, 2015, this office sent to you a letter (copy enclosed) for the purpose of reminding you of
the terms and conditions of your probation imposed by the Supreme Court which became effective

January 8, 2015.

The following chart summarizes your compllance and non-compllance w1th the condltlons of your |

probation to date: : : S

Condition Due Date Completion Date _. Comments
Schedule Reqd. Mtg. 2/7/15 Please contact me immediately to
. | | schedule required meeting.

Hold Required Mg, As Scheduled
Quarterly Reports 4/10/15 Please file immediately.

You are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non-
compliance referral which may result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs (see
attached). Even if you contact the Office of Probation, a referral may still be prepared. The Office of
Probation will not send any further reminder letters regarding the aforementioned non-compliance or
any future compliance due dates or lack of receipt of compliance documentation.

Please be reminded that LATE completion, submission, or filing of proof/documents, does not
mean you are in compliance. You will never be in compliance because being even one day late
means that you are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation.

If for any reason, you cannot timély comply with the terms and conditions of the discipline imposed, and
to avoid a non-compliance referral, you must file a motion with the State Bar Court. See rules 5.162 and
5.300, et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California. A copy of the motion must be served
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Steven M. McCarthy
June 3, 2015
Page 2

upon the Office of Probation. The Office of Probation does not have the authorzty to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and condlitions of your probation.

Please note that even if you are referred, you are STILL REQUIRED TO TIMELY COMPLY with all
probation conditions in this matter. Additional violations may be subject to a separaté non-compliance
referral If you have any questions regardmg thls matter please contact me at (213) 765-1035.

Sincerely,
. May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

. /mlf

Enclosure(s)
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Disciplir® Costs - 2015 @

Effective January 1, 2015.

Pursuant to-action by the State Bar’s governing board in January 2011 and May 2012, the costs assessed
for disciplinary matters are adjusted annually to account for changes in labor and other resource costs,
The adjustment is calculated by combining 40% of the year-on-year percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index' with 60% of the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Management,
Professional and Related Occupations®. For 2015, the adjustment is an increase of 2.47%.

For matters filed on or after January 1, 2015, the costs assessed are as follows:

Matters that go in Default . S 84451
Matters that Settle Prior to Filing of a Notice of Disciplinary Charges =~ -~~~ ' $3,066
Matters that Settle during first 120 days of proceeding 8350
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed - $5,680
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed ’ ' : _$7.431
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial i ' S ‘ $7.431
Matters that proceed to a Multi-day trial — ' 816758
Matters that proceed to the Review Department ' ' v $20,499
Matters thiat go into Default” . | . _ $3,003
Matters that Settle during the first 120 days of proceeding B _ $2,507
_Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed i R $5,378
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed ‘ . $7,059
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial ‘ . B R : $7,059
Matters that proceed into a Multi-day trial . S , ' : : _$12.854
Matters that proceed to the Review Department - ' R : ' '$18,375
Probation Revocation Proceedings ] ‘ ‘,' $2,401
Rule 9.20 Proceedings ' o o _ $2,549
Each investigation matter over one . N : $978
‘Bach resignation , | $137|
Consolidation cost equal to the minimum cost for the consolidated case type .

Transcript costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel
(BPC § 6086.10(b)(1)). .
Taxable costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel
(BPC § 6086.10(b)(2))

! Specifically, the December-to-December change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CUURA4228A0.
? Specifically, the Qd-to-Q4 change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CIU20100001000001.
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s\ THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
1% OF CALIFORNIA ‘ Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attormey (213) 765-1494
oSE2 ) 545 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 ' TELEPHONE: G13) 161000

- '- ' ‘ FAX: (213) 765-1439

4 Mav Ling Fernandez: (213) 7651035

OFFICE OF PROBATION ’ '
- ADDRESS VERIFIED
January 21, 2015 : : January 21, 2015 °
' Steven M. McCarthy BY: wmlf
DeLand, FL 32721 e -
In the Matter of Steven M. McCartlly-

‘Inre: $222035 (14-J-02524)

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently
represented by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the
Office of Probation within five days so that future communications may be directed to your counsel.

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice.of law for a period of one (1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certain conditions for a period of two (2) years. :

 You must schedule a meeting with me to discuss the terms and conditions of your discipline withis
30 days from the effective date of discipline. Mike sure you read this letter including all
attachments before the required meeting, ,

Additionally, by court order, you must take arid provide proof of successful passage of the Multi-State
Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before Januar;: 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. I
is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-

take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. The sing scaled score is 86. The MPRE
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your

particular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension until you provide proof that you have passed the examination. (See
Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8.) ‘

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
compliance, in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
perjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared s
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quarterly Report form, you must
subniit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself.

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliance. Sec In the Matter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244. If it is not, it can be rejected for filing. |
00055




‘Y v‘ | |

Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
Page 2

Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe
- that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an ervor, o if there

are any qiiestions, please notify me immediately. | esponsible for timely complying with
each and every term and condition whether or not it is refle ' ; for thie Quart
proof of compliance must be physically

Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, ) Ly .
1 the Office of Probation by your due date.’ Being even one day late means that you are NOT

- received in
' in compliance, » _
The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary only reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
- compliance t the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation.

Condition Deadline(s)

1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Requited Meeting February 7, 2015

2. Quarterly Reports Quarterly; bcginning April 10,

2015

3. Continuing Legal Education Courses | January 8, 2016'

4. MPRE - o Jariuary 8, 2016

5. Final Report L January 8,207
You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports aré duc on o before the 10® day after the end of each

quarter. If the 10* falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017.

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,
office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as presctibed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

official membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar
Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

!'You musf complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no la'tex: than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016. :
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Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
- Page3

Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral whlch may lead to the imposition of additional-discipline. .

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probatlon, which you have already
reccived from the Courts or. your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Exammahon

- schedule, Quartetly Report thh mstructlons, MCLE mformatlon sheet, and Notice of Counsel
'Representauon form ' ‘ | | O

' Itis rwommended that you maintain a ﬁle contammg all'orders as well as‘communication betweenthe
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if'you have contact

with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended thiat you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will inmediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required ongmal(s)

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seek compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-goveming nature of

probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system In the Matter of Gorman (Review
Dept 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct Rptr. 567, 573. -

Sincerely,
May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mlif
Enclosures
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SUPREME COURT

° g FILED
(taté Bar Court No. 14-1-02524) DEC 09 204
| | $§222035 F"a""ﬂcGwm Clrk
Deputy
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA
Ell Banc ' R .- '

' The court orders that Steven Michael McCarﬂay, State Bar Number 85433
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions:;

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of
probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15, 2014; and

2. At the exp:rauon of the. penod of probatxon, if Steven Michael .
McCarthy has comphed with the terms of probation, the onc-year period

of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be
terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
 Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-

third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as

descnbed above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable 1mmed1ately
| GANnL
Chicf Justice

IankA.Meam,a
‘dm%ofgfwofbmysguﬂm&g Sy
15a m Court:
Shown by tie ecordh of my o, " O
Witness my band and the seal of the Court this
dayop _ P9 B 00058
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{Do not wiite above this line.)

D. Discipfine:

(1) [ Stayed Susponsion: | |
@ B Respondeutmustbesuspenaedmhémofmforapeﬁodgfmmr.

E. Add
(1) B3 During the probation period, Resporident must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of

' i

T - i
PR | . i -
‘ l '

i. [0 - and unth Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabilation and
W O and.ungil Respondent peys restitition.as sét forth in the Financial Conditions form iached to
C 7 tsetpuaton. S
fi. [ and until Respondent doss the folowing:

 The above-referenced suspension is stayed.

@ [ Probation: |
Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective dste of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court )

itional Conditions of Probation:

@ mmin‘ten,ﬂO)‘daysofanYch'ange.R_éspﬁndéMmustfébﬂd.tomeMetnbefsﬁipReoo'ﬂ.spﬁc,eQﬂle .
3ar and fo the Office of Probation of the State Bar of Califomia ("Office of Probation”), all chianges of

State B e Bar 0 nia 4
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar
purposes, as_ptescrl:edbye’ecﬂoneoouofme'suginessand'm Code.

Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent's assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with te
probation depurty eittier in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must
pmmpﬂymeetwimmeprobaﬁondeputyasdhaeﬁedanduponmiquest Co |
Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, Api 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of pefjury, Respondent must state
mawmmmummsmmm,mg«uammﬂa
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Court and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days; that report mustbe

submitted on the next quarter date, and

in addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earfier thn

twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no later than the last day of probajon,
review the terms and

Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly ,
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance,
During the period of probation, Respondent must fumish o the monitor such reports as may be requesied,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Respondenif must

~ cooperate fully with the probation monitor.

Staved Susnension

" (Effective January 1, 2014) '
| | 00059
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niot write above this fine.

6) [ Subject to assertion of applicable megesaespondentmustanswerfuuy. promptly and truthfully any
inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are
mmaedbRespmdeMpmdlymmwﬁﬁngtdaungmMerRespondﬂMsmplymgwm .
complied with the probation conditions |

' X Wmnone(ﬂnaroﬂheeﬁactwedateofmedbapﬁnehm Respondent misst pm\ddeﬁ"meomeof

@ Probation pmofofa&ndmoeataseﬁonofmesmmrahicssmool andpamgeofﬁn
testhnatﬂ:eendofhatsession ‘

. NoEdzbsSd\oolmded Reasonleomneﬁon"F(zr'bolo\v

mmeundedymmmmm

‘(8) D Remondentmustmaplyudﬂ:aﬁemdﬁonsof

;nfu&wdedammdaMdehmdundonﬁhmyquﬂhﬂymmbeﬂedmmm

o O mefollomngcondiﬁonsamattad:edhaabandkmmbd

O SubstanoeAbuseCondlﬁons
[J Medical Conditions

] Law Office Management Conditions
[J Financial Conditions . - _

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

1)

@ K

Multistate Professional ‘ Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of
the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (“MPRE"), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, to the Office of Probation within one year. Fallure to pass tie MPRE
resuits in actual without further hearing until passage. Butsoeuue 9.10(&),
Rules of Court; and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Proceduire.

(] No MPRE recommended. Reason:

As a condition of Respondent’s probation and in lieu of attending suu Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to return to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall complete 12 liours of continuing legal education in legal ethics within one year of the

effective date of this stipulation.and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation withn 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondentvil

not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the
State Bar).

00060
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- MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE”)

2015 Examination Schedule and lnformatien

MMMMQGW”&:MM.IW omorm

" The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRB :
'I'O REGISTER AND FOR THE MOS‘I' RECEN'I' lNFORMAﬂON REGARDING MPRE 'I‘BT .
DATES, DEADI.INES, RESOURGES ETC., VOU MUS‘I' CON'I'AC'I': SR |

National Conference of Bar Examiners (“NCBE")
Website- .ncbex.ogg ,

Test | Regular Registration Late 'Registraﬁon Sco,féi T"‘“.“""V

Dates* . Deadline ($80)* Deadline ($160)* Released by

Saturday, March 28, 2015 - February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15,2015 | June z‘s,:To:s mly'z,‘z'o:s Sepwerlems
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | September m September 24, 2015 | December 12, 2065

1. The MPRE fee for applications reeelved on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regulcr receipt deadiine but

before the late receipt deadline is $160.
2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to the Office of Probation, you

MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the Jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or

L"fo_gwg. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay confirming
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation

matters or a non-compliance referral in all other matters.
3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the

National Conference of Bar Examiners in advance of the examination.

“Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE's welssite for current information,
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

CASE NO(s): $§222035 (14-J-02524)

| Probation |

QUARTERLY REPORT , .
First Report Due: April 10,2015 I Report Due: Janus 82017
L] i ! e mm,m;.m..ﬂs,m

(for period January 8; 2015 through March 3( 2015).

January10,20__ [ |April10,20__ [ ] July10,20__ October 10,20__

Due: D
(for period 0101 through 3/31) (for period 4/1 through 6/30) ( for period 7/1 through 9/30)

(for period 10/1 through 12/31)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 .

Place an "X" before each of the statements below that applies to you:
Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

— Durmg the reporting pcnod noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all
provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduet, and all conditions of

probation; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings ‘pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed

under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court
including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

—  During the reporﬁng period above or portion thereof, I have comf.)l.ied with all provisions
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of p_r.oban.on .
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this

space):

attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is needed);
( ceedings pending against me

and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no pro
in the State Bar Court; or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed under

penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status, 4
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. $222035 (14-1-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

Within 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office.and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other.
address for State Bar purposes as pnescnbed by secuon 6002.10f the Business and E

Professwns Code

'Multl-State Professmnal Responsnblllty Exammatlon

I have registered for the MPRE gwen on —— v
I have taken the MPRE given on and am awaiting the resuls.
I passed the MPRE given on ‘ A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.

I did not pass the MPRE given on _ and have re-scheduled to take
the examination given on :

Continuing Legal Education Courses

I have completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education-
approved course(s) in legal ethics and haye attached proof of completion if not previously
submitted. Iunderstand that the course hours required by this condition are in addition o
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

I declare under penalty of pexjury under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate.

Date:

Signature:_ :
' Steven M. McCarthy

(Date of actual signature) |
' (Please sign in blue ink)
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LUARTERLY REPORT IN JCTIONS

1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to
reported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carefully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect yt
conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you ¢

required to timely complete all of your ordered. eondmons The report form is provided as a courtesy only, and you

not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Repott form. YO
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORTS. In t
future, one additional copy may be pmwded if you make a wntten request with an explanation under penalty of petjw

why you need. such copy made

' 3.‘ For each quaxter's report, mark the box for the comect reportmg penod and wnte in the correct year Plaoean X" i
- front’ of each condition that applles to your actxvmes durmg each respectnve reportmg period. Provide all require

mfonnatlon

4. Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your busmess day on the last day of the month of each calenda
quarter (i.e., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED I¥
YOU DATE, SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH

CALENDAR QUARTER.
~January 1-March 31 , April 10
April 1 -7June 30 ' - July 10 i
July 1-September30 = October 10
Ocmber 1- December 31 January 10

5. Your original sngned and dated report must be physlcally received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that

~ itis received no later than the last State Bar busmess day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Probation. It is recommended
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the teath, and
because some Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.
The Office of Probation files your report as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9. The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must candar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.
00064

8.

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your compliance. See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244. Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Office of Probation at
(213)765-1035.




MCLE Information Sheet

Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirements, but many orders require sinilar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immediately ask your Probation Députy if you have any questioss.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the State Bar of
California’s website: ://mcle.calbar.ca.gov. .aspx. For examplé, the MCLE you submit must be provided by
~ approved California MCLE providers; they are listed on the website. )
2. The State Bar’s website defines self-study and participatory. If you are required to do participatory MCLE, selfstudy -
. courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do “live”, you must physically attend the course(s). Unless yoir order -
states it is acoeptable for you to reccive MCLE for courses'you feach, the Office of Probation will NOT credit such bowsto
yourcondition. - * - - - o , -
3. Generally, your disciplinary requirement is separate from your regular MCLE requirement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your disciplinary requiréments is a violation of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201

‘4. Generally, you will NOT rec"eive credit for courses wmplet'ed before ﬂae effective date of your discipline.

5. Generally, you are required to provide “satisfactory evidence” to the Office of Probation. Forward the certificate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy
of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD

and/or DVD.,

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for
the Office of Probation, NOT fqr you to have completed the courses. - _
gal ethlcs, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State

you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by

7. If you may take courses in general le
Bar of California in ethics.

8. If you are to-take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Office Management may differ fomLaw
Practice Management. Law Office Managernient usually covers issues involved in the day to day running of a law office,
which might include calendaring, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing
your practice, limiting your liability, etc.

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Ofﬁce‘Managcmen.t. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10. Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requn‘ement: you may‘s?nd a copy of
the provider, course title and information, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Attomey,

Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to
ie.goldade bar.ca.gov,
11. Sometimes only 2 portion of a course may satisfy your requiremeitt. The Office of Probation has not attended all courses
by all providers, and so cannot make & redsoned determination as to what portion of a course might be applicable.
Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be approved if it roltos
to your practice and the facts related to your matter, For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise
employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.
Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each requirement, you may be referred for non-compliance. A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/1
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NOTICE OF COUNSEL REPRESENTATION

Respondent: _Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: 5222035 (14-J:02524) ..

© Member Number: 85433

Counsel Name:

Firm Name:

Address:

Bar Number:

Phone Nﬁmber:

Respondent Signature:

Date:

Counsel Signature:

Date;

\

Please complete and return this form to the Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-2515.
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FACSIMILE COVER SHEET |
DATE: June 10, 2015

TO: Steven M. McCarthy

FROM: May Ling Fernandez | - PHONE No.: (213) 765-1035
Office of Probation, State Bar Tf California ©

FAX No.: (386) 736-8668

Number of pages (including cover shect) 16

RE: Ng&mghggce w‘n your Probation

The following letter was mailed an& emailed to you on June 3, 2015. You ate receiving this fax because
the Office of Probation received an|email message that the email was undeliverable. Please update your
contact information with the Membcrshlp Records Office immediately. You are reminded that you are
required to update the Membershxleecords Office within ten (10) days of any change in your contact
information including “other addrcss for State Bar pmposes”

Will NOT follow in U.S. Mail

L] Will foliow in U.S. Mail
‘Unless requested to Probation

i
i
!
1

|
FACSIMILE PRIVACY NOTICE: This lj’ac:im:le transmission with lts contents mqy contain senxitive, confidential and/or
legally privileged information.  This commumcallon is solely for the use of the intended recipient(s) named above.
Unauthorized interception, review, use ar disclosure is prohibited and may violate applicable laws. If you are not the
intended reciplent, plsa.re cortact the ccnder and destroy all copies of the communication.

w
l
i
i
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Fernandez, May

From: Fernandez, May

Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 5:43 PM
To: 'Caractacus@aol.com'

Subject: Non-Compliance with your probation
Attachments: Non-Compliance Letter.pdf

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I tried to email and fax the attached letter to the contact information you have provided to the State Bar’'s Membership
Records Office. | received a message stating that the email was undeliverable and the fax could not be

transmitted. Please update your contact information with the Membership Records Office immediately. You are
reminded that you are required to update the Membership Records Office within ten (10) days of any change in your

contact information.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy
Office of Probation
The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the inter?ded
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION

o Yo
i 95 OF CALIFORNIA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
PIS/ 845 SOUTH FIGUBROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
FAX: (213) 765-1439
http:/fwww.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
OFFICE OF PROBATION
June 3, 2015 AD‘:L‘::‘?’ Vf:::'ﬁ"
BY: W )7£

Steven M. McCarthy
POB 3524
Deland, FL 32721

Sent via email and mail.

