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Introduction’

In this original disciplinary proceeding, respondent Rae Diane Shirer (Respondent) is
charged with five counts of professional misconduct. In the first count, Respondent is charged
with violating her duty, under section 6068, subdivision (k), to comply with all the conditions of
the two-year disciplinary probation that the Supreme Court imposed on her in its May 18, 2016,
order in In re Rae Diane Shirer on Discipline, case number $233105 (State Bar Court case
number 15-0-11121) (Shirer II). In the rémaining four counts, Respondent is charged with
violating section 6106 (acts involving moral turpitude) by allegedly making false statements
under penalty of perjury in four probation reports.

The Office of Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar of California (OCTC,) has the burden

of establishing Respondent’s culpability on the foregoing five counts by clear and convincing

! Unless otherwise indicated, all references to rules are to the State Bar Rules of
Professional Conduct. Furthermore, all statutory references are to the Business and Professions

Code except where otherwise indicated.



evidence.” As set forth in detail below, the record clearly establishes that Respondent is culpable
only on two section 6068, subdivision (k) violations charged in count 1. The court dismisses the
remaining charges with prejudice for want of proof.

In light of Respondent’s misconduct, the aggravating and mitigating circumstances; the
Standards for Attorney Sanctions for Professional Misconduct;® and relevant case law, the court
recommends that Respondent be placed on two years’ stayed suspension and three years’
probation on conditions, including a one-year period of actual suspension.

Significant Procedural History

OCTC initiated this proceeding by filing and serving on Respondent a notice of
disciplinary charges (NDC) on December 18, 2017. Respondent filed a response to the NDC on
January 3, 2018. The parties filed a partial stipulation as to facts and admission of documents on
April 16, 2018.

A two-day trial was held on April 18, 2018, and May 15, 2018. The court took the matter
under submission for decision at the conclusion of the trial on May 15, 2018. Thereafter, each
party timely filed a posttrial brief on May 30, 2018.

OCTC was represented by Deputy Trial Counsel Timothy G. Byer. Respondent was
represented by Attorney Michael V. Hesse.

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law

Respondent was admitted to the practice of law in California on December 13, 1993, and

has been licensed to practice law in this state since that time.

2 Clear and convincing evidence leaves no substantial doubt and is sufficiently strong to
command the unhesitating assent of every reasonable mind. (Conservatorship of Wendland
(2001) 26 Cal.4th 519, 552.)

? The standards are found in title IV of the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar. All
further references to standards (or stds.) are to this source.

-2.



The following findings of fact and conclusions of law are based on the parties® April 16,
2018, partial stipulation of facts and admission of documents and the documentary and testimony
admitted into evidence at trial.
Case No. 17-0-01372 — Probation Violation Matter

Facts

In its May 18, 2016, order in Shirer II, the Supreme Court placed Respondent on one
year’s stayed suspension and two years’ probation on conditions, including restitution to a
former client in the amount of $450 plus interest, but no actual suspension. The Supreme Court
also ordered Respondent to take and pass the Multistate Professional Responsibility Examination
(MPRE) within one year. The Supreme Court's May 18, 2016, order became effective on June
17, 2016. Respondent’s two-year disciplinary probation in Shirer Il began on June 17, 2016.

Condition numbers 3 and 4 of Respondent’s probation in Shirer II provide as follows:

(3) Within thirty (30) days from the effective date of discipline [30 days from the
effective date of discipline was July 17, 2016], Respondent must contact the
Office of Probation and schedule a meeting with Respondent’s assigned
probation deputy to discuss these terms and conditions of probation. Upon
the direction of the Office of Probation, Respondent must meet with the
probation deputy either in-person or by telephone. During the period of
probation, Respondent must promptly meet with the probation deputy as
directed and upon request.

(4) Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the Office of Probation
on each January 10, April 10, July 10, and October 10 of the period of
probation. Under penalty of petjury, Respondent must state whether
Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act, the Rules of Professional
Conduct, and all conditions of probation during the preceding calendar
quarter....

In addition, the restitution condition of Respondent’s probation in Shirer II provides as follows:

“Respondent must pay [her former client M. Kent] restitution [in the principal amount of

$450.00 with interest from March 23, 2015] and provide satisfactory proof of payment to the
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Office of Probation not later than thirty days after the effective date of discipline herein [as
noted above, thirty days after the effective date of discipline was July 17, 2016].” (Original
bolding.)