Inre: 8222035 (14-J-02524) In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

On January 21, 20135, this office sent to you a letter (copy enclosed) for the purpose of reminding you of
the terms and conditions of your probation imposed by the Supreme Court which became effective

January 8, 2015.

The following chart summarizes your compliance and non-compliance with the conditions of your
probation to date:

Condition Due Date Completion Date Comments
Schedule Reqd. Mtg. 2/7/15 Please contact me immediately to
. schedule required meeting.
Hold Required Mtg. As Scheduled
Quarterly Reports 4/10/15 Please file immediately.

You are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non-
compliance referral which may result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs (see
attached). Even if you contact the Office of Probation, a referral may still be prepared. The Office of
Probation will not send any further reminder letters regarding the aforementioned non-compliance or
any future compliance due dates or lack of receipt of compliance documentation.

Please be reminded that LATE completion, submission, or filing of proof/documents, does not
mean you are in compliance. You will never be in compliance because being even one day late
means that you are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation.

If for any reason, you cannot fimely comply with the terms and conditions of the discipline imposed, and
to avoid a non-compliance referral, you must file a motion with the State Bar Court. See rules 5.162 and
5.300, et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California. A copy of the motion must be served
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Steven M. McCarthy
June 3, 2015
Page 2

upon the Office of Probation. The Office of Probation does not have the aurhorzty to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of your probation.

Please note that even if you are referred, you are STILL REQUIRED TO TIMELY COMPLY w1th all
probation conditions in this matter. Additional violations may be subject to a separate non-compliance
referral. If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at (213) 765-1035.

Sincerely,

Qg

May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mlf

Enclosure(s)
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Disciplin®costs - 2015 @

Effective January 1, 2015,

Pursuant to action by the State Bar’s governing board in January 2011 and May 2012, the costs assessed
for disciplinary matters are adjusted annually to account for changes in labor and other resource costs.
The adjustment is calculated by combining 40% of the year-on-year percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index' with 60% of the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Management,
Professional and Related Occupations®. For 2015, the adjustment is an increase of 2.47%.

For matters filed on or after January 1, 2015, the costs assessed are as follows:

Matters that go in Default $4,451
Matters that Settle Prior to Filing of a Notice of Disciplinary Charges $3,066
Matters that Settle during first 120 days of proceeding $3,584
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed $5,680
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed $7.431
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial $7.431
Matters that proceed to a Multi-day trial $16,758
Matters that proceed to the Review Department $20,499
Matters that go into Default $3,003
Matters that Settle during the first 120 days of proceeding $2,507
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed ’ $5,378
Matters that Settle before trial but afier Pretrial Statement is filed $7,059
Matters that proceed to a One~day trial _ $7,059
Matters that proceed into a Multi-day trial $12.854
Matters that proceed to the Review Department - $18,375
Probation Revocation Proceedings $2,401
Rule 9.20 Proceedings $2,549
Each investigation matter over one ' $978
Each resignation $137
Consolidation cost equal to the minimum cost for the consolidated case type

Transcript costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(1))
Taxable costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(2))

! Specifically, the December-to-December change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CUURA422SA0.
? Specifically, the Q4-to-Q4 change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CIU20100001000001.
' 1
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. OFFICE OF PROBATION

) OF CALIFORNIA ‘ Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494

Rz
é%l‘yy‘\y/ 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
&= FAX: (213) 7651439
e ) . , hitp:/fwww.cafbar.ca.gov
Mav Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
OFFICE OF PROBATION '
ADDRESS VERIFIED
Steven M. McCarthy BY; wmlf
POB 3524 , '
Del.and, FL 32721
In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Inre: S22203S (14-J-02524)

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently
represented by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the
Office of Probation within five days so that future communications may be directed to your counsel,

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice of law for a period of one ( 1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certain conditions for a period of two (2) years.

You must schedule a meeting with me to discuss the terms and conditions of your discipline within
30 days from the effective date of discipline. Make sure you read this letter including all
attachments before the required meeting.

Additionally, by court order, you must take and provide proof of successful passage of the Multi-State
Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before January 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. It
is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-

ing scaled score is 86. The MPRE

take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. Th
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your

particular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension uatil you provide proof that you have passed the examination. (See
Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8.) '

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
compliance, in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
perjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared a
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quarterly Report form, you must

submit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself.

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliancé. see In the Mfztter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct, Rptr. 244. If it is not, it can be rejected for filing.
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Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
Page 2

Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe

that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an error, or if there
are any questions, please notify me immediately. You are responsible for timely complying with
each and every term and condition whether or not it is reflected in this letter and/or the Quarterly
Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, proof of compliance must be physically
received in the Office of Probauon by your due date. Being even one day late means that you are NOT
in compliance. X

The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary only reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
compliance to the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation. -

Condition Deadline(s
1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Requited Meeting February 7, 2015
Quarterly; beginning April 10,

2. Quarterly Reports

2015
3. Continuing Legal Education Courses January 8, 2016
4. MPRE January 8, 2016
5. Final Report January 8, 2017

You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports are due on or before the 10 day after the end of each
quarter. If the 10" falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017,

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,
office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as prescribed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

ofﬁci'al membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar

Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

! You must complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no later than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016.
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Steven M. McCarthy

January 21, 2015
Page 3

Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral which may lead to the imposition of additional discipline. .

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probation, which you have already

received from the Courts or your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination

schedule, Quarterly Report with instructions, MCLE information sheet, and Notice of Counsel"

Representation form.

It is recommended that you maintain a file containing all orders as well as communication betwee the
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if you have contact
with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended that you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will immediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required original(s).

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seek compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-goveming nature of
probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system. Ir the Matter of Gorman (Review

Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 567, 573.
Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez

Probation Deputy

/mlf
Enclosures
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(Staté Bar Court No. 14-1-02524) DEC 09 204
$222035 Frank A. McGuire Clerk
Deputy
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc

In re STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY on Discipline

The court orders that Steven Michael McCarthy, State Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions:

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of
probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15; 2014; and

At the expiration of the period of probation, if Steven Michael
McCarthy has comphcd with the terms of probation, the one-year period
of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be

terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately.
CANTIL
Chief Justice

LankA.MeGuue,Cle:k»f&eSnpmmeCo:: )

ofthe State of California, do
wamwwyyofm%ymmu

shown by the records of
W'lrmsnwhaadandﬂmmlofmeCounmts
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{Do not write above this fine.)

D. Discipline:

(1) X Stayed Suspension: |
(a) Respondent must be suspended from the practice of law for a period of one year.
i. [0 - and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabilitation and
present fitness to practice and present learriing and ability in the law pursuant to standard
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attomey Sanctions for Professional Misconduct.

i. [0 anduntiRespondent pays restitution as set forth In the Financial Conditions form alisched to
' this stipulation, A |
. [J and until Respondent does the following:
The above-referenoed suspension is stayed.

2 [ Probation: |
Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court))

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:

(1) During the probation period, Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of
Professional Conduct. '

(2) X Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Records f)fﬁce ofthe
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of Califomia (“Office of Probation”), all changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other addmsshfor State Bar

purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. -

(3) 4 Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent’s assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must

promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request. '

(@) Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, Apil 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of perjury, Respondent must state

whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and al
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether there
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Coutt and if s, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report mustbe
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period. ‘

In addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earlier then
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no fater than the last day of probafion.

(6) [0 Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the terms and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance,
During the period of probation, Respondent must fumish to the monitor such reports as may be requesied,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Responderit must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor.
(Effective January 1, 2014)

Stayed Suspension

s
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(6) DX Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent must answer fully, promptly and truthfully any
inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are
directed to Respondent personally or in writing relating to whether Responderit is complying or has
complied with the probation conditions.

Within one (1) year of the effective date of the discipline herein, Réspondent must provide to the Office of
Y proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar Ethics School, and passage of the

Probation satisfactory

teggivenatheendof&atsession.

No Ethics School recommended. Reason: Please see section *F (2)" below.

(8) [1 Respondent must comply with all conditions of probation imposed in the underlying criminal mater and
must so declare under penalty of perjury in conjunction with any quaiterly report to be filed with the Office
of Probation. o :

© The following conditions are attaiched hereto and incorporated:

[0 Law Office Management Conditions

[J Financial Conditions

mn KX

[J Substance Abuse Conditions
[0 Medical Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

(1) Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of
. the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination ("MPRE®), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, to the Office of Probation within one year. Fallure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspension without further hearing until passage. But see rule 9.10(b), California
Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure. :

[J No MPRE recommended. Reason:

) Other Conditions:
As a condition of Respondent's probation and in fleu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to refumn to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall compilete 12 hours of continuing legal education in legal ethicé within one year of the

effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Officé of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate fmm’any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will
not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the

State Bar).

Stayed Suspension
® 00078
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~ MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE")

2015 Examination Schedule and Information

This Jo:mmwmddﬂaamwbyﬁcnm Bar of Callfornia, OIIko olm

The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRE.
TO REGISTER AND FOR THE MOST RECENT INFORMATION REGARDING MPRE 'I'ES‘I'
DATES, DEADLINES, RESOURCES, ETC., VOU MUST CONTACT:

National Conference of Bar Examiners (“NCBE")

Website: www.ncbex.org
Test Regular Registration | Late Registration | Scores Tentatively
Dates* . Deadline ($80)* Deadline ($160)* Released by
saturday, March 28, 2015 February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15, 2015 June 25, 2015 July 2, 2015 September 19, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | September 17,2015 | September 24, 2015 | December 12, 2015

1. The MPRE fee for applications received on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regular receipt deadline but
before the late receipt deadline is $160.

2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to the Office of Probation, you
MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or
before your due date. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay confirming
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation

matters or a non~-compliance referral in all other matters.
3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the

National Conference of Bar Examiners in' advance of the examination.
Passing scaled score 86 |
*Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE's website for current information,
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

CASE NO(s): $222035 (14-J-02524)

Probation

QUARTERLY REPORT
[ 1 First Report Due: April 10, 2015 [ ] Final Report Due; January §, 2017
(for period October 1, 2016 through January 8, 2017)

(for period January §, 2015 through March 31, 2015)

Due: E

(for period 10/1 throngh 12/31)

"January 10,20_ _ D

April10,20__ [ | July10,20__ October 10,20__
(for period 01/01 through 3/31) (for perlod 4/1 through 6/30)  (for period 7/1 through 9/30)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 .

Place an ""X" before each of the statemnents below that applies to you:

Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

During the reporting period noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all
provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of
probation; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed
under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court .
including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

During the reportinﬁ period above or portion thereof, I have compl.ied with all pr.ovisions
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of pr.obatt.on '
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this

space):

(attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is negded);
and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending against me
in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed undcr
penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status.
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. 8222035 (14-J-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

Within 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other.
address for State Bar purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.10f the Business and

Professions Code

Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination

I have registered for the MPRE given on

I have taken the MPRE given on and am awaiting the results.
I passed the MPRE given on . A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.

I did not pass the MPRE given on and have re-scheduled to take
the examination given on

Continuing Legal Education Courses

——

I have completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education- .
approved course(s) in legal ethics and have attached proof of completion if not pre.V}ously
submitted. I understand that the course hours required by this condition are in.adflxuOn to
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

, I declare under penalty of petjury under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate.

Date:

Signature:
Steven M. McCarthy

(Date of actual signature) y
(Please sign in blue ink)
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P _RTERLY REPORT I INSTRY TONS

1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to
reported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carcfully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect yot
conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you at

required to timely complete all of your ordered conditions. The report form is provided as a courtesy only, and you a1

not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Report fom. YOl
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORITS. In th
future, one additional copy may be provided if you make a written request with an explanation under penalty of pertjur;

why you need such copy made.

3. For each quarter's report, mark the box for the correct reporting period and write in the correct year. Placean "X" ir
front of each condition that applies to your activities during each respective reporting period. Provide all required
information. :

4. Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your business day on the last day of the month of each calendar
quarter (i.c., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED IF
YOU DATE, SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH

CALENDAR QUARTER.

January 1- March 31 April 10

April 1 - June 30 July 10
July 1 - September 30 ' October 10
October 1 - December 31 January 10

5. Your original signed and dated report must be physically received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that

it is received no later than the last State Bar business day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Probation. It is recommc'nded
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the tenth, .and
because some Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.

8.  The Office of Probation files your report as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9. The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must calendar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance.

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your comphance See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Office of Probation at

(213)765-1035. 00082
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MCLE Information Sheet

Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirements, but many orders require similar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immediately ask your Probation Députy if you have any questions.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the State Bar of

California’s website: http:/mcle.calbar.ca,gov/MCLE.aspx. For example, the MCLE you submit must be provided by

approved California MCLE providers; they are listed on the website.

2. The State Bar’s website defines self-study and participatory. If you are required to do participatory MCLE, self-study
courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do “live”, you must physically attend the course(s). Unless your order
 states it is acceptable for you to receive MCLE for courses you teach, the Office of Probation will NOT credit such hours to

your condition.
3. Generally, your disciplinary requirement is separate from your regular MCLE requirement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your disciplinary requiréments is a violation of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201.

4. Generally, you will NOT receive credit for courses completed before the effective date of your discipline.

5. Génerally, yod are required to provide “satisfactory evidence” to the Office of Probation. Forward the certificate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy

of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD
and/or DVD.

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by
the Office of Probation, NOT fqr you to have completed the courses.

7. If you may take courses in general legal ethics, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State
Bar of California in ethics. .

8. If you are to take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Qffice Management may differ from Law

Practice Management. Law Office Management usually covers issues involved in the day to da.y'runn.ing of a law oﬁi.be,
which might include calendaring, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing

your practice, limiting your liability, etc.

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Office Managemen_t. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10. Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requiremfnt you may.s.end a copy of
the provider, course title and information, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Attorney,

Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to

terrie.goldade@calbar.ca,gov.

11. Sometimes only a portion of a course may satisfy your requirement. The Office of Probation has not attended all coh:;es
applicable.

by all providers, and so cannot make a reasoned determination as to what portion of a course might be a1

Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be approved if it relsies
to your practice and the facts related to your matter. For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise
employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.

Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each rei{uiremcnt, you may be referred for non-compliance. A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/11
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NO?ICE OF COUNSEL REPR.I&EN TATION

Respondent: Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: S222035 (14-1-02524)

Member Number: 85433

Counsel Name:

Firm Name;

Address:

Bar Number:

Phone Number:

Respondent Signature:

Date:

Counsel Signature:

Date:

Please complete and return this form to the Office of Probation, 845 South Figucroa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-2515.
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Fernandez, May

From: Microsoft Outlook

To: 'Caractacus@aol.com’

Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 5:44 PM
Subject: Relayed: Non-Compliance with your probation

Delivery to these recipients or groups is complete, but no delivery notification was sent by the destination server:

'Caractacus@aol.com' (Caractacus@aol.com) <mailto:Caractacus@aol.com>

Subject: Non-Compliance with your probation
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Fernandez, May

From: Caractacus@aol.com

Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 6:40 PM
To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Re: Non-Compliance with your probation

Dear Ms. Fernandez,

Please provide (1) your facsimile transmission record for the representation of facsimile transmissions and/or
attempts directed to me, including the date, time, sending number, and result; and (2) and the letter you
hereinbelow falsely represent as attached to your email.

Please pay particular attention to the details of this demand, as it is both (1) very simple and (2) is responding to
the allegations of a state agency and you, a state agent.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation.

Steve McCarthy

In a message dated 6/10/2015 8:43:51 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov writes:

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I tried to email and fax the attached letter to the contact information you have provided to the State
Bar’s Membership Records Office. I received a message stating that the email was undeliverable and
the fax could not be transmitted. Please update your contact information with the Membership Records
Office immediately. You are reminded that you are required to update the Membership Records Office

within ten (10) days of any change in your contact information.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy
Office of Probation

The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
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This message may contain conﬁ‘él information that may also be privilegeo‘wlless you are the intended
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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Fernandez, May

From: Fernandez, May

Sent: Thursday, June 11, 2015 6:39 PM

To: '‘Caractacus@aol.com'’

Cc: 'Steve@McCarthylLegal.com'

Subject: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation

Attachments: Non-Compliance Letter.pdf; Mail Delivery System Notification Emails.pdf; Fax Transmission

Record of 6.10.15.pdf; 6.10.15 Email and Relay Confirmation.pdf

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

On January 21, 2015, | mailed you a letter reminding you of the conditions of your probation as ordered by the Supreme
Court in its Order filed December 9, 2014 (a copy of this letter was included as an enclosure to the letter mailed June 3,
2015 and which is attached to this email). The January 21, 2015 letter was mailed to the address you had on record with
the Membership Records Office as of that date, and which is still displayed as the address on record with the
Membership Records Office as of today (see below for a screenshot from today of your membership webpage
containing said information). The January 21, 2015 letter has not been returned to the Office of Probation as

undeliverable.

On June 3, 2015, | mailed and emailed you a letter regarding your non-compliance with your probation. The letter was
mailed to the address on record with the Membership Records Office as of the date of mailing, which is the same
address to which the January 21, 2015 letter was mailed and the address on record with the Membership Records Office
as of today. The June 3, 2015 letter which was mailed was not returned as undeliverable. As a courtesy, | also emailed
the June 3, 2015 letter to the email address you had on record with the Membership Records Office as of June 3, 2015,
“Steve@McCarthylLegal.com”. As of today, the email address you have on record with the Membership Records Office is
still “Steve@McCarthylLegal.com”. On June 3, 2015, | received a “Mail Delivery System” email notifying me that the
servers for the domain “mccarthylegal.com” were unavailable and that the mail system would continue to try to send
my message until it is delivered or expires. On June 8, 2015, | received a second email from the Mail Delivery System
notifying me that the message to “Steve@McCarthyLegal.com” was undeliverable and had expired. The notification
emails from “Mail Delivery System” are attached to this email.

Because my courtesy email to you on June 3, 2015 was unsuccessful, | faxed you a copy of the June 3, 2015 letter on
June 10, 2015 to the fax number you had on record with the Membership Records Office as of that date. As of today,
the fax number you have on record with the Membership Records Office is still “(386) 736-8668". The fax machine
dialed your fax number multiple times and was unsuccessful in transmitting the June 3, 2015 letter. Attached you will

find a copy of the fax transmission record.

Since my email and my fax were both unsuccessful, | emailed you a courtesy copy of the June 3, 2015 letter to your
private email address on June 10, 2015. You claim that | falsely represented having attached the June 3, 2015 letter to
my email. | checked my outgoing messages and the letter was included as an attachment to the June 10, 2015

email. Copies of my outgoing message and relay confirmation are attached to this email; please note the highlighted
portion of the outgoing message showing an attachment titled “Non-Compliance Letter.pdf’. As a courtesy, | am once
again attaching a copy of the June 3, 2015 letter to this email.

You are urged to carefully review this email and all attachments. You are reminded that as a condition of your
probation you are required to “report to the Membership Records Office of the State Bar and to the Office of Probation
of the State Bar of California (‘Office of Probation’), all changes of information, including current office address and
telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and
Professions Code” (see p. 5 of your stipulation filed August 15, 2014). You are also reminded that you are not in
compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non-compliance referral which may
result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs.

' 00039




o o

Please contact me if you have any questions,
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Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation
The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the inteqded
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.

From: ”Caractacus@aol.com [mailfofCaractacus@adI.corh] |
Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 6:40 PM

To: Fernandez, May
Subject: Re: Non-Compliance with your probation

Dear Ms. Fernandez,
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Please provide (1) your facsimileQansmission record for the representati’:f' facsimile transmissions and/or
attempts directed to me, including the date, time, sending number, and result; and (2) and the letter you
hereinbelow falsely represent as attached to your email.

Please pay particular attention to the details of this demand, as it is both (1) very simple and (2) is responding to
the allegations of a state agency and you, a state agent.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation.

Steve McCarthy

In a message dated 6/10/2015 8:43:51 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov writes:

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I tried to email and fax the attached letter to the contact information you have provided to the State
Bar’s Membership Records Office. I received a message stating that the email was undeliverable and
the fax could not be transmitted. Please update your contact information with the Membership Records
Office immediately. You are reminded that you are required to update the Membership Records Office
within ten (10) days of any change in your contact information.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy
Office of Probation

The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that ma y also be privileged. Unless you are the intended
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose

the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
OF CALIFORNIA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
FAX: (213) 765-1439
http://www.calbar.ca.gov
May Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
OFFICE OF PROBATION
June 3, 2015 ADDRESS VERIFIED
june 3, 2015
Steven M. McCarthy BY: m )‘F
POB 3524
Deland, FL 32721
Sent via email and mail.
Inre: S222035 (14-J-02524) In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

On January 21, 2015, this office sent to you a letter (copy enclosed) for the purpose of reminding you of
the terms and conditions of your probation imposed by the Supreme Court which became effective

January 8, 2015.

The following chart summarizes your compliance and non-compliance with the conditions of your
probation to date:

Condition Due Date Completion Date Comments

Schedule Reqd. Mtg. 2/7/15 Please contact me immediately to
schedule required meeting.

Hold Required Mtg. | As Scheduled
Quarterly Reports 4/10/15

Please file immediately.

You are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation, and you may face a non-
compliance referral which may result in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs (see
attached). Even if you contact the Office of Probation, a referral may still be prepared. The Office of
Probation will not send any further reminder letters regarding the aforementioned non-compliance or
any future compliance due dates or lack of receipt of compliance documentation.

Please be reminded that LATE completion, submission, or filing of proof/documents, does not
mean you are in compliance, You will never be in compliance because being even one day late
means that you are not in compliance with the terms and conditions of your probation.

If for any reason, you cannot fimely comply with the terms and conditions of the discipline imposed, and
to avoid a non-compliance referral, you must file a motion with the State Bar Court. See rules 5.162 and
5.300, et seq., Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California. A copy of the motion must be served
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Steven M. McCarthy
June 3, 2015
Page 2

upon the Office of Probation. The Office of Probation does not have the authorzty to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of your probation.

Please note that even if you are referred, you are STILL REQUIRED TO TIMELY COMPLY with all
probation conditions in this matter. Additional violations may be subject to a separate non-compliance
referral. If you have any questions regarding this matter, please contact me at (213) 765-1035.

Sincerely,

G

May Ling Fernandez
Probation Deputy

/mif

Enclosure(s)
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Disciplind®.osts - 2015 @

Effective January 1, 2015,

Pursuant to action by the State Bar’s governing board in January 2011 and May 2012, the costs assessed
for disciplinary matters are adjusted annually to account for changes in labor and other resource costs.
The adjustment is calculated by combining 40% of the year-on-year percentage change in the Consumer
Price Index' with 60% of the annual pcrcentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Management,
Professional and Related Occupations®. For 2015, the adjustment is an increase of 2.47%.

For matters filed on or after January 1, 2015, the costs assessed are as follows:

Matters that go in Default $4,451
Matters that Settle Prior to Filing of a Notice of Disciplinary Charges $3,066
Matters that Settle during first 120 days of proceeding $3,584
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed $5,680
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed $7.431
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial $7.431
Matters that proceed to a Multi-day trial $16,758
Matters that proceed to the Review Department $20,499
Matters that go into Default $3,003
Matters that Settle during the first 120 days of proceeding $2,507
Matters that Settle before Pretrial Statement is filed $5,378
Matters that Settle before trial but after Pretrial Statement is filed $7,059
Matters that proceed to a One-day trial ' $7,059
Matters that proceed into a Multi-day trial $12,854
Matters that proceed to the Review Department $18,375

Cost Assessmient

f’()ih(; Matters S 0 e IS .
Probation Revocation Proceedmgs :
$2,549

Rule 9.20 Proceedings

Each investigation matter over one ' $978
Each resignation $137
Consolidation cost equal to the minimum cost for the consolidated case type

Transcript costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(1))
Taxable costs incurred by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel

(BPC § 6086.10(b)(2))

! Specifically, the December-to-December change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CUURA422SA0.
? Specifically, the Q4-to-Q4 change in U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics series CIU20100001000001.
1
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THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION

/{fnﬁ}ﬁ
(REBREEN
INLI l/,ﬂ‘,’% OF CALIFORNIA : Terrie Goldade, Supervising Attorney (213) 765-1494
K, J 845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000
D <5 FAX: (213) 765-1439
) http/feww.calbar.ca gov
Mav Ling Fernandez: (213) 765-1035
OFFICE OF PROBATION '
ADDRES$ VERIFIED
Steven M. McCarthy BY; wmlf
POB 3524 '
DeLand, FL 32721
In the Matter of Steven M. McCarthy

Inre: S$222035 (14-J-02524)

Dear Steven M. McCarthy:

This reminder letter is sent to you as a courtesy and based upon information that you are not currently

representcd by counsel in this matter—the enforcement of your probation terms and conditions. If this
is incorrect, please complete the Notice of Counsel Representation form and submit the original to the

Office of Probation within five days so that future communications may be directed to your counsel.

As you know, on December 9, 2014, the Supreme Court of California filed an Order, effective January
8, 2015, suspending you from the practice of law for a period of one (1) year, staying execution and
placing you on probation upon certain conditions for a period of two (2) years.

You must schedule a meeting with me to discuss the terms and conditions of your discipline within
30 days from the effective date of discipline. Make sure you read this letter including all

attachments before the required meeting,

Additionally, by court order, you must take and provide proof of successful passage of the Multi-State

Professional Responsibility Examination (MPRE) to the Office of Probation on or before January 8,
2016. You must select "California" as the jurisdiction to receive your score report during registration. It

is important that you plan to take this examination well in advance of the due date so that you can re-

take the examination if you do not receive a passing score. The passing scaled score is 86. The MPRE
is only offered three (3) times a year, but you may not have three chances to take the MPRE by your

partlcular deadline. Failure to provide proof of passage of this examination by the due date may result
in your indefinite suspension until you provide proof that you have passed the exammauon. (See

Segretti v. State Bar (1976) 15 Cal.3d 878, 891, fn 8.)

In order to comply with the terms and conditions of your probation, you must report the status of your
complxance, in each and every respect, by letter with any attachments, executed under penalty of
perjury, and addressed to the Office of Probation. As a courtesy, the Office of Probation has prepared a
Quarterly Report form for your use. Should you happen to lose your Quartcrly.Report form, you must

submit your request for a copy in writing explaining why you could not maintain a copy for yourself.

Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of compliance. $ee In the Mfltter of
Carr (Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.
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Steven M. McCarthy ‘

January 21, 2015
Page 2

Please read the Instructions and review the Quarterly Report carefully to determine whether you believe

that it accurately reflects the required terms and conditions. If you believe there is an error, or if there
are any questions, please notify me immediately. You are responsible for timely complying with

each and every term and condition whether or not it is reflected in this letter and/or the Quarterly
Report form. You are reminded that for all conditions, proof of compliance must be physically
received in the Office of Probation by your due date. Being even one day late means that you are NOT
in compliance. X

The conditions of your probation with compliance due dates are outlined below. Please note this
summary only reflects those conditions and compliance due dates that require submission of proof of
compliance to the Office of Probation. For a thorough review of all conditions, please refer to the
enclosed copy of that portion of the disciplinary order setting forth the conditions of probation. -

Condition Deadline(s

1. Contact Probation Deputy & Schedule Requited Meeting February 7, 2015

2. Quarterly Reports Quarterly; beginning April 10,
2015

3. Continuing Legal Education Courses January 8, 2016

4. MPRE January 8, 2016

5. Final Report January 8, 2017

You are reminded that all Quarterly Reports are due on or before the 10® day after the end ofeach
quarter. If the 10* falls on a holiday or a weekend, the report must be received by the Office of
Probation prior to that holiday or weekend. Your Final Report is due on or before January 8, 2017.

You are required to report, and in no event in more than ten (10) days, to the Membership Records
Office of the State Bar and the Office of Probation, all changes of information including current name,
office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar purposes as prescribed by section
6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code. The Office of Probation will only send documents to your

official membership records address.

Further, please be advised that the Office of Probation does not have the authority to extend compliance
due dates or modify the terms and conditions of the discipline order. Request for extension of time or
modification of the terms and conditions of the discipline order must be filed with the State Bar

Court Hearing Department or Review Department. See, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of
California, rules 5.162 and 5.300, et seq. A copy of the motion must be served upon the Office of

! You must complete twelve (12) hours of continuing legal education in legal ethics no later than
January 8, 2016. Satisfactory proof of completion must be received by the Office of Probation no later

than February 7, 2016.
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Steven M. McCarthy
January 21, 2015
Page 3

Probation. Failure to timely submit reports or any other proof of compliance may result in a non-
compliance referral which may lead to the imposition of additional discipline.

Enclosed are copies of the Supreme Court Order and conditions of probation, which you have already
received from the Courts or your counsel, Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination
schedule, Quarterly Report with i mstruc’aons, MCLE information sheet, and Notice of Counsel

Representation form.
It is recommended that ybu maintain a file containing all orders as well as communication betweeh the
Office of Probation and yourself. Keep your file in a convenient location so that if you have contact

with the Office of Probation, any question can be quickly addressed. It is further recommended that you
sign all original documents in blue so that the Office of Probation will immediately be able to ascertain

whether you have provided the required original(s).

Please note that the Court has determined that the repeated need of the State Bar to actively intervene to
seek compliance with disciplinary terms and conditions is inconsistent with the self-goveming nature of
probation as a rehabilitative part of the attorney discipline system. In the Matter of Gorman (Review

Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 567, 573.
Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez

Probation Deputy

/mlf
Enclosures
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SUFNREVIE VWU

® o FILED

(State Bar Court No. 14-1-02524) DEC 0 284 -
5222035 FrankA. McGue Cleck -
: ' Deputy
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc

In re STEVEN MICHAEL McCARTHY on Discipline

The court orders that Steven Michael McCarthy, State Bar Number 85433,
is suspended from the practice of law in California for one year, execution of that
period of suspension is stayed, and he is placed on probation for two years subject

to the following conditions:

1. Steven Michael McCarthy must comply with the conditions of

probation recommended by the Hearing Department of the State Bar
Court in its Order Approving Stipulation filed on August 15; 2014; and

2. At the expiration of the peribd of probation, if Steven Michael
McCarthy has complied with the terms of probation, the one-year period
of stayed suspension will be satisfied and that suspension will be

terminated.

Steven Michael McCarthy must also take and pass the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination within one year after the effective date of
this order and provide satisfactory proof of such passage to the State Bar’s Office
of Probation within the same period. Failure to do so may result in suspension.

(Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.10(b).)

Costs are awarded to the State Bar in accordance with Business and
Professions Code section 6086.10 and are enforceable both as provided in
Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. One-
third of the costs must be paid with his membership fees for each of the years
2016, 2017, and 2018. If Steven Michael McCarthy fails to pay any installment as
described above, or as may be modified by the State Bar Court, the remaining

balance is due and payable immediately.
|I I

1, Frank A, MeGire, Clerk of the Supreme Court Chief Justice
ofﬂ:eSm&_;ofCaIifomfa,dohﬁggrcaﬁfy:mtme / ’
preceding is a true copy of an ofder of this Court as
shown by the recoids of my office.

Witness my hand aitd the seal of the Court this

i " 00098

Clerk
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(Do not write above this fine.)

D. Discipfine:

(1) suyedsmnsion:
(@ X Respondentmustbesuspendedﬁpmﬂ;epracﬁceoflawiorapeﬁodgfommr.

i 0 -and until Respondent shows proof satisfactory to the State Bar Court of rehabilitation and
pmsentﬁmessmmcﬁceandpmummandab(myhmelawpumammstamm
1.2(c)(1), Standards for Attorney Sanctions for Professional Misconduct.

i. [ and until Respondent pays restitution as set forth in the Financial Conditions form attached to

' this stipulation. : '
i [ ahdunﬁlR_espondentdbesmefqndwing:
Theabove-feferenqed suspension is stayed.

(20 [ Probation:

Respondent is placed on probation for a period of two years, which will commence upon the effective date of
the Supreme Court order in this matter. (See rule 9.18 California Rules of Court.)

E. Additional Conditions of Probation:

(1) During the probation period, Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act and Rules of
Professional Conduct '

@ Within ten (10) days of any change, Respondent must report to the Membership Records Office of the
State Bar and to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of Califomia (“Office of Probation”), afl changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code.

(3) X Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline, Respondent must contact the Office of Probation
and schedule a meeting with Respondent’s assigned probation deputy to discuss these terms and
conditions of probation. Upon the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the

probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of probation, Respondent must

promptly meet with the probation deputy as directed and upon request.

4) [ Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation on each January 10, April 10,
July 10, and October 10 of the period of probation. Under penalty of peijury, Respondent must state

whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional Conduct, and all
conditions of probation during the preceding calendar quarter. Respondent must also state whether there
are any proceedings pending against him or her in the State Bar Court and if so, the case number and
current status of that proceeding. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be
submitted on the next quarter date, and cover the extended period. ‘

In addition to all quarterly reports, a final report, containing the same information, is due no earlier than
twenty (20) days before the last day of the period of probation and no later than the last day of probation.

() [0 Respondent must be assigned a probation monitor. Respondent must promptly review the terms and
conditions of probation with the probation monitor to establish a manner and schedule of compliance,
During the period of probation, Respondent must fumish to the monitor such reports as may be requested,
in addition to the quarterly reports required to be submitted to the Office of Probation. Responderit must

cooperate fully with the probation monitor,
(Effective January 1, 2014)

Stayed Suspensin
° 00099
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{Do not write above this fine.) .

(6) " [X Subject to assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent ¢ must answer fully, promptly and truthfully any
inquiries of the Office of Probation and any probation monitor assigned under these conditions which are

directed to Respondent personally or in writing relating to whether Respondent is complying or has
complied with the probation conditions.

o X Mminoneﬂ)yearofmeeﬂbcﬁvedataofmedwdpﬁnemm Respondent must provide to the Office of
Probation satisfactory proof of attendance at a session of the State Bar Ethics School, and passage of the

laeqt given at the end of that session.
No Ethics School recommended. Reason: Please see section *F (2)" below.

o 0 e o e 2 s e e
of Probation.

¢ O Thefonovangoondmonsaraauamdheretoandmoorpomed B ,

[0 Law Office Management Conditions

[J Financial Conditions

[0 Substance Abuse Conditions
[0 Medical Conditions

F. Other Conditions Negotiated by the Parties:

Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination: Respondent must provide proof of passage of

(1 X
' the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination (“MPRE"), administered by the National
Conference of Bar Examiners, to the Office of Probation within one year. Failure to pass the MPRE
results in actual suspeneion without further hearing until passage, But see rule 9.10(b), Caiffornia

Rules of Court, and rule 5.162(A) & (E), Rules of Procedure.