On June 30, 2016, Respondent’s probation deputy sent Respondent a letter outlining and
setting forth the corresponding deadlines/due dates on certain conditions of Respondent’s
probation in Shirer 11. That letter correctly states that Respondent was required (1) to contact her
probation deputy no later than July 17, 2016, to schedule a meeting and (2) to submit quarterly
probation reports beginning October 10, 2016. However, that letter erroneously states that
Respondent had until June 17, 2018 (i.e., the entire term of Respondent’s two-year probation in
Shirer II) to pay restitution to her former client Kent. As noted above, Respondent was actually
required to pay restitution to Kent no later than July 17, 2016.

Respondent failed to contact the Office of Probation to schedule a meeting and failed to
pay any restitution to Kent by the July 17, 2016, deadline. Moreover, Respondent failed to file
her first probation report by the October 10, 2016, deadline. Thus, on October 25, 2016, the
Office of Probation sent Respondent a letter notifying her that she had failed to comply with the
conditions of her probation in Shirer I by failing to contact the Office of Probation no later than
July 17, 2016, to schedule a meeting and by failing to submit her first probation report to the
Office of Probation no later than October 10, 2016.

The October 25, 2016, letter did not, however, advise Respondent that she failed to
comply with the conditions of her probation in Shirer II by failing to pay restitution to Kent by
the July 17, 2016, deadline. Moreover, Respondent had little reason to believe that she had
violated her restitution condition because the Office of Probation included, with its October 25,
2016, letter to Respondent, a copy of its June 30, 2016, letter, which erroneously states that

Respondent had until June 17, 2018, to pay restitution to Kent.
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According to the parties® April 16, 2018, partial stipulation of facts, Respondent initially
submitted her first probation report (which was due no later than October 10, 2016) 225 days late
on May 23, 2017. In addition, Respondent paid Kent the required restitution with interest 310
days late on May 23, 2017. After discussions with the Office of Probation, Respondent made
changes to her first probation report. Then, on June 9, 2017, Respondent resubmitted her first
probation report. On June 9, 2017, Respondent also submitted (or resubmitted) her second and
third probation reports, which were due no later than J anuary 10, 2017, and April 10, 2017,
respectively.

Each of Respondent’s first three probation reports clearly disclosed its respective due
date (i.e., October 10, 2016, January 10, 2017, or April 10, 2017). In addition, Respondent
clearly disclosed, on each of her first three probation reports, that she actually signed them on
June 9, 2017. Thus, Respondent’s first three probation reports disclose, on their face, that they
were submitted many months after their respective due dates. According to the Office of
Probation, Respondent’s first three probation reports are “non-compliant” because they were
submitted late.

On July 5, 2017, Respondent timely submitted her fourth probation report, which as due
no later than July 10, 2017. Unlike her first three reports, the Office of Probation considers
Respondent’s fourth probation report to be “compliant.”

In her first report, Respondent reported that “[d]uring the reporting period above, I have
complied with all provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and all
conditions of probation EXCEPT ...: Unaware that I had been suspended for failure to pay state

bar dues, I inadvertently practiced law while not an active member during the period from July 7,

2016 to August 31, 2016 ....”



In her second, third, and fourth probation reports, Respondent reported that “[d]uring the
reporting period above, I have complied with all provisions of the State Bar Act, Rules of
Professional Conduct, and all conditions of probation.”

On September 8, 2017, Respondent finally contacted the Office of Probation to schedule
a meeting with her probation deputy to discuss the terms and conditions of her probation in
Shirer I1. Thereafter, Respondent attended and participated in a telephonic meeting with her
probation deputy on September 15, 2017.

Conclusions of Law
Count I — Section 6068, Subdivision (k) (Failure to Comply with Conditions of Probation)

In count 1, Respondent is charged with willfully violating section 6068, subdivision (k),
which provides that an attorney has a duty to comply with all conditions attached to any
disciplinary probation. Specifically, Respondent is charged with violating section 6068,
subdivision (k) by:

1. failing to pay and to provide proof of payment of restitution to Kent in the amount
of $450 plus interest no later than by July 17, 2016;

2. failing to contact the State Bar's Office of Probation by July 17, 2016, to schedule a
meeting with her assigned probation deputy;

3. failing to attend a required meeting with the Office of Probation;

4. failing to submit her first probation report that was due on October 10, 2016;

5. failing to submit her second probation report that was due on J anuary 10, 2017; and
6. failing to submit her third probation report that was due on April 10, 2017.

The record clearly establishes that Respondent willfully violated section 6068,
subdivision (k) by failing to pay and to provide proof of payment of the required restitution with
interest to Kent no later than July 17, 2016, as required under the restitution condition of
Respondent’s probation in Shirer IL.