[J No MPRE recommended. Reason;

)] Other Conditions:
As a condition of Respondent’s probation and in leu of attending State Bar Ethics School (which
would require Respondent to return to California from his current home in Oregon), Respondent
shall complete 12 hours of continuing fegal education in legal ethics within one year of the

effective date of this stipulation and provide proof, in writing, to the Office of Probation within 30
days thereafter. This requirement is separate from any MCLE requirement, and Respondent will

not receive any MCLE credit for attending these courses (Rule 3201, Rules of Procedure of the
State Bar).

~(Efiective January 1, 2074) orayed sw '
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" MULTISTATE PROFESSIONAL
RESPONSIBILITY EXAMINATION (“MPRE")

- 2015 Examination Schedule and Information

ﬁbdocmmlwmaldaa«uﬁaybyﬁcﬂak'na’taﬂhmla, Office of Probaiion.

The State Bar of California does NOT administer the MPRE.
TO REGISTER AND FOR THE MOST RECENT INFORMATION REGARDING MPRE ‘I'EST
DATES, DEADLINES, RESOURCES, ETC., VOU MUST CONTACT:

National Conference of Bar Examiners (*NCBE")

Website: www.ncbex.org
Test Regular Registration | Late Registration Scores Tentatively
Dates* . Deadline ($80)* Deadline ($160)* Released by
Saturday, March 28, 2015 February 5, 2015 February 12, 2015 May 2, 2015
Saturday, August 15, 2015 June 25, 2015 July 2, 2015 September 19, 2015
Saturday, November 7, 2015 | September 17,2015 | September 24, 2015 | December 12, 2015

1. The MPRE fee for applications received on or before the regular receipt deadline is
$80. The MPRE fee for applications received after the regular receipt deadline but
before the late receipt deadline is $160.

2. To provide proof of successful passage of the MPRE to l:he Office of Probation, you

MUST: 1) during registration, select California as the jurisdiction to receive your score
report; AND 2) send a copy of your score release to the Office of Probation on or
fore your due date. Failure to comply with these requirements will delay confirming

be
your passage of the MPRE, and it may result in an automatic suspension in probation

matters or a non-compliance referral in all other matters.
3. Requests for special accommodations during the examination must be made to the

National Conference of Bar Examiners in' advance of the examination.

*Information may change at any time, please check the NCBE's website for current information.

Revised 02045
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IN THE MATTER OF
Steven M. McCarthy

CASE NO(s): $222035 (14J-02524j

Probation

QUARTERLY REPORT
[ ] First Report Due: April 10, 2015 [ ] Final Report Due; January §, 2017
(for period October 1, 2016 through January 8, 2017)

(for period January §, 2018 through March 31, 2015)

Due: D

January 10,20_ _
(for period 10/1 throngh 12/31)

April10,20__ [ ] July10,20__ October 10,20__
(for period 01/01 through 3/31) (for period 4/1 through 6/30)  (for period 7/1 through 9/36)

Make sufficient copies of this form for future use and mail reports to State Bar of California, Attn:
Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 .

Place an "X"" before each of the statements below that applies to you:

Compliance with State Bar Act and Rules; and Report on SBC Proceedings

During the reporting period noted above or portion thereof, I have complied with all
provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of
probation; and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pending
against me in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, signed
under penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court ‘
including the case number(s), and current status.

Or

During the reportidg period above or portion thereof, I have compl.ied with all pr.ovisions
of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all conditions of pr‘obatx.on .
EXCEPT (please list specific violations - - do NOT list pending proceedings in this

space):

(attach declaration under penalty of perjury if more space is nee.dcd);
and during the preceding calendar quarter, there were no proceedings pepding against me
in the State Bar Court, or if there were, I have attached my declaration, s1gn.1ed unfler
penalty of perjury, regarding my pending proceeding(s) in State Bar Court including the
case number(s), and current status.
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Steven M. McCarthy
Case No. 5222035 (14-J-02524)

Page 2

Current Address

Within 10 days of any change, I reported to the Membership Records Office and to the
Office of Probation of the State Bar of California ("Office of Probation"), all changes of
information including current name, office address and telephone number, or other.
address for State Bar purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.10f the Business and

Professions Code

Multi-State Professional Responsibility Examination

I have registered for the MPRE given on

I have taken the MPRE given on and am awaiting the results.
I passed the MPRE given on . A copy of my results is
attached if not previously submitted.

and have re-scheduled to take

I did not pass the MPRE given on
the examination given on

Continuing Legal Education Courses

I have completed ___ hour(s) of California Minimum Continuing Legal Education-
approved course(s) in legal ethics and have attached proof of completion if not previously
submitted. I understand that the course hours required by this condition are in addition to
any requirement I must meet in compliance with the State Bar Minimum Continuing

Legal Education Program.

_ I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that all of the
information provided in this report is true and accurate.

Date:

Signature:
Steven M. McCarthy

(Date of actual signature)
(Please sign in blue ink)
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° \RTERLY REPORT INSTEm TIONS

1. The enclosed Quarterly Report form has been tailored to reflect the conditions of your discipline that are to

reported to the Office of Probation. Please review it carefully. If you believe that it does not accurately reflect yo

conditions, immediately contact the Office of Probation. Note that even if the Office of Probation makes an error, you a
uired to timely complete all of your ordered conditions. The report form is provided as a courtesy only, and you a

not required to use it.

2. The Office of Probation will NOT provide you with multiple copies of the courtesy Quarterly Report form. YO
MUST MAKE ENOUGH COPIES TO USE FOR ALL FUTURE QUARTERLY AND FINAL REPORTS. In tb
future, one additional copy may be provided if you make a written request with an explanation under penalty of perjur

why you need such copy made

3. For each quarter’s report, mark the box for the correct reporting penod and write in the correct year. Place an "X" il
front of each condition that applies to your activities dunng each respective reporting period. Provide all require
information.

4.  Your report may be signed and mailed at the end of your business day on the last day of the month of each calendas
quarter (i.c., March 31st, June 30th, September 30th and December 31st). YOUR REPORT WILL BE REJECTED IF

YOU DATE, SIGN, AND/OR SEND IT BEFORE THE LAST DAY OF THE LAST MONTH OF EACH
CALENDAR QUARTER.

January 1- March 31 April 10

April 1 - June 30 July 10
July 1 - September 30 October 10
Octaber 1 - December 31 January 10

5. Your original signed and dated report must be physically received in the Office of Probation on or before the tenth
of January, April, July, and October. If the tenth falls on a weekend or holiday, you must send your report so that

it is received no later than the last State Bar business day before the 10th; The State Bar is not open on weekends or
holidays and does not receive mail on those days. State Bar observed holidays include among others, New Year’s day,
Cesar Chavez Day, Independence Day, and Columbus day. For all conditions, being even one day late means that you are

not in compliance.

6. The report must contain an original signature in order to be filed with the Office of Proba.tion. It is recommqnded
that you sign each report using blue ink. Because your report must be made under penalty of perjury, you must date it the

date you sign it and not pre-date it or post-date it. See, Code of Civil Procedurc section 2015.5.

7. Because it is your responsibility to have an original, compliant report in to the Office of Probation by the tenth, and
because some Respondents have claimed that their reports were lost in the mail, you may choose to send your reports in a

manner that provides you with proof of delivery.

8. The Office of Probation files your report as of the date it is received, and NOT the date you mail it.

9. The Office of Probation will NOT contact you before and/or after each quarterly report is due. You must calendar all
of your deadlines to ensure timely receipt by the Office of Probation.

10. Each report is to be a perpetual document and is to reflect past and/or current status or compliance.

11. Each of your reports must be a clear and unequivocal statement of your comp}iance. See In the Matter of Carr
(Review Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 244, Ifit is not, it can be rejected for filing.

If you have any questions regarding this information, please contact May Ling Fernandez in the Office of Probation at

(213)765-1035. 00104
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MCLE Information Sheet

Orders vary regarding the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE) requirernents, but many orders require similar
conditions. Read your requirements closely, and immediately ask your Probation Députy if you have any questions.

1. The Office of Probation generally adheres to, and routinely consults, the MCLE information on the State Bar of
California’s website: http://mcle.calbar.ca.gov/M . For example, the MCLE you submit must be provided by

approved California MCLE providers; they are listed on the website.

2. The State Bar’s website defines self-study and participatory. If you are required to do participatory MCLE, self-study
courses will not be accepted. If you are required to do “live”, you must physically attend the course(s). Unless your order
states it is acceptable for you to receive MCLE for courses you teach, the Office of Probation will NOT credit such hours fo
your condition, ’ : ,

3. Generally, your disciplinary requirement is separate from your regular MCLE requirement, and claiming credit for MCLE
already applied toward your disciplinary requiréments is a violation of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar, rule 3201.

4. Generally, you will NOT receive credit for courses completed before the pﬁ'ective date of your discipline.

5. Génerally, yoﬁ are required to provide “satisfactory evidence” to the Office of Probation. Forward the certificate you
receive from any participatory and live courses you take. If you are permitted to take self-study courses, there is NOT
generally “satisfactory evidence” provided by computer courses. If you listen to CDs and/or watch DVDs, send a photocopy

of each CD and/or DVD along with a statement under penalty of perjury that you listened and/or watched each CD
and/or DVD.

6. Generally, like most of the conditions, the deadline is for you to have your proof of completion of the MCLE received by
the Office of Probation, NOT for you to have completed the courses.

7. If you may take courses in general legal ethics, the Office of Probation will give credit for courses approved by the State

Bar of California in ethics.

8. If you are to take courses in Law Office Management, please note that Law Office Management may differ from Law
Practice Management. Law Office Management usually covers issues involved in the day to day running of a law offics,
which might include calendaring, trust accounting, etc. Law Practice Management usually covers issues involved in growing
your practice, limiting your liability, etc.

9. It can be difficult to find MCLE in Attorney Client Relations and/or Law Office Management. It can be even more
difficult to find live courses in those topics. Plan ahead: begin looking for courses as quickly as possible.

10, Before you spend time and money on a course which may not be applicable to your requirement, you may.synd a copy of
the provider, course title and information, and course description to the Office of Probation’s Supervising Attomey,

Terrie Goldade, for review via mail (to the Office of Probation), fax at (213) 765-1439, or e-mail to

terrie.goldade@calbar.ca.gov.

11, Sometimes only a portion of a course may satisfy your requirement. The Office of Probation has not attended all courses
by all providers, and so cannot make a reasoned determination as to what portion of a course might be ?pphcable.
Accordingly, sometimes a course may not be approved. If a course is borderline, it is more likely to be approved if it relates
to your practice and the facts related to your matter. For example, if you had problems in relation to failing to supervise
employees, a Law Office Management course relating in part to employee supervision is more likely to be approved for you;
it is less likely to be approved for someone who has no employees and/or whose problems were related to, for example,

commingling money with client trust account funds.

Like any other condition, if you fail to timely comply with each rei{uircment, you may be referred for non-compliance, A
referral can result in the imposition of discipline, with attendant costs.

Revised 06/30/11
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NOTICE OF COUNSEL REPRESENTATION

Respondent: Steven M. McCarthy

State Bar Case #: 8222035 (14-1-02524)

Member Number: 85433

Counsel Name:

Firm Name:

Address:

Bar Number:

Phone Number:

Respondent Signature:

Date:

Counsel Signature:

Date:

Please complete and return this form to the Office of Probation, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles,
California 90017-2515.
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Fernandez, May

"" ‘}]

B

From:

Sent:

To:

Subject:
Attachments:

Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01c120148.mxlogic.net>
Monday, June 08, 2015 3:20 PM

Fernandez, May

Mail delivery failed

ATT00001.txt

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you have sent could not be delivered to one or more recipients. This is a permanent error. The
following address(es) failed:

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: Message was undeliverable and has expired
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Fernandez, May ‘ | ! |

Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01c120148.mxlogic.net>

From:

Sent: Wednesday, June 03, 2015 7:20 PM

To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Warning: could not send message for past 4 hours
Attachments: ATTO00001.txt

P

THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY
YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE

s at e chen o s e e A e o e st

A temporary error occurred while delivering to the following address(es):

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: 451 All MX servers are unavailable for domain mccarthylegal.com

I will continue trying to send the message until it is delivered or expires.
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. ATT00001. txt
Included is a copy of the message header:

) —— - - A W M - S o W Pm e o L e e G G A S . - o s Y o

Received: from unknown [67.97.90.154] (EHLO SFCASQl.calsh.org)
by E01c120148.mx1o ic.net(mx1_mta-8.4.0-1) over TLS secured channel
with esMTP id efc7$655.0.580528.00~311.1650515.p01c120148.mxlogic.net
(envelope-from <may.fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>);
wed, 03 Jun 2015 16:17:34 -0600 (MDT)
X-MXL-Hash: $56f7cfe6fd2390c-0633b4b0802¢c235b785bF9f4141d130158483794
Received: from*SFMAILOS.cast.org g[feso::615f:?44d:4b5:67be1).by
SFCASO1.calsb.org ([fe80::f05e:89d5:a272:b081%17]) with mapi id
14.03.0210.002; wed, 3 Jun 2015 15:17:33 -0700
From: "Fernandez, May" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
To: "'Steve@McCarthyLegal,com'" <Steve@MccCarthyLegal.com>
Subject: Non-Compliance with your Probation
Thread-Topic: Non-Compliance with your Probation
Thread-Index: AdCeSwpx4eiNIDNQQDSARG6NBVeL1rQ==
pisposition-Notification-To: "Fernandez, May" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
Return-rReceipt-To: <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
pDate: wWed, 3 Jun 2015 22:17:33 +0000
Message-ID: <302A4449378E684385DBA60SAGE2AB5E217A159E@SFMAILOS . calsb.org>
Accept-Language: en-uUs
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach: yes
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
x-originating-ip: [172.15.16.45]
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; "
boundary=“_004_302A4449378E68438SDBAGOSAGEZABSEZI?AlSQESFMAILOSca]sbor_

MIME-Version: 1.0

Page 1
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xxxeRREXLANREL COMM. JOURL , RX¥xsxxxsexxxxxxxxx DATE JUN-*" 15 *¥**x TIME 17:14 EXXXERXX

i

MODE = MEMORY TRANSMISSION START=JUN-10 116:49 END=JUN-10 17:14

FILE NO.=774

STN  COMM. STATION NEME/EMAIL ADDRESS/TELEPHONE NO.  PAGES DURATION
NOI
001 503 89-13867368668 000/016 00:05:24
-STATE BAR OF CALIF. -
- XEXXE - 213 765 1318- XXRxXXXXN

vxxxr (JF-B000 V2 IXLTXXXXXYXELRAXXXL —[OS ANGELES

iamen THE STATE BAR OFFICE OF PROBATION
N Te OF CALIFORNIA Terrie Goldade, Supervising Amtomey (213) 765-1494
! hapvivavw,cstdar.on.gov

i
FACSIMILE COVER SHEET

DATE: Iume 10, 2015 )
TO: Steven M, MeCarthy FAX No.: (386) 736-8668

FROM: May Ling Fernandez __| - PHONE No.: (213) 765-1035
Offtice of?robation,MeBarTfCuﬁfbmh .

{
i
!
I
i
i
{
f
I
i
I

Number of pages (including cover s:béét): 16

i
RE: Non-Complisnce with your Probation

|
The following Jetter was mailed and emailed to you on June 3, 2015. You arc recciving this fax because
the Office of Probation received anjemail message that the email was undeliverable. Plcase update your
contact information with the Membership Records Office immediately. You are reminded that you are
required 10 update the Membership|Records Office within ten (10) days of any change in your contact
information including “other addrcss for State Bar purposes”.

[ ]witl follow in U.S. Mail | [ ] wilt NOT follow in U.S. Mail
' “Unless requested to Probation

1t
5

|
FA 2 s This\facsimile transmission wigh lis contents may contain senshtive, confidential and/or
Tegally privileged information. This communicatlon is solely for the wse of the Iniended recipiers(s) nemed above.
Uneuthorized interception, review, use or discloswre is prohibited-and may violate appticabls laws. If you aré not the
intended reciplens, please contact the sender and destroy all coples-of the communication.
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Fernandez, May

From: Fernandez, May

Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 5:43 PM
To: ‘Caractacus@aol.com'

Subject: Non-Compliance with your probation
Aftachments: Non-Compliance Letter.pdf

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I tried to email and fax the attached letter to the contact information you have provided to the State Bar's Membership
Records Office. | received a message stating that the email was undeliverable and the fax could not be

transmitted. Please update your contact information with the Membership Records Office immediately. You are
reminded that you are required to update the Membership Records Office within ten (10) days of any change in your

contact information.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation
The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the inteqded
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disciose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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Fernandez, May

o

From:
To:
Sent:
Subject:

Microsoft Outlook
'‘Caractacus@aol.com'

Wednesday, June 10, 2015 5:44 PM
Relayed: Non-Compliance with your probation

Delivery to these recipients or groups is complete, but no delivery notification was sent by the destination server:

'Caractacus@aol.com’ {Caractacus@aol.com) <mailto:Caractacus@aol.com>

Subject: Non-Compliance with your probation
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Fernandez, May

From: Microsoft Outlook

To: ‘Caractacus@aol.com'; 'Steve@McCarthyLegal.com'
Sent: Thursday, June 11, 2015 6:39 PM

Subject: Relayed: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation

Delivery to these recipients or groups is complete, but no delivery notification was sent by the destination server:

'Caractacus@aol.com' (Caractacus@aol.com) <mailto:Caractacus@aol.com>

'Steve @McCarthyLegal.com' (Steve@McCarthylLegal.com) <mailto:Steve@McCarthyLegal.com>

Subject: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation
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Fernandez, May

.:!
‘,

From:

Sent:

To:

Subject:
Attachments:

Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01c120147.mxlogic.net>
Thursday, June 11, 2015 10:41 PM

Fernandez, May
Warning: could not send message for past 4 hours

ATTO00001.txt

THIS IS A WARNING MESSAGE ONLY
YOU DO NOT NEED TO RESEND YOUR MESSAGE

A temporary error occurred while delivering to the following address(es):

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: 451 All MX servers are unavailable for domain mccarthylegal.com

| will continue trying to send the message until it is delivered or expires.
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. ATT00001. txt
Included is a copy of the message header:
Received: from unknown [67.97.90.154] (EHLO SFCASQl.calsb.org)
by ﬁ01c120147.mx1og1c.net(mx1_mta—8.4.0-1) over TLS secured channel
with ESMTP id 7483a755.0.367010.00-269.1038197.p01c120147.mxlogic.net
(envelope-from <may.fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>);
Thu, 11 Jun 2015 19:39:20 -0600 (MDT)
X-MXL-Hash: 557a38483dc0ab75-daef0c35161a3b3c7962ef305334b6f4d755208¢
Received: from SFMAILOS5.calsb.org ([fe80::615f:744d:4b5:67be]) by
SFCASOl.calsh.org ([fe80::f05e:89d5:a272:b081%17]) with mapi id
14.03.0210.002; Thu, 11 3Jun 2015 18:39:18 -0700
From: "Fernandez, May" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
To: "'Caractacus@aol.com'" <Caractacus@aol.coms
CC: "'Steve@McCarthyLegal.com'" <Steve@McCarthyLegal.com>
Subject: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation
Thread-Topic: Non-Compliance with your probation
Thread-Index: AQHQo+d77Tn/0TPCTCyvelwPclyd7p2n/uDg
Disposition-Notification-To: "Fernandez, May" <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
Return-Receipt-To: <May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov>
Date: Fri, 12 Jun 2015 01:39:18 +0000
Message-ID: <302A4449378E684385DBA605A6E2ABSE217A1BB4@SFMATILOS.calsb.org>
References: <22fd8.2911b0a.42aa40dc@aol.com>
In-Reply-To: <22fd8.2911b0a.42aa40dc@aol.com>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-uUSs
X-MS-Has-Attach: yes
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
x-originating-ip: [172.15.16.45]
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="_009_302A4449378E684385DBA605A6E2AB5E217A1BB4SFMAILO5calsbo

MIME-Version: 1.0
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Fernandez, May

From: Mail Delivery System <MAILER-DAEMON@p01¢120147.mxlogic.net>
Sent: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 6:40 PM

To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Mail delivery failed

Attachments: ATTO00001.txt

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you have sent could not be delivered to one or more recipients. This is a permanent error. The
following address(es) failed:

<steve@mccarthylegal.com>: Message was undeliverable and has expired
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Fernandez, May

From: Femandez, May

Sent: Tuesday, June 16, 2015 11:58 AM

To: ‘Caractacus@aol.com'

Subject: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation
Attachments: RESIGNATION PACKAGE.pdf

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I am unaware of a way you can “quit” the State Bar of California. However, you may wish to consider a resignation with
charges pending. Attached are documents regarding such a resignation. For more information, contact the Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel at the State Bar’s general number (213) 765-1000.

If you change to inactive status, you will still need to comply with the probation conditions you negotiated with the
Office of the Chief Trial Counsel, and which were ordered by the Supreme Court of California. If you do not comply, a
non-compliance referral will be made which can result in additional discipline and costs. You are reminded that (1) you
are not in compliance, and (2) the Office of Probation does not have the authority to modify your Order. If you wish to
modify the terms or conditions of your probation, the request must be filed with the State Bar Court and served on the

Office of Probation.

The Office of Probation will continue to monitor your compliance with your probation unless and until the Court orders
otherwise.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation
The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the inteqded }
recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or disclose
the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.

From: Caractacus@aol.com [mailto:Caractacus@aol.com]
Sent: Monday, June 15, 2015 11:38 AM

To: Fernandez, May

Subject: Fwd: Non-Compliance with your probation

May,

It is likely beyond your experience to have suffered a complete economic catastrophe; hoyvever, I thought I
might explain to you my present situation just at least for the value of the notice this provides.

In 2008, the bottom fell out. You may not have had a dog in that fight, but I had several and they were
slaughtered. In 2009, I filed a Ch. 13. My then wife maintained the household bills because I was getting
morosely depressed, something else with which you probably have no experience. She stopped paying the
mortgage on our two properties in March, 2012, and in the late summer of 2013, expropriated $65,000 which I

have never recovered.
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My work started failing, and Oregon, being the impoverished bastion of regionalism, nepotism, cronyism, and
ignorance that it is, decided to run me out once I pushed the adoption of a vexatious litigant statute like CA's,
the adoption of Rowland v. Christian and the new restatement approval of that doctrine, and attacked the OR
wrongful death statute, which in effect abrogates federal diversity jurisdiction; among other things, not the least
of which was a complaint to the AG and CJ of gross ethical violations by Polk County and other judges. If you
have any interest in the nature of legal progress outside your own salary, the paperwork on some of this is
readily available in Coddington v. FNMA and Krela v. Kryla; both in the 9th Circuit.

When I practiced in CA from 1979-2007, as your no doubt complete records will reflect, I was well regarded

(see 2006 CWL recommendation to judicial appointments secretary) and had no record of
discipline. Unfortunately, now I do, and there was nothing I could do about it. I was set up for it, and even the

OSB was well aware that I was being singled out for special treatment.

So the long and short of all this is that since 2013 I have had no appreciable income from any source. CA
charged me more for reciprocal discipline costs than Oregon did through hearing at the OR supremes. I
cannot even take the bar in FL if I am not in good standing in any other jurisdiction. Therefore, I cannot pay
any of this, nor should I, as I am at present completely judgment proof. As your elders and superiors about that

if the term is unfamiliar to you.

So I want to ask you, because you have at least some interest in this, if I can just quit the California bar. I am
not able to comply with the terms of my "probation."

I hope you might respond with something on the order of human understanding, since I have devoted my entire
life to the justice system; but will appreciate whatever you have to say regardless as it reflects only on you, not

me.
VTY

Steve McCarthy

From: Caractacus(@aol.com

To: May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
Sent: 6/12/2015 2:44:29 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time
Subj: Re: Non-Compliance with your probation

Maybe you can tell me if this is a one way street to being disbarred for not being able to pay the .
freight. You probably have absolutely no idea what's going on with me, and I'm even more certain you

couldn't care less. But:
Can I go inactive?

Steve

In a message dated 6/11/2015 9:39:30 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov
writes:

Dear Mr. McCarthy,
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On January 21, 2015, | mailed yo.letter reminding you of the conditions 0‘" probation as

ordered by the Supreme Court in its Order filed December 9, 2014 (a copy of this letter was included
as an enclosure to the letter mailed June 3, 2015 and which is attached to this email). The January 21,
2015 letter was mailed to the address you had on record with the Membership Records Office as of
that date, and which is still displayed as the address on record with the Membership Records Office as
of today (see below for a screenshot from today of your membership webpage containing said
information). The January 21, 2015 letter has not been returned to the Office of Probation as

undeliverable.

On June 3, 2015, | mailed and emailed you a letter regarding your non-compliance with your
probation. The letter was mailed to the address on record with the Membership Records Office as of
the date of mailing, which is the same address to which the January 21, 2015 letter was mailed and the
address on record with the Membership Records Office as of today. The June 3, 2015 letter which was
mailed was not returned as undeliverable. As a courtesy, | also emailed the June 3, 2015 letter to the
email address you had on record with the Membership Records Office as of June 3, 2015,
“Steve@McCarthyLegal.com”. As of today, the email address you have on record with the
Membership Records Office is still “Steve@McCarthyLegal.com”. On June 3, 2015, | received a “Mail
Delivery System” email notifying me that the servers for the domain “mccarthylegal.com” were
unavailable and that the mail system would continue to try to send my message until it is delivered or
expires. On June 8, 2015, | received a second email from the Mail Delivery System notifying me that
the message to “Steve@McCarthylLegal.com” was undeliverable and had expired. The notification
emails from “Mail Delivery System” are attached to this email.

Because my courtesy email to you on June 3, 2015 was unsuccessful, | faxed you a copy of the June 3,
2015 letter on June 10, 2015 to the fax number you had on record with the Membership Records
Office as of that date. As of today, the fax number you have on record with the Membership Records
Office is still “(386) 736-8668". The fax machine dialed your fax number muitiple times and was
unsuccessful in transmitting the June 3, 2015 letter. Attached you will find a copy of the fax

transmission record.

Since my email and my fax were both unsuccessful, | emailed you a courtesy copy of the June 3, 2015
letter to your private email address on June 10, 2015. You claim that | falsely represented having
attached the June 3, 2015 letter to my email. | checked my outgoing messages and the letter was
included as an attachment to the June 10, 2015 email. Copies of my outgoing message and relay
confirmation are attached to this email; please note the highlighted portion of the outgoing message
showing an attachment titled “Non-Compliance Letter.pdf”. As a courtesy, | am once again attaching a
copy of the June 3, 2015 letter to this email.

You are urged to carefully review this email and all attachments. You are reminded that as a condition
of your probation you are required to “report to the Membership Records Office of the State Bar and
to the Office of Probation of the State Bar of California (‘Office of Probation’), all changes of
information, including current office address and telephone number, or other address for State Bar
purposes, as prescribed by section 6002.1 of the Business and Professions Code” (see p. 5 of your
stipulation filed August 15, 2014). You are also reminded that you are not in compliance with the

3
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terms and conditions of your prd@lion, and you may face a non-compliance‘. ral which may result
in the imposition of additional discipline and attendant costs.

Please contact me if you have any questions.
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Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation

The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017
4
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213.765.1035 | Mav.Fernandez@ar.ca.qov '

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are the
infended

recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use, copy, or
disclose

the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the sender by
reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.

Ffom: Caractacus@aol.com [mailto:Caractacus@aol.com]
Sent: Wednesday, June 10, 2015 6:40 PM

To: Fernandez, May
Subject: Re: Non-Compliance with your probation

Dear Ms. Fernandez,

Please provide (1) your facsimile transmission record for the representation of facsimile
transmissions and/or attempts directed to me, including the date, time, sending number., and
result; and (2) and the letter you hereinbelow falsely represent as attached to your email.

Please pay particular attention to the details of this demand, as it is both (1) very simple and (2)
is responding to the allegations of a state agency and you, a state agent.

Thank you in advance for your anticipated cooperation.

Steve McCarthy
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In a message dated 6/10/2015@@3:51 P.M. Eastern Daylight Time, o
May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov writes:

Dear Mr. McCarthy,

I tried to email and fax the attached letter to the contact information you have provided
to the State Bar’s Membership Records Office. I received a message stating that the
email was undeliverable and the fax could not be transmitted. Please update your
contact information with the Membership Records Office immediately. You are
reminded that you are required to update the Membership Records Office within ten
(10) days of any change in your contact information.

Sincerely,

May Ling Fernandez | Probation Deputy

Office of Probation

The State Bar of California | 845 S. Figueroa St. | Los Angeles, CA 90017

213.765.1035 | May.Fernandez@calbar.ca.gov

This message may contain confidential information that may also be privileged. Unless you are
the intended

recipient or are authorized to receive information for the intended recipient, you may not use,
copy, or disclose

the message in whole or in part. If you have received this message in error, please advise the
sender by reply

e-mail and delete all copies of the message. Thank you.
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THESTA'.BAR 1}
OF CALIFORNIA OFFICE OF THE CHIEF TRIAL COUNSEL
845 SOUTH FIGUEROA STREET, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017-2515 TELEPHONE: (213) 765-1000

www.calbar.ca.gov

DEAR MEMBER AND/OR COUNSEL:

1. Resignation Form. The attached form for resignation with charges pending contains the language
required by rule 9.21(b), California Rules of Court. See rule 5.420, Rules of Procedure of the State Bar,
for a definition of when charges are pending. To resign with charges pending, the resignation may
be submitted to the State Bar Court at 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017-2515
(tel.: 213-765-1400), or the resignation may be delivered to the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel which

will transmit it to the State Bar Court.

2. Acceptance of Resignations by Supreme Court upon Recommendation by State Bar Court;
Authorization for Public Disclosure of Information. The Supreme Court does not automatically
accept resignations, but bases its decision upon the recommendation of the State Bar Court. The
Supreme Court will normally reject resignation unless the resigning member reaches an agreement with
the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel on a written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law
regarding the disciplinary matters and proceedings pending against the member at the time of the
resignation. In deciding whether to recommend that a resignation be accepted, the State Bar Court
considers all pending charges, proceedings and investigations involving the member. The Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel therefore requests that resigning members execute the attached authorization for
public disclosure of information concerning pendmg complaints, investigations and proceedings not
otherwise public. In'the absence of such a waiver, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel will oppose the

acceptance of the resignation.

3. Rule 9.20 Compliance. Resigning members must comply with rule 9.20, California Rules of Court,
and submit a declaration of compliance to the State Bar Court (rule 9.21(a), Cal Rule of Ct.). Attached
is the rule 9.20 Compliance Declaration form approved by the State Bar Court Executive Committee.
The rule 9.20 Compliance Declaration must be accompanied by proof of service on the Office of
Probation at the State Bar of California, 845 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017. (See
rule 5.332, Rules Proc. State Bar). Failure to comply with Rule 9.20 is one ground for rejection of a

resignation by the Supreme Court.

4. Applicable Statute and Rules. Included are applicable provisions of the California Rules of Court,
the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California and the State Bar Act, specifically, the provisions
applicable to costs (rules 5.129-5.134, Rules Proc. State Bar), resignation with disciplinary charges
pending (rules 9.20-9.21, Cal. Rules of Court; rules 5.420-5.427, Rules Proc. State Bar), reinstatement
(rule 5.440-5.446, rules Proc. State Bar), membership in the State Bar (Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 6002-
6005), and unlawful practice of law (Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 6125-6127), and cessation of law practice

(Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 6180-6185).
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STATE BAR COURT
Counsel for Respondent For Court’s Use Only:
In the Matter of- Case Number:

Applicant for Resignation With Charges Pending RESIGNATION WITH CHARGES PENDING

I , against whom charges are pending, hereby

resign as a member of the State Bar of California and relinquish all right to practice law in the
State of California. I agree that, in the event this resignation is accepted and I later file a petition
for reinstatement, the State Bar will consider in connection therewith all disciplinary matters and
proceedings against me at the time this resignation is accepted, in addition to other appropriate
matters. I also agree that the Supreme Court may decline to accept my resignation unless I reach
agreement with the Chief Trial Counsel on a written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of
law regarding the disciplinary matter and proceedings that were pending against me at the time
of my resignation. I further agree that, on the filing of this resignation by the Office of the Clerk,
State Bar Court, I will be transferred to inactive membership of the State Bar. On such transfer, I
acknowledge that I will be ineligible to practice law or to advertise or hold myself out as
practicing or as entitled to practice law. I further agree that within 30 days of the filing of this
resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I shall perform the acts specified in rule
9.20(a)-(b) of the California Rules of Court; and within 40 days of the date of filing of this
resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I will notify that Office as specified in
Rule 9.20(c) of the California Rules of Court.

Dated: Signature:
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STATE BAR COURT
ounsel for Respondent For Court's Use Only:
In the Matter of: Case Number:

AUTHORIZATION FOR PUBLIC DISCLOSURE
CONCERNING PENDING COMPLAINTS,

Applicant for Resignation With Charges Pending  INVESTIGATIONS AND PROCEEDINGS

I , who has submitted a resignation with disciplinary

charges pending have been advised of the following:

1. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel (OCTC) must submit a report to the Review
Department of the State Bar Court containing a recommendation as to whether my
resignation should be accepted (rule 5.427(C), Rules of Procedure of the State Bar).

2. As part of the report, OCTC must either (1) submit a stipulation as to facts and
conclusions of law regarding “...any disciplinary complaints, investigations or

proceedings that are pending...” against me or (2) report the fact that the parties have
been unable to enter a stipulation and the reasons therefore (rule 5.427(B)&(C), Rules of

Procedure of the State Bar).

3. At the time my resignation is considered, certain of the complaints, investigations or
proceedings may not be a matter of public record.

I hereby authorize OCTC—in any report, supplemental report or stipulation that it files
with the State Bar Court in connection with its consideration of my resignation—to disclose all
information concerning complaints, investigations and proceedings that are now pending against
me or may become pending against me in the future. This authorization shall be valid regardless
of whether OCTC or the State Bar Court recommends that my resignation be accepted. I agree
that OCTC’s entire report and any stipulation filed with the State Bar Court shall become a
matter of public record. This authorization does not waive or limit my right to file a response to

OCTC’s report (see rule 5.427(D) Rules of Procedure of the State Bar).

Dated: Signature:
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DIALE BAK LUUKIL _
Counsel for Respondent ‘ .Jumber(s). F o:‘ _'s Use Only:
In the Matter of
Member of the State Bar of RULE 9.20
California COMPLIANCE DECLARATION
L , State Bar member number _, have been ordered to comply with the

provisions of subdivisions (a) and (c) of rule 9.20, California Rules of Court, as part of a suspension ordered by the State Bar Court or
Supreme Court, or an order of disbarment or an order accepting my resignation by the Supreme Court.

[Answer each question by checking one box per question. If neither option is correct, attach a declaration under penalty of perjury
explaining your situation.]

Within 30 days of the effective date of the order of suspension/disbarment/acceptance of resignation (“effective date™): (See rule
918(a), California Rules of Court):

1. O Inotified all clients and co-counsel, in matters that were pending on the date upon which the order to comply with rule 9.20
was filed by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, of my consequent disqualification to act as an attorney after
the effective date of the order of suspension/disbarment, and in those cases where I had no co-counsel, I urged the clients to
seek legal advice elsewhere, calling attention to any urgency in seeking another attorney.