Respondent credibly testified that she was confused about when she was required to pay

the restitution to Kent because, as noted above, the June 30, 2016, letter she received from her
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probation deputy clearly states that Respondent had until June 17, 2018, to pay the restitution.
However, Respondent’s understandable confusion over her deadline for paying restitution is not
a defense to her failure to timely pay the required restitution by July 17, 2016. Nonetheless, as
noted below, Respondent’s understandable confusion is a significant mitigating circumstance
and effectively rebuts the section 6106 (moral turpitude) violation charged in count 2.

The record also clearly establishes that Respondent willfully violated section 6068,
subdivision (k) by failing to contact the Office of Probation no later than July 17, 2016, to
schedule a meeting with her probation deputy in accordance with condition number 3 of
Respondent’s probation in Shirer II.

The record, however, fails to establish, by clear and convincing evidence, that
Respondent willfully violated section 6068, subdivision (k) by failing to attend a required
meeting with the Office of Probation as charged in count 1. The record clearly establishes that,
following Respondent’s request for a meeting with her probation deputy, Respondent
participated in a telephonic meeting with her probation deputy regarding the terms and
conditions of Respondent’s probation in Shirer Il on September 15, 2017. Thus, Respondent is
not culpable of violating section 6068, subdivision (k) by failing to attend a required meeting
with the Office of Probation as charged in count 1; therefore, that charge is DISMISSED with
prejudice.

The record also fails to establish, by clear and convincing evidence, that Respondent
willfully violated section 6068, subdivision (k) by failing to submit her first, second, and third
probation reports as charged in count 1. Contrary to the charges, the record clearly establishes
that Respondent submitted her first, second, and third probation reports to the Office of
Probation on June 9, 2017. Thus, Respondent did not violate section 6068, subdivision (k) by

failing to submit her first, second, and third probation reports. Instead, Respondent violated
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section 6068, subdivision (k) by failing to submit her first, second, and third probation reports by
their respective due dates of October 10, 2016, January 10, 2017, and April 10, 2017.
Respondent, however, was not charged with those violations in the NDC.

The purpose of an NDC is to give the respondent attorney “notice of the specific
misconduct the State Bar intends to prove [at trial].” (In the Matter of Glasser (Review Dept.
1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 163, 171.) The NDC in the present proceeding gave
Respondent, and this court, notice that OCTC intended to prove that she never submitted her first
three probation reports to the Office of Probation. The NDC did not give Respondent, or this
court, notice that OCTC intended to prove that Respondent submitted her first three reports late
(i.e., after their respective due dates) on June 9, 2017.

The Supreme Court has made it clear that “the State Bar cannot impose discipline for any
violation not alleged in the original notice to show cause. [Citation.]” (Van Sloten v. State Bar
(1989) 48 Cal.3d 921, 928; see also Read v. State Bar (1991) 53 Cal.3d 394, 409 [due process
mandates attorneys be disciplined only for violations charged in the notice].) In fact, “[i]f the
evidence produced before the hearing [judge] shows the attorney has committed an ethical
violation that was not charged in the notice, the State Bar must amend the notice to conform to
the evidence adduced at the hearing.” (Van Sloten v. State Bar, supra, 48 Cal.3d at pp. 928-929
[adequate notice requires being fairly apprised of precise nature of charges before proceedings
commence]; see also Rules Proc. of State Bar, rule 5.44(C).) OCTC did not amend the notice
during or at the close of trial to charge additional or alternative misconduct. In short, the court
must stick to the language in count 1. Because Respondent is not culpable of the three charged
violations of section 6068, subdivision (k) for failing to submit her first, second, and third

probation reports as charged in count 1, those three charges are also DISMISSED with prejudice.



Count 2 — Section 6106 (Moral Turpitude)

Section 6106 provides, in part, that the commission of any act involving moral turpitude,
dishonesty, or corruption constitutes cause for suspension or disbarment. Count 2 charges that
Respondent willfully violated section 6106°s proscription of acts involving moral turpitude
because she either deliberately or as a result of her gross negligence falsely reported under
penalty of perjury, in her first probation report, that she had complied with all of the conditions
of her probation. During the time period covered by Respondent’s first probation report,
Respondent did not comply with her restitution condition. As found above, Respondent violated
her restitution condition because she did not pay the required restitution with interest to Kent by
the July 17, 2016, deadline. To establish the foregoing section 6106 violation, OCTC must
establish, by clear and convincing evidence, either that Respondent deliberately lied with the
intent to mislead or deceive the Office of Probation when she falsely reported her compliance or
that Respondent falsely reported her compliance as a result of her own gross negligence.