As of the date upon which the order to comply with rule 9.20 was filed, I had no clients.

2. O Idelivered to all clients any papers or other property to which the clients were entitled, or notified clients and co-counsel, if
any, of a suitable time and place where the papers or other property could be obtained, and called attention to any urgency for

obtaining the papers or other property.

O  As of the date upon which the order to comply with rule 9.20 was filed, I had no papers or other property to which clients
were entitled.

3. O Irefunded fees paid, any part of which had not been earned.
As of the date upon which the order to comply with rule 9.20 was filed, I had earned all fees paid to me.

4. O Inotified all opposing counsel or adverse parties not represented by counsel in matters that were pending on the date upon
which the order to comply with rule 9.20 was filed by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, of my
disqualification to act as an attorney after the effective date of my suspension, disbarment, or the Supreme Court's acceptance
of my resignation, and filed a copy of my notice to opposing counsel/adverse parties with the court, agency or tribunal before

which litigation was pending for inclusion in its files.

As of the date upon which the order to comply with rule 9.20, I did not represent any clients in pending matters.

5. O In the future, communications may be directed to me at the following address:

[If this is not your current State Bar membership address, this declaration will change your membership address.
See Bus. & Prof. Code §6002.1(b)]

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed at
, California, on ,

Wilful failure fo comply with the provisions of rule 9.20 may
result in revocation of probation; suspension; disbarment; (Signature)
denial of reinstatement; or, contempt or conviction.

(Print Name)

File this declaration at the State Bar Court, 845 South Figueroa Street, 3" Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2515.
(Approved by the State Bar Court Executive Committee 6/07/01; Revised 12/13/06)
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In effect January 1, 2010 ‘ } ‘

CALIFORNIA RULES OF COURT

Rule 9.20. Duties of disbarred, resigned, or suspended attorneys
(a) Disbarment, suspension, and resignation orders

The Supreme Court may include in an order disbarring or suspending a member of the State
Bar, or accepting his or her resignation, a direction that the member must, within such time
limits as the Supreme Court may prescribe:

(1) Notify all clients being represented in pending matters and any co-counsel of his or her
disbarment, suspension, or resignation and his or her consequent disqualification to act as
an attorney after the effective date of the disbarment, suspension, or resignation, and, in
the absence of co-counsel, also notify the clients to seek legal advice elsewhere, calling
attention to any urgency in seeking the substitution of another attorney or attorneys;

(2) Deliver to all clients being represented in pending matters any papers or other property to
which the clients are entitled, or notify the clients and any co-counsel of a suitable time
and place where the papers and other property may be obtained, calling attention to any
urgency for obtaining the papers or other property;

(3) Refund any part of fees paid that have not been earned; and

(4) Notify opposing counsel in pending litigation or, in the absence of counsel, the adverse
parties of the disbarment, suspension, or resignation and consequent disqualification to
act as an attorney after the effective date of the disbarment, suspension, or resignation,
and file a copy of the notice with the court, agency, or tribunal before which the litigation
is pending for inclusion in the respective file or files.

(b) Notices to clients, co-counsel, opposing counsel, and adverse parties

All notices required by an order of the Supreme Court or the State Bar Court under th%s rule
must be given by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, and must coptam an
address where communications may be directed to the disbarred, suspended, or resigned
member.

(¢) Filing proof of compliance

Within such time as the order may prescribe after the effective date of the member's
disbarment, suspension, or resignation, the member must file with the Clerk of the State Bar
Court an affidavit showing that he or she has fully complied with those provisions of the
order entered under this rule. The affidavit must also specify an address where
communications may be directed to the disbarred, suspended, or resigned member.
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In effect January 1. 2010 i) . J
(d) Sanctions for failu&o comply

A disbarred or resigned member's willful failure to comply with the provisions of this rule is
a ground for denying his or her application for reinstatement or readmission. A suspended
member's willful failure to comply with the provisions of this rule is a cause for disbarment
or suspension and for revocation of any pending probation. Additionally, such failure may be
punished as a contempt or a crime.

Rule 9.21. Resignations of members of the State Bar with disciplinary charges pending

(a) General provisions

A member of the State Bar against whom disciplinary charges are pending may tender a
written resignation from membership in the State Bar and relinquishment of the right to
practice law. The written resignation must be signed and dated by the member at the time it is
tendered and must be tendered to the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, 845 South
Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017. The resignation must be substantially in the
form specified in (b) of this rule. In submitting a resignation under this rule, a member of the
State Bar agrees to be transferred to inactive membership in the State Bar effective on the
filing of the resignation by the State Bar. Within 30 days after filing of the resignation, the
member must perform the acts specified in rule 9.20(a)(1)-(4) and (b) and within 40 days
after filing of the resignation, the member must file with the Office of the Clerk, State Bar
Court, at the above address, the proof of compliance specified in rule 9.20(c). No resignation
is effective unless and until it is accepted by the Supreme Court after consideration and
recommendation by the State Bar Court.

(b) Form of resignation
The member's written resignation must be in substantially the following form:

"I, [name of member], against whom charges are pending, hereby resign as a member of the
State Bar of California and relinquish all right to practice law in the State of California. I
agree that, in the event that this resignation is accepted and I later file a petition for
reinstatement, the State Bar will consider in connection therewith all disciplinary matters and
proceedings against me at the time this resignation is accepted, in addition to other
appropriate matters, I also agree that the Supreme Court may decline to accept my
resignation unless I reach agreement with the Chief Trial Counsel on a written stipulation as
to facts and conclusions of law regarding the disciplinary matters and proceedings that were
pending against me at the time of my resignation. I further agree that, on the filing of this
resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I will be transferred to inactive
membership of the State Bar. On such transfer, I acknowledge that I will be ineligible to
practice law or to advertise or hold myself out as practicing or as entitled to practice law. I
further agree that, within 30 days of the filing of the resignation by the Office of the Clerk,
State Bar Court, I will perform the acts specified in rule 9.20(a)-(b) of the California Rules of
Court, and within 40 days of the date of filing of this resignation by the Office of the Clerk,
State Bar Court, I will notify that office as specified in rule 9.20(c) of the California Rules of

Court."
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In effect January 1. 2010
(c¢) Consideration of regnation by State Bar Court and Suprge Court

When the Office of the Clerk of the State Bar Court receives a member's resignation tendered
in conformity with this rule, it must promptly file the resignation. The State Bar Court must
thereafter consider the member's resignation and the stipulated facts and conclusions of law,
if any, agreed upon between the member and the Chief Trial Counsel, and must recommend
to the Supreme Court whether the resignation should be accepted. The State Bars Court's
recommendation must be made in light of the grounds set forth in subsection (d) of this rule
and, if the State Bar Court recommends acceptance of the resignation notwithstanding the
existence of one or more of the grounds set forth in subsection (d), the State Bar Court's
recommendation must include an explanation of the reasons for the recommendation that the
resignation be accepted. The Office of the Clerk of the State Bar Court must transmit to the
Clerk of the Supreme Court, three certified copies of the State Bar Court's recommendation
together with the member's resignation, when, by the terms of the State Bar Court's
recommendation, the resignation should be transmitted to the Supreme Court.

(d) Grounds for rejection of resignation by the Supreme Court

The Supreme Court will make such orders concerning the member's resignation as it deems
appropriate. The Supreme Court may decline to accept the resignation based on a report by
the State Bar Court that:

(1) Preservation of necessary testimony is not complete;

(2) After transfer to inactive status, the member has practiced law or has advertised or held
himself or herself out as entitled to practice law;

(3) The member has failed to perform the acts specified by rule 9.20(a)-(b);
(4) The member has failed to provide proof of compliance as specified in rule 9.20(c);
(5) The Supreme Court has filed an order of disbarment as to the member;

(6) The State Bar Court has filed a decision or opinion recommending the member's
disbarment;

(7) The member has previously resigned or has been disbarred and reinstated to the practice
of law;

(8) The member and the Chief Trial Counsel have not reached agreement on a written
stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding the disciplinax.'y matters and
proceedings that were pending against the member at the time the resignation was

tendered; or

(9) Acceptance of the resignation of the member will reasonably be inconsistent with the
need to protect the public, the courts, or the legal profession
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New Rules Effective J. *ary 1,2011: .

Rule 5.129 Certification and Assessment of Costs

(A) Payment of Proceeding’s Costs. Under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10, a member
who receives a public reproval or greater level of discipline must pay the costs of the
disciplinary proceeding based upon cost certificates submitted by the Office of the Chief
Trial Counsel or the Office of Probation and of the State Bar Court.

(B) Cost Certificates Submitted with Record. If the record of the State Bar proceedings sent to
the Supreme Court contains a recommendation of suspension, disbarment, or acceptance of a
member’s resignation with disciplinary charges pending, the cost certificates of the Office of
the Chief Trial Counsel or the Office of Probation and of the State Bar Court must
accompany it.

(C) Culpability and Award of Costs. If the Court finds a member culpable in a matter, it will
award costs to the State Bar. A member is found culpable in a matter if the State Bar Court
decides that the member violated at least one rule or statute at issue in that matter.

(D) “Matter” Defined. —Matter|| includes:

(1) a separate investigation opened by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel against a
member;

(2) a probation revocation proceeding begun by the Office of Probation; or
(3) a conviction proceeding.

(E) Resignation with Charges Pending. If a member resigns from the practice of law while
disciplinary charges are pending against the member, the Court will recommend that the
State Bar recover the costs of: (1) processing the member’s resignation; (2) the underlying
pending disciplinary proceeding; and (3) any pending investigations that were complete
when the State Bar received the member’s resignation.

(F) Payment in Annual Installments. If the Court’s order imposing costs allows a meml?er to pay
in annual installments, the order must designate the amount of each installment, which will

be added to and become a part of the member’s annual membership fees.

(G) State Bar Court’s Authority. This rule does not limit the State Bar Court’s authority to grant
relief from costs under rule 5.130 and Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(c).

Rule 5.130 Order Assessing Costs Against Disciplined or Resigning Respondent

(A) Challenges to Costs. Under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(b), a member may
challenge the propriety of including items in the certificate of costs or the calculation of
properly included costs. But the member may not challenge the State Bar’s determination of
—reasonable costs|| under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(b)(3).
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(B) Motion for Relief fr& Complying or Extension of Time to ("xply. If costs have been
assessed against a member under rule 5.129, the member may move for relief, in whole or in
part, from the order assessing costs, for an extension of time to pay costs, or for the
compromise of a judgment obtained under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(a) on
grounds of hardship, special circumstances, or other good cause. The motion must be served
on the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel under rule 5.26. If the motion is based, in whole or
in part, on financial hardship, it must be filed as soon as practicable after the circumstances
giving rise to the financial hardship become known and be accompanied by the member’s
completed financial statement in the form prescribed by the Court. Otherwise, the motion
may be filed within 30 days after the effective date of a public reproval by the State Bar
Court or the filing of a Supreme Court order assessing costs. The motion must include the
date the costs were originally ordered to be paid.

(C) Response to Motion. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel may file and serve a response to
the motion within 20 days after the motion is served.

(D) Hearing. No hearing on the motion is required. A hearing will be held only if the Court, in its
discretion, determines that it will materially contribute to the consideration of the motion.

(E) Review. An order of the Court on the motion is reviewable only under rule 5.150 and on
grounds of error of law or abuse of discretion.

Rule 5.131 Award of Costs to Respondent Exonerated of All Charges After Trial

(A) Motion for Costs. If a member in a disciplinary proceeding is exonerated of all charges, the
member may move for reimbursement of costs under Business and Professions Code §
6086.10(d). Exoneration may occur following trial in the Hearing Department, or, after
review, by decision of the Review Department or by decision or order of the Supreme Court.

(B) Reasonable Expenses. Under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(&), only the
following items are reasonable hearing preparation expenses:

(1) taking, videotaping, and transcribing necessary depositions — including an original and
one copy of depositions taken by the member and one copy of depositions taken by the
State Bar ~ and travel expenses to attend depositions;

(2) service of process by a public officer, registered process server, or other means under
Code of Civil Procedure § 1033.5(a)(4);

(3) ordinary witness fees — but not expert witness fees — under Government Code § 68093;

(4) models and blowups of exhibits and photocopies of exhibits (if, in the Court’s
discretion, they were reasonably helpful to the Court as the trier of fact);

(4) transcripts of Court proceedings ordered by the Court;

(5) copies of the State Bar Court Clerk’s audiotape recordings of the proceeding in which
the hearing is held;

00134

Office of the Chief Trial Conngel/ Tannarv 2010




AN T LANT NSh A ANNINVAJANIANAL s AL LARA W ALND Y WLDLOYMAN

In effect January 1, 2010 ] b

(6) investigation expenses incurred to prepare the case for heglg after filing the notice of
disciplinary charges (if, in the Court’s discretion, the expenses were reasonably

necessary);

(7) computerized legal research (if, in the Court’s discretion, the research was reasonably
required by the issues involved in the hearing and other less expensive means of research
were not reasonably available); and

(8) photocopying (except exhibits), postage, and telephone and fax transmission charges
(capped at $150 for the entire proceeding).

(C) Expenses of Seeking Reimbursement. An exonerated member cannot recover costs incurred
in seeking reimbursement.

(D) “Exoneration” Defined. Under Business and Professions Code § 6086.10(d) —exonerated of
all charges|| means the Court found the member not culpable of the charged misconduct and
dismissed the entire proceeding with prejudice. A member is not —exonerated of all
charges|| if the Court imposes an admonition.

(E) Time to File Motion and Response. A motion for reimbursement of costs must be filed
within 30 days after service of the final ruling exonerating the member of all charges after all
proceedings in the matter end, including any Supreme Court review. Appropriate
documentation of the costs for which reimbursement is requested must accompany the
motion. A response may be filed within 20 days after it is served.

(F) Hearing. The motion will be decided by the hearing judge who was assigned to the
underlying proceeding. If there is no such judge or that judge is unavailable or disqualified,
the motion will be assigned to another hearing judge. A hearing will be held only if the
Court, in its discretion, determines that it will materially contribute to the consideration of the

motion.

(G) Decision. The judge will decide the motion by written order, and may grant or deny the
motion, in whole or in part. The judge will determine the reasonable expenses to be

reimbursed.

(H) Review. A party may file a petition for review under rule 5.150 within 15 days after the
order on the motion is served.

Rule 5.132 Stipulating to Relief from Payment of Costs or Extension of Time to Pay Costs

By written stipulation approved by the Court, the Chief Trial Counsel may relieve the member,
in whole or in part, from the obligation to pay the costs of disciplinary proceedings, or, with the
approval of the Court, may agree to extend the time to pay these costs on grounds of hardship,
special circumstances, or other good cause.
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Rule 5.133 Approval greements to Compromise Judgmen l for Client Security Fund
Payments and Assessments

(A) Application to Compromise Judgment. If judgment has been entered under California Rules
of Court, rule 9.23 and Business and Professions Code § 6140.5 against a member, that
member and the State Bar may agree to compromise that judgment. The member must apply
to the State Bar Court for approval of the proposed agreement. The application and any
supporting documents must be served on the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel under rule

5.25.

(B) Response to Application. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel may file and serve a
response to the application within 20 days after the application is served.

(C) Hearing. No hearing on the application is required. A hearing will be held only if the Court,
in the exercise of its discretion, determines that it will materially contribute to the
consideration of the application.

(D) Review. An order of the Court on the application under this rule is reviewable only under
rule 5.150 and on grounds of error of law or abuse of discretion.

Rule 5.134 Effect of Default on Installment Payments

In any disciplinary recommendation or order providing for installment payments of discipline
costs or restitution, the Court must recommend or order that if the member fails to timely make
any installment payment, the unpaid balance is due and payable immediately unless relief is
granted under these rules.

Chapter 2. Resignation Proceedings
Rule 5.420 Resignation with Charges Pending

California Rules of Court, rule 9.21, governs resignations with charges pending. A resignation
must be in the form required by rule 9.21(b). Charges are pending when the member is the
subject of an investigation by the Office of Investigations or a disciplinary proceeding under
these rules, or when the member is the subject of a criminal charge or investigation, or has been
convicted of a felony or misdemeanor.

Rule 5.421 Perpetuation of Evidence

When a resignation is filed with the State Bar Court, the Office of the Chief Trial Couns<?1 may
perpetuate testimony and documentary evidence about the member’s conduct that is pertinent to
any future inquiry into the member’s conduct or qualification to practice law.

Rule 5.422 Notice of Intent to Perpetuate Evidence

Within 30 days after the member’s resignation with charges pending is filed, the Office qf the
Chief Trial Counsel may file and serve a notice of intent to perpetuate evidence. The notice must
contain an estimate of the time required to complete perpetuation.
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Rule 5.423 Perpetuatioﬂrocedure .

(A) Beginning. After filing a notice of intent to perpetuate, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel
may begin perpetuating the evidence.

(B) Perpetuation Process. Evidence is perpetuated by obtaining depositions or stipulations as to
facts. The member may not take any witness’s deposition except by order of the Court for
good cause shown. Good cause is established when a witness is a person whose testimony
should be taken in the interest of justice and when such action is consistent with the limited

purpose of perpetuation.

(C) Motions; Status Reports. When a motion arising in the course of perpetuation is filed, a
hearing judge will be assigned to rule on the motion. In addition to ruling on the motion, the
hearing judge may set status conferences or require status reports to monitor the progress of
the perpetuation.

Rule 5.424 Report of Completion

When perpetuation is complete, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel must file and serve on the
member a notice that perpetuation is complete. On request and at the member’s expense, the
member may obtain a copy of the evidence perpetuated from the Office of the Chief Trial

Counsel.

Rule 5.425 Use of Perpetuated Evidence

Subject to rule 5.104, the evidence perpetuated may be admitted in evidence in any future
proceeding pertaining to the member’s conduct or qualifications to practice law. But the Office
of the Chief Trial Counsel may introduce deposition testimony as permitted under Code of Civil
Procedure § 2025.620(c) without showing that any enumerated factor is present.

Rule 5.426 Inapplicable Rules

The following rules do not apply in proceedings on resignations with charges pending and
perpetuation of evidence:

(A) General. Rules that by their terms apply only to disciplinary proceedings or to other specific
proceedings, and

(B) Specific. Rule 5.25 (service of initial pleadings); rule 5.42 (motions which extend time to file
response); rules 5.50-5.52 (abatement); rules 5.80-5.100 (default; obligation to appear at
trial); rules 5.101-5.114 (pretrial, trial, evidence, decision, post-trial motions); rules 5.120-
5.127 (dispositions); and rules 5.151-5.157 (review).

Rule 5.427 Procedure for Consideration and Transmittal of Resignations with Disciplinary
Charges Pending

(A) Filing and Serving Resignation. The written resignation of a member against whom -
disciplinary charges are pending must be submitted to the Clerk of the State Bar Court in Los
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Angeles. The Clerlm file the resignation if it is dated, beargle member’s signature, and is
in the form required by California Rules of Court, rule 9.21(b). When the resignation is filed,
the Clerk will serve a copy on the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel.

(B) Stipulation regarding Pending Investigations, Complaints or Proceedings. Within 60 days
from the date the resignation is filed, the member and the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel
must enter into a written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding any
disciplinary complaints, investigations or proceedings that are pending against the member at
the time his or her resignation was filed. If the member and the Office of the Chief Trial
Counsel have not entered into such stipulation, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel must
report that fact and the reasons therefore to the Review Department in its report under

subsection (C).

(C) Report by the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel. Within 60 days from the date the resignation
is filed, the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel must file with the Review Department and
serve upon the member pursuant to rule 5.25, a report setting forth the extent, if any, to
which any of the factors enumerated in rule 9.21(d) of the California Rules of Court are
present and whether, in light of the application of those factors, the member’s resignation

should be accepted.

(D) Response to Report. Within 30 days of service of the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s
report, the member may file a response with the Review Department and must serve it on the
Office of the Chief Trial Counsel.

(E) Decision or Order. Within 30 days of the filing of the member’s response to the Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel’s report or the expiration of the period for filing such response,
whichever occurs first, the Review Department will file an order or decision pursuant to rule
9.21(c) of the California Rules of Court recommending, in light of the factors enumerated in
rule 9.21(d), whether the member’s resignation should be accepted by the Supreme Court and
the reasons for the Review Department’s recommendation.

(F) Transmittal of Resignation. Within 15 days of the filing of the Review Department’s order
regarding the member’s resignation, the Clerk of the State Bar Court shall transmit the

member’s resignation to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, together with the Revi.ew
Department’s order or decision regarding acceptance or rejection of the resignation.

Chapter 3. Reinstatement Proceedings

Rule 5.440 Beginning Proceeding

(A) Applicability of Rules. These rules apply to proceedings for reinstatement to membership in
the State Bar after resignation with or without charges pending and after disbarment.

(B) Petition. The party seeking reinstatement begins the reinstatement proceeding by filing and
serving a petition for reinstatement and paying the required fee.
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Rule 5.441 Filing Requirements

(A) Filing Petition and Disclosure Statement. A petitioner must complete and verify a petition
and disclosure statement on the forms approved by the Court and in compliance with the
instructions therein. The original and three copies of the petition must be filed with the Clerk
of the State Bar Court. The disclosure statement is not filed with the Court but must be
served on the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel.

(B) Pre-Filing Requirements and Proof. Prior to filing the petition, the petitioner must satisfy the
following requirements and must attach proof of compliance to the petition:

(1) Fingerprints Submitted. Under Business and Professions Code § 6054, the petitioner
must have submitted fingerprints to the California Department of Justice via Live Scan
technology, or if the petitioner resides outside the state, two sets of original fingerprints
on record cards furnished by the State Bar must have been submitted to the Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel;

(2) Discipline Costs Paid and Client Security Fund Payments Reimbursed. Petitioner must
have paid all discipline costs imposed under § 6086.10(a) and reimbursed all payments
made by the Client Security Fund as a result of the petitioner’s conduct, plus applicable
interest and costs, under Business and Professions Code § 6140.5(c).

(3) Passage of the Attorneys’ Examination.

(a) Resigned with Charges Pending or Disbarred. Petitioners who resigned with charges
pending or who were disbarred must establish that they have taken and passed the
Attorneys’ Examination by the Committee of Bar Examiners within three years prior
to the filing of the petition for reinstatement.

(b) Resigned without Charges Pending. Petitioners who resigned without charges pending
more than five years before filing the petition for reinstatement must establish that
they have taken and passed the Attorneys’ Examination administered by the
Committee of Bar Examiners within five years prior to the filing of the application for
readmission or reinstatement.

(C) Filing Fee. The petition must include a filing fee of $1,600, which will be given. tf’ the Office
of the Chief Trial Counsel to defray incurred costs. The Clerk will reject the petition for
filing if the fee is not included.

(D) Service. The petition and disclosure statement must be served on the Office of the Chief
Trial Counsel under rule 5.25.

(E) Dismissal. Failure to comply with any of the requirements of this rule will be grounds to
dismiss the petition.
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Rule 5.442 Earliest Time for Filing Reinstatement Petition

PERL FY SN

(A) Filing after Resignation without Charges Pending. After resignation without charges
pending, a first or subsequent petition for reinstatement may be filed at any time.

(B) Filing after Resignation with Charges or Disbarment. Except as provided in the order of
disbarment, no petition for reinstatement will be filed within five years after the effective
date of the petitioner's disbarment, interim suspension following a disbarment
recommendation, or interim suspension following criminal conviction, or the filing date of
the petitioner's resignation with charges pending, whichever occurred earliest. No petitioner
who has been disbarred by the Supreme Court on two previous occasions may apply for
reinstatement. '

(©) Subsequent Petitions. If a petitioner received an adverse decision on a prior petition
following disbarment or resignation with charges pending, a subsequent petition cannot be
filed for two years after the effective date of the adverse decision, unless a shorter period is
ordered by the Court for good cause.

Rule 5.443 Investigation and Discovery

(A) Investigation. For 120 days after the petition is filed with the Court, the Office of the Chief
Trial Counsel will investigate the petition to determine whether to oppose it. For good cause,
the Court may extend the investigation period.

(B) Response to Petition. Within 20 days after the investigation period ends, the Office of the
Chief Trial Counsel will file and serve a response to the petition stating, for each issue set
forth in rule 5.445 (A) or (B), whether it opposes the petition. If it opposes the petition, the
Office of the Chief Trial Counsel will state in its response its grounds for opposition.

(C) Discovery. Except as set forth in subsection (D), after the investigation ends, discovery may
be conducted under rule 5.65. Requests for discovery must be made within 15 days after
service of the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel’s response.

(D) Petitioner’s Deposition. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel may take the petitioner’s
deposition. It must be held no later than 45 days after the date the response is due under
subsection (B). A petitioner for reinstatement who resides outside California must appear in
California at his or her own expense for his or her deposition, on 30 days’ written notice of
the time and place of the deposition.

Rule 5.444 Notice of Hearing; Publication

The Clerk will serve notice of the hearing on the parties. The Office of the Chief Trial Counsel
may publish the fact that a petition for reinstatement has been filed with the State Bar Court, the
petitioner’s identity, and other relevant information identifying the proceeding.
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Rule 5.445 Burden of of .

(A) Reinstatement after Resignation with Charges Pending or Disbarment. Petitioners for

reinstatement must:
(1) pass a professional responsibility examination within one year prior to filing the petition;

(2) establish their rehabilitation;

(3) establish present moral qualifications for reinstatement; and

(4) establish present ability and learning in the general law by providing proof that they have
taken and passed the Attorneys’ Examination by the Committee of Bar Examiners within

three years prior to the filing of the petition.

(B) Reinstatement after Resignation without Charges Pending. Petitioners for reinstatement
must:

(1) pass a professional responsibility examination within one year prior to filing the petition;
(2) establish their present moral qualifications for reinstatement; and

(3) establish present ability and learning in the general law. If the petitioner resigned without
charges pending more than five years before filing the petition, the petitioner must
establish present ability and learning in the general law by providing proof that he or she
has taken and passed the Attorneys’ Examination administered by the Committee of Bar
Examiners within five years prior to the filing of the petition.

Rule 5.446 Inapplicable Rules.
The following rules do not apply in a reinstatement proceeding:

(A) General. Rules that by their terms apply only to disciplinary proceedings or to other specific
proceedings, and

(B) Specific. Rules 5.80-5.100 (default; obligation to appear at trial) and rules 5.105-5.108
(admission of certain evidence).
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CALIFORNIA BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE
PROVISIONS OF THE STATE BAR ACT

§6002. Members
The members of the State Bar are all persons admitted and licensed to practice law in this State
except justices and judges of courts of record during their continuance in office.

§6002.1 Official Membership Records

(a) A member of the State Bar shall maintain all of the following on the official membership
records of the State Bar: _

¢)) The member's current office address and telephone number or, if no office is
maintained, the address to be used for State Bar purposes or purposes of the
agency charged with attorney discipline.

(2) = All specialties in which the member is certified.

3) Any other jurisdictions in which the member is admitted and the dates of his or
her admission.

(4)  The jurisdiction, and the nature and date of any discipline imposed by another
jurisdiction, including the terms and conditions of any probation imposed, and, if
suspended or disbarred in another jurisdiction, the date of any reinstatement in
that jurisdiction.

(5)  Any other information as may be required by agreement with or by conditions of
probation imposed by the agency charged with attorney discipline.

A member shall notify the membership records office of the State Bar of any change in
the information required by paragraphs (1), (4), and (5) within 30 days of any change and
of the change in the information required by paragraphs (2) and (3) on or before the first
day of February of each year.

(b)  Every former member of the State Bar who has been ordered by the Supreme Court to
comply with Rule 9.20 of the California Rules of Court shall maintain on the official
records of the State Bar the former member's current address and within 10 days after any
change therein, shall file a change of address with a membership records office of the
State Bar until such time as the former member is no longer subject to the order.

(¢)  The notice initiating a proceeding conducted under this chapter may be served upon the
member or former member of the State Bar to whom it is directed by certified mail,
return receipt requested, addressed to the member or former member at the latest address
shown on the official membership records of the State Bar. The service is complete at the
time of the mailing but any prescribed period of notice and any right or duty to do any act
or make any response within any prescribed period or on a date certain after the notice is
served by mail shall be extended five days if the place of address is within the State of
California, 10 days if the place of address is outside the State of California but within the

00142

Office of the Chief Trial Canncel/ Tannary 2010




ASVIAIRLNL TS LRANLS LANL A AOANTLIND LI\ D L ALy

In effect January 1. 2010 )

United States, an®@ 20 days if the place of address is outsi8¢ the United States. A member
of the State Bar or former member may waive the requirements of this subdivision and
may, with the written consent of another member of the State Bar, designate that other
member to receive service of any notice or papers in any proceeding conducted under this

chapter.

VILAN AN L)

(d)  The State Bar shall not make available to the general public the information specified in
paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) unless that information is required to be made available
by a condition of probation. That information is, however, available to the State Bar, the
Supreme Court, or the agency charged with attorney discipline.

(e) The State Bar may develop a prescribed form for the making of reports required by this
section, usage of which it may require by rule or regulation.

§6003. Classes of Members

Members of the State Bar are divided into two classes:
(a) Active members.

(b) Inactive members.

§6004. Active Members

Every member of the State Bar is an active member until as in section 6007 of this code provided
or at his request, he is enrolled as an inactive member.

§6005. Inactive Members

Inactive members are those members who have requested that they be enrolled as inactive
members or who have been enrolled as inactive members by action of the board of governors as

in section 6007 of this code provided.
§612S. Necessity of Active Membership in State Bar

No person shall practice law in California unless the person is an active member of the State Bar.

§6126. Unauthorized Practice or Advertising as a Crime

(a)  Any person advertising or holding himself or herself out as practicing or entitled to
practice law or otherwise practicing law who is not an active member of the State Bar, or
otherwise authorized pursuant to statute or court rule to practice law in this state at the
time of doing so, is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in a county jail
or by a fine of up to one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and
imprisonment. Upon a second or subsequent conviction, the person shall be confined in a
county jail for not less than 90 days, except in an unusual case where the interests of
justice would be served by imposition of a lesser sentence or a fine. If the court imposes
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only a fine or a s&enee of less than 90 days for a secona’ subsequent conviction under
this subdivision, the court shall state the reasons for its sentencing choice on the record.

Any person who has been involuntarily enrolled as an inactive member of the State Bar,
or has been suspended from membership from the State Bar, or has been disbarred, or has
resigned from the State Bar with charges pending, and thereafter practices or attempts to
practice law, advertises or holds himself or herself out as practicing or otherwise entitled
to practice law, is guilty of a crime punishable by imprisonment in the state prison or a
county jail. However, any person who has been involuntarily enrolled as an inactive
member of the State Bar pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (e) of Section 6007 and
who knowingly thereafter practices or attempts to practice law, or advertises or holds
himself or herself out as practicing or otherwise entitled to practice law, is guilty of a
crime punishable by imprisonment in the state prison or a county jail.

The willful failure of a member of the State Bar, or one who has resigned or been
disbarred, to comply with an order of the Supreme Court to comply with Rule 9.20 of the
California Rules of Court, constitutes a crime punishable by imprisonment in the state
prison or a county jail.

The penalties provided in this section are cumulative to each other and to any other
remedies or penalties provided by law.

§6126.3 Authority of Courts; Assumption of Jurisdiction Over Practices of Persons Who
Advertise or Hold Themselves Out as Entitled to Practice Law but are Not Members of the
State Bar or Otherwise Authorized to Practice Law

(a)

(b)

©

In addition to any criminal penalties pursuant to Section 6126 or to any contempt
proceedings pursuant to Section 6127, the courts of the state shall have the jurisdiction
provided in this section when a person advertises or holds himself or herself out as
practicing or entitled to practice law, or otherwise practices law, without being an active
member of the State Bar or otherwise authorized pursuant to statute or court rule to
practice law in this state at the time of doing so.

The State Bar, or the superior court on its own motion, may make application to the
superior court for the county where the person described in subdivision (a) maintains or
more recently has maintained his or her principal office for the practice of law or where
he or she resides, for assumption by the court of jurisdiction over the practice to the
extent provided in this section. In any proceeding under this section, the State Bar shall
be permitted to intervene and to assume primary responsibility for conducting the action.

An application made pursuant to subdivision (b) shall be verified, and shall state facts
showing all of the following:

1) Probable cause to believe that the facts set forth in subdivision (a) of Section 6126
have occurred.

(2)  The interest of the applicant.
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(d)

©

3) Probaleuse to believe that the interests of a CIQ or of an interested person or
entity will be prejudiced if the proceeding is not maintained.

The application shall be set for hearing, and an order to show cause shall be issued
directing the person to show cause why the court should not assume jurisdiction over the
practice as provided in this section. A copy of the application and order to show cause
shall be served upon the person by personal delivery or, as an alternate method of service,
by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the person either at
the address at which he or she maintains, or more recently has maintained, his or her
principal office or at the address where he or she resides. Service is complete at the time
of mailing, but any prescribed period of notice and any right or duty to do any act or
make any response within that prescribed period or on a date certain after notice is served
by mail shall be extended five days if the place of address is within the State of
California, 10 days if the place of address is outside the State of California but within the
United States, and 20 days if the place of address is outside the United States. If the State
Bar is not the applicant, copies shall also be served upon the Office of the Chief Trial
Counsel of the State Bar in similar manner at the time of service on the person who is the
subject of the application. The court may prescribe additional or alternative methods of
service of the application and order to show cause, and may prescribe methods of
notifying and serving notices and process upon other persons and entities in cases not
specifically provided herein.

If the court finds that the facts set forth in subdivision (a) of Section 6126 have occurred
and that the interests of a client or an interested person or entity will be prejudiced if the
proceeding provided herein is not maintained, the court may make an order assuming
jurisdiction over the person's practice pursuant to this section. If the person to whom the
order to show cause is directed does not appear, the court may make its order upon the
verified application or upon such proof as it may require. Thereupon, the court shall
appoint one or more active members of the State Bar to act under its direction to mail a
notice of cessation of practice, pursuant to subdivision (g), and may order those
appointed attorneys to do one or more of the following:

) Examine the files and records of the practice and obtain information as to any
pending matters that may require attention.

(2)  Notify persons and entities who appear to be clients of the person of the
occurrence of the event or events stated in subdivision (a) of Section 6126, and
inform them that it may be in their best interest to obtain other legal counsel.

(3)  Apply for an extension of time pending employment of legal counsel by the
client.

) With the consent of the client, file notices, motions, and pleadings on behalf of
the client where jurisdictional time limits are involved and other legal counsel has

not yet been obtained.

(5)  Give notice to the depositor and appropriate persons and entities who may be
affected, other than clients, of the occurrence of the event or events.
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6) Arrange for the surrender or delivery of clients' papers or property.

(7)  Arrange for the appointment of a receiver, where applicable, to take possession
and control of any and all bank accounts relating to the affected person's practice.

(8) Do any other acts that the court may direct to carry out the purposes of this
section. The court shall have jurisdiction over the files and records and over the
practice of the affected person for the limited purposes of this section, and may
make all orders necessary or appropriate to exercise this jurisdiction. The court
shall provide a copy of any order issued pursuant to this section to the Office of
the Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar.

Anyone examining the files and records of the practice of the person described in
subdivision (a) shall observe any lawyer-client privilege under Sections 950 and 952 of
the Evidence Code and shall make disclosure only to the extent necessary to carry out the
purposes of this section. That disclosure shall be a disclosure that is reasonably necessary
for the accomplishment of the purpose for which the person described in subdivision (a)
was consulted. The appointment of a member of the State Bar pursuant to this section
shall not affect the lawyer-client privilege, which privilege shall apply to communications
by or to the appointed members to the same extent as it would have applied to
communications by or to the person described in subdivision (a).

The notice of cessation of law practice shall contain any information that may be required
by the court, including, but not limited to, the finding by the court that the facts set forth
in subdivision (a) of Section 6126 have occurred and that the court has assumed
jurisdiction of the practice. The notice shall be mailed to all clients, to opposing counsel,
to courts and agencies in which the person has pending matters with an identification of
the matter, to the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar, and to any other
person or entity having reason to be informed of the court's assumption of the practice.

Nothing in this section shall authorize the court or an attorney appointed by it pursuant to
this section to approve or disapprove of the employment of legal counsel, to fix terms of
legal employment, or to supervise or in any way undertake the conduct of the practice,
except to the limited extent provided by paragraphs (3) and (4) of subdivision (¢).

Unless court approval is first obtained, neither the attorney appointed pursuant to this
section, nor his or her corporation, nor any partner or associate of the attorney shall
accept employment as an attorney by any client of the affected person on any matter
pending at the time of the appointment. Action taken pursuant to paragraphs (3) and (4)
of subdivision (¢) shall not be deemed employment for purposes of this subdivision.

Upon a finding by the court that it is more likely than not that the application will be
granted and that delay in making the orders described in subdivision (€) will result in
substantial injury to clients or to others, the court, without notice or upon notice as it shall
prescribe, may make interim orders containing any provisions that the court deems
appropriate under the circumstances. Such an interim order shall be served in the manner
provided in subdivision (d) and, if the application and order to show cause have not yet
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been served, tthplication and order to show cause Qlll be served at the time of
- serving the interim order.

(k)  No person or entity shall incur any liability by reason of the institution or maintenance of
a proceeding brought under this section. No person or entity shall incur any liability for
an act done or omitted to be done pursuant to order of the court under this section. No
person or entity shall be liable for failure to apply for court jurisdiction under this section.
Nothing in this section shall affect any obligation otherwise existing between the affected
person and any other person or entity.

()] An order pursuant to this section is not appealable and shall not be stayed by petition for
a writ, except as ordered by the superior court or by the appellate court.

(m) A member of the State Bar appointed pursuant to this section shall serve without
compensation. However, the member may be paid reasonable compensation by the State
Bar in cases where the State Bar has determined that the member has devoted
extraordinary time and services that were necessary to the performance of the member's
duties under this article. All payments of compensation for time and services shall be at
the discretion of the State Bar. Any member shall be entitled to reimbursement from the
State Bar for necessary expenses incurred in the performance of the member's duties
under this article. Upon court approval of expenses or compensation for time and
services, the State Bar shall be entitled to reimbursement therefor from the person

described in subdivision (a) or his or her estate.
§6126.4. Authority of Courts to Assume Jurisdiction Extends to Immigration Consulatants

Section 6126.3 shall apply to a person acting in the capacity of an immigration Cfmsultant
pursuant to Chapter 19.5 (commencing with Section 22440) who advertises or holds himself or
herself out as practicing or entitled to practice law, or otherwise practices law.

§6126.5. Relief

(a) In addition to any remedies and penalties available in any enforcement action brought in
the name of the people of the State of California by the Attorney General, a district
attorney, or a city attorney, acting as a public prosecutor, the court shall award relief in
the enforcement action for any person who obtained services offered or provided in
violation of Section 6125 or 6126 or who purchased any goods, services, or real or
personal property in connection with services offered or provided in violation of Section
6125 or 6126 against the person who violated Section 6125 or 6126, or who sold goods,
services, or property in connection with that violation. The court shall consider the

following relief:
(1)  Actual damages.
(2)  Restitution of all amounts paid.

3) The amount of penalties and tax liabilities incurred in connection with the sale or
transfer of assets to pay for any goods, services, or property.
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(4)  Reasonable attorney's fees and costs expended to rectify errors made in the
unlawful practice of law.

(5)  Prejudgment interest at the legal rate from the date of loss to the date of judgment.

(6)  Appropriate equitable relief, including the rescission of sales made in connection
with a violation of law.

(b)  The relief awarded under paragraphs (1) to (6), inclusive, of subdivision (a) shall be
distributed to, or on behalf of, the person for whom it was awarded or, if it is
impracticable to do so, shall be distributed as may be directed by the court pursuant to its

equitable powers.

©) The court shall also award the Attorney General, district attorney, or city attorney
reasonable attorney's fees and costs and, in the court's discretion, exemplary damages as
provided in Section 3294 of the Civil Code.

(d This section shall not be construed to create, abrogate, or otherwise affect claims, rights,
or remedies, if any, that may be held by a person or entity other than those law

enforcement agencies described in subdivision (a). The remedies provided in this section
are cumulative to each other and to the remedies and penalties provided under other laws.

§6127. Contempt of Court

The following acts or omissions in respect to the practice of law are contempts of the authority of
the courts:

(a) Assuming to be an officer or attorney of a court and acting as such, without authority.

b) Advertising or holding oneself out as practicing or as entitled to practice law or otherwise
practicing law in any court, without being an active member of the State Bar.

Proceedings to adjudge a person in contempt of court under this section are to be taken in
accordance with the provisions of Title V of Part III of the Code of Civil Procedure.

§6180. Notice of Cessation; Jurisdiction of Courts

When an attorney engaged in law practice in this state dies, resigns, becomes an inactive member
of the State Bar, is disbarred, or is suspended from the active practice of law and is required by
the order of suspension to give notice of the suspension, notice of cessation of law practice shall
be given and the courts of this state shall have jurisdiction, as provided in this article.

§6180.1 Notice; Form and Contents; Persons Notified
The notice shall contain any information that may be required by any order of disbarment,

suspension, or of acceptance of the attorneys' resignation, by any rule of the S_uprt'am.e C.ogn,
Judicial Council, or the State Bar, and by any order of a court of the state having jurisdiction
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pursuant to this article or Article 12 (commencing with Section QO) of this chapter. It shall be
mailed to all persons who are then clients, to opposing counsel, to courts and agencies in which
the attorney then had pending matters with an identification of the matter, to any errors and
omissions insurer, to the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar and to any other
person or entity having reason to be informed of the death, change of status or discontinuance or
interruption of law practice. In the event of the death or incompetency of the attorney, the notice
shall be given by the personal representative or guardian or conservator of the attorney or, if
none, by the person having custody or control of the files and records of the attorney. In other
cases, the notice shall be given by the attorney or a person authorized by the attorney or by the
person having custody and control of the files and records.

§6180.2 Application for Assumption of Jurisdiction Over Law Practice; Venue

Notwithstanding the giving of notice pursuant to Section 6180.1, the superior court on its own
motion, or a client of the attorney, the State Bar, or an interested person or entity may make
application to the superior court for the county where the attorney maintains or more recently has
maintained his or her principal office for the practice of law or where he or she resides, for
assumption by the court of jurisdiction over the law practice to the extent provided in this article.
In any proceeding under this article, the State Bar shall be permitted to intervene and to assume
primary responsibility for conducting the action.

§6180.3 Contents and Verification of Application

The application shall be verified, and shall state facts supporting the occurrence of one or more
of the events stated in section 6180 and either of the following:

€)] Belief that supervision of the court is warranted because the attorney has left an
unfinished client matter for which no other active member of the State Bar has, with the
consent of the client, agreed to assume responsibility.

(b)  Belief that the interests of one or more clients of the attorney or of one or more other
interested persons or entities will be prejudiced if the proceeding herein provided is not

maintained.
§6180.4 Hearing on Application; Issuance of Order to Show Cause; Service

The application shall be set for hearing and an order to show cause shall be issued, directing the
attorney, or his or her personal representative, or, if none, the person having custody and control
of the files and records, to show cause why the court should not assume jurisdiction over the law
practice as provided in the article. A copy of the application and order to show cause shall be
served upon the person to whom it is directed by personal delivery or, as an alternate method of
service, by certified or registered mail, return receipt requested, addressed to the attorney at the
latest address shown on the official membership records of the State Bar or to the personal
representative at the latest address shown in the probate proceeding. Service is complete at the
time of mailing, but any prescribed period of notice and any right or duty to do any act or make
any response within that prescribed period or on a date certain after notice is served by mail shall
be extended five days if the place of address is within the State of California, 10 days if the place
of address is outside the State of California but within the United States, and 20 days if the place
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of address is outside the United States. If the attorney has a gua?’an or conservator, copies shall
also be served upon such fiduciary in similar manner. If the State Bar is not the applicant, copies
shall also be served upon the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar in similar manner
at the time of service on the attorney. The court may prescribe additional or alternative methods
of service of the application and order to show cause, and may prescribe methods of notifying
and serving notices and process upon other persons and entities in cases not specifically provided

for herein.

§6180.5 Court Order Assuming Jurisdiction; Appointment and Duties of Attorneys

If the court finds that one or more of the events stated in Section 6180 has occurred, and that
supervision of the courts is warranted because the affected attorney has left an unfinished client
matter for which no other active member of the State Bar has with consent of the client agreed to
assume responsibility, or that the interest of one or more of the clients of the attorney or one or
more other interested persons or entities will be prejudiced if the proceeding herein provided is
not maintained, it may make an order assuming jurisdiction over the attorney's practice pursuant
to this article. If the person to whom the order to show cause is directed does not appear the court
may make its order upon the verified application or such proof as it may require. Thereupon the
court shall appoint one or more active members of the State Bar to act under its direction to mail
a notice of cessation of law practice pursuant to Section 6180.1 and may order such appointed
attorneys to do one or more of the following;:

(a) Examine the files and records of the law practice, and obtain information as to any
pending matters which may require attention.

(b) Notify persons and entities who appear to be clients of the attorney of the occurrence of
the event or events stated in Section 6180 and inform them that it may be to their best

interest to obtain other legal counsel.
(c) Apply for an extension of time pending employment of such other counsel by the client.

(d) With the consent of the client, file notices, motions and pleadings on behalf of the client
where jurisdictional time limits are involved and other legal counsel has not yet been

obtained.

(e) Give notice to the depositor and appropriate persons and entities who may be affected,
other than clients, of the occurrence of such event or events.

® Arrange for the surrender or delivery of clients' papers or property.

(g)  Arrange for the appointment of a receiver, where applicable, to take poss.ession and
control of any and all bank accounts relating to the affected attorney's practice of law,
including the general or office account and the clients' trust account.

(h)  (h) Do such other acts as the court may direct to carry out the purposes of this article.

The court shall have jurisdiction over the files and records and law practice of the affected
attorney for the limited purposes of this section, and may make all orders necessary or
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appropriate to exercise?is jurisdiction. The court shall provi!e a copy of any order issued
pursuant to this article to the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar

§6180.6 Limitation on Conduct of Supervised Law Practice

Nothing in this article shall authorize the court or an attorney appointed by it pursuant to this
article to approve or disapprove of the employment of legal counsel, fix terms of legal
employment, fix the compensation which may have been earned by the affected attorney, or
supervise or in any way to undertake to conduct the law practice except to the limited extent
provided by subdivisions (c) and (d) of Section 6180.5.

§6180.7 Employment of Appointed Attorney or Associates by Client of Affected Attorney

Unless court approval is first obtained, neither the attorney appointed pursuant to this article nor
his corporation nor any partners or associates of the attorney shall accept employment as an
attorney by any client of the affected attorney on any matter pending at the time of the
appointment. Action taken pursuant to subdivisions (c) and (d) of Section 6180.5 shall not be
deemed such employment.

§6180.8 Interim Orders; Service

Upon a finding by the court that it is more likely than not that the application will be granted and
that delay in making the orders described in section 6180.5 will result in substantial injury to
clients, or to others, the court, without notice or upon such notice as it shall prescribe, may make
interim orders containing such provisions as the court deems appropriate under the
circumstances. Such order shall be served in the manner provided in section 6180.4, and if the
application and order to show cause have not yet been served, they shall be served at the time of
serving the order made pursuant to this section.

§6180.9 Pending Proceedings in Probate, Guardianship, or Conservatorship; Subjection of
Legal Representative to Orders of Court

If there is a pending proceeding in probate, guardianship, or conservatorship relating to the
affected attorney, the court having jurisdiction pursuant to this article may inquire into acts done
by the legal representative of the attorney concerning the law practice. Upon reasonable notice to
the legal representative, the court may determine that the acts of the legal representative relating
to such law practice shall be subject to its orders pursuant to this article.

§6180.10 Application of Lawyer-Client Privilege to Appointed Attorney; Disclosures

Persons examining the files and records of the law practice of the affected attorney pursuant to
this article shall observe the lawyer-client privilege and shall make disclosure only to the extent
necessary to carry out the purposes of this article. Such disclosure is a disclosure which is
reasonably necessary for the accomplishment of the purpose for which the affected attorney was
consulted. The appointment of such member of the State Bar shall not affect the lawyer-client
privilege which privilege shall apply to communications by or to the appointed lawyers to the
same extent as it would have applied to communications by or to the affected attorney.
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§6180.11 Liabilities of Persons and Entities

No person or entity shall incur any liability by reason of the institution or maintenance of the
proceeding. No person shall incur any liability for any act done or omitted to be done pursuant to
order of the court under this article. No person or entity shall be liable for failure to apply for
court jurisdiction under this article. Nothing in this section shall affect any obligation otherwise
existing between the affected attorney and any other person or entity.

§6180.12 Appointed Attorneys; Compensation; Reimbursement for Necessary Expenses

A member of the State Bar appointed pursuant to section 6180.5 shall serve without
compensation. However, the member may be paid reasonable compensation by the State Bar in
cases where the State Bar has determined that the member has devoted extraordinary time and
services which were necessary to the performance of the member's duties under this article. All
payments of compensation for time and services shall be at the discretion of the State Bar. Any
member shall be entitled to reimbursement from the State Bar for necessary expenses incurred in
the performance of the member's duties under this article. Upon court approval of expenses or
compensation for time and services, the State Bar shall be entitled to reimbursement therefor
from the affected attorney or his or her estate.

§6180.13 Stay or Appeal of Order

An order made pursuant to this article is nonappealable, and shall not be stayed by petition for a
writ except as ordered by the superior court or the appellate court.

§6180.14 Attorney and Law Practice Defined

As used in this article, "attorney" means a member or former member of the State Bar; "law
practice” means (a) a law practice conducted by an individual; (b) a law practice conducted by a
partnership, if Section 6180 applies to all partners; and (c) a law practice conducted by a law
corporation, if Section 6180 applies to all shareholders of the corporation or if the corporation is
described in subdivision (b) of Section 13406 of the Corporations Code. This article does not
apply to legal services rendered as an employee, or under a contract which does not create the
relationship of lawyer and client.

§6185 Power of Practice Administrator to Control Practice of Deceased or Disabled
Member's Practice

(a) Upon appointment by the superior court pursuant to Section 2468, 9764, or paragraph
(22) or (23) of subdivision (b) of Section 17200 of the Probate Code, a practice
administrator, who is an active member of the State Bar, may be granted, by order of the
court appointing this person, one or more of the following powers to take control of the
practice of a deceased or disabled member of the State Bar of California:

€y Take control of all operating and client trust accounts, business assets, equipment,
client directories, and premises that were used in the conduct of the deceased or

disabled member's practice.
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2) Take control and review all client files of the decezsed or disabled member.

?3) Contact each client of the deceased or disabled member who can be reasonably
ascertained and located to inform the client of the condition of the member and of
the appointment of a practice administrator. The practice administrator may
discuss various options for the selection of successor counsel with the client.

(4)  In each case that is pending before any court or administrative body, notify the
appropriate court or administrative body and contact opposing counsel in the
cases under the control of the deceased or disabled member and obtain additional
time for new counsel to appear for the affected client.

(5)  Determine the liabilities of the practice and pay them for (sic-from) the assets of
the practice. If the assets of the practice are insufficient to pay these obligations or
for the expenses incurred by the practice administrator to carry out the powers
ordered pursuant to this section, the practice administrator shall apply to the
personal representative to obtain the additional funds that may be required. If the
personal representative and the practice administrator are unable to agree on the
amount that is necessary for the practice administrator to undertake the duties
ordered pursuant to this paragraph, either party may apply to the court having
jurisdiction over the estate of the deceased or disabled member for an order
requesting funds from the estate.

6) Employ any person, including but not limited to the employees of the deceased or
disabled member, who may be necessary to assist the practice administrator in the
management, winding up, and disposal of the practice.

(7)  Create a plan for disposition of the practice of the deceased or disabled member to
protect its value as an asset of the estate of the member. Subject to the approval of
the personal representative of the estate, agree to the sale of the practice and its

goodwill.

(8)  Subject to the approval of the personal representative of the estate, reach
agreements with successor counsel for division of fees for work in process on the

cases of the deceased or disabled member.

€)) Subject to the prohibitions against soliciting cases, the practice administrator may
act as successor counsel for a client of the deceased or disabled member.

(b) If the practice administrator is uncertain as to how to proceed with the powers gr.an'Fed
pursuant to this section, he or she may apply to the Superior Court that has jurisdiction
over the estate of the deceased or disabled member for instructions.
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From:
To:
Sent:
Subject:

Microsoft Outlook

'Caractacus@aol.com'

Tuesday, June 16, 2015 11:58 AM

Relayed: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation

Delivery to these recipients or groups is complete, but no delivery notification was sent by the destination server:

'Caractacus@aol.com' (Caractacus@aol.com) <mailto:Caractacus@aol.com>

Subject: RE: Non-Compliance with your probation
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