There is no direct evidence that Respondent deliberately lied when she falsely reported
her compliance in her first probation report. Furthermore, Respondent’s honest and
understandable confusion over the date by which she was required to pay restitution, which
resulted from the Office of Probation’s unequivocal, erroneous statement in its June 30, 2016,
letter that Respondent had until June 17, 2018, to pay the restitution, negates any inference that
Respondent deliberately lied when she falsely reported her compliance in her first probation
report. In addition, Respondent’s honest and understandable confusion precludes the court from
finding that Respondent’s false reporting of her compliance was the result of her own gross
negligence. At worst, Respondent’s false statement was the result of Respondent’s mere
negligence, which will not support a finding of moral turpitude. Accordingly, count two is

DISMISSED with prejudice for want of proof.
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Count 3 — Section 6106 (Moral Turpitude)
Count 4 — Section 6106 (Moral Turpitude)
Count 5 — Section 6106 (Moral Turpitude)

Count 3 charges that Respondent willfully violated section 6106’s proscription of acts
involving moral turpitude because she either deliberately or as a result of her gross negligence
falsely reported under penalty of perjury, in her second probation report, that she had complied
with all of the conditions of her probation. During the time period covered by Respondent’s
second probation report, Respondent did not comply with her reporting condition (i.e.,
Respondent’s condition No. 4) because she did not submit her first probation report to the Office
of Probation by its October 10, 2016, due date.

Count 4 charges that Respondent willfully violated section 6106’s proscription of acts
involving moral turpitude because she either deliberately or as a result of her gross negligence
falsely reported under penalty of perjury, in her third probation report, that she had complied
with all of the conditions of her probation. During the time period covered by Respondent’s
third probation report, Respondent again failed to comply with her reporting condition because
she did not submit her second probation report to the Office of Probation by its January 10, 2017,
due date.

Count 5 charges that Respondent willfully violated section 6106°s proscription of acts
involving moral turpitude because she either deliberately or as a result of her gross negligence
falsely reported under penalty of perjury, in her fourth probation report, that she had complied
with all of the conditions of her probation. During the time period covered by Respondent’s
fourth probation report, Respondent again failed to comply with her reporting condition because

she did not submit her third probation report to the Office of Probation by its April 10, 2017, due

date.

-10 -



The record fails to establish, by clear and convincing evidence, the section 6106
violations charged in counts 3, 4, and 5. There is no direct evidence that Respondent deliberately
lied when she falsely reported her compliance in her second, third, and fourth probation reports.
Moreover, Respondent’s first, second, and third probation reports were clearly identified by the
dates by which they were to have been submitted to the Office of Probation (i.c., by October 10,
2016; January 10, 2017; and April 10, 2017, respectively). In addition, on those reports,
Respondent clearly disclosed that she actually signed the reports on June 9, 2017, which was
many months after the dates by which they were to have been submitted. In other words,
Respondent’s first, second, and third probation reports clearly disclose, on their face, that
Respondent failed to submit them timely. Thus, there is no plausible basis for concluding that
Respondent deliberately lied with the intent to mislead or deceive when she falsely reported her
compliance in her second, third, and fourth probation reports.

The NDC does not allege a factual basis for Respondent’s alleged gross negligence. In
other words, the NDC fails to allege any facts that, if proved, would establish that Respondent’s
false reports of compliance were the results of Respondent’s gross negligence and not just
negligent mistakes. In any event, the fact that the three reports disclose on their face that they
were submitted late negates any inference that Respondent’s false reports of compliance were the

result of gross negligence.

Counts 3, 4, and 5 are DISMISSED with prejudice for want of proof.

Aggravation and Mitigation

Aggravation
Prior Records of Discipline (Std. 1.5(a).)

Respondent has the following three prior records of discipline.
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Shirer 1

Respondent was privately reproved in her first prior record of discipline, case No.
06-0-12713, effective July 31, 2008, for a single count of failing to competently perform legal
services (rule 3-110(A)). There were no aggravating factors, and Respondent’s misconduct was
mitigated by her lack of prior discipline.

Shirer 11

Respondent’s second prior record of discipline is the Supreme Court's May 18, 2016,
order in Shirer II placing Respondent on one year’s stayed suspension and two years’ probation
on conditions, including restitution, but no actual suspension, and ordering Respondent to take
and pass the MPRE within one year. The Supreme Court imposed that discipline on Respondent
in accordance with a stipulation regarding facts, conclusions of law, and disposition that
Respondent and OCTC entered into and which the State Bar Court approved in an order filed on
January 7, 2016, in State Bar Court case No. 15-0-11121.

The facts and culpability conclusions underlying the Supreme Court's May 18, 2016,
disciplinary order in Shirer 11, as set forth in the parties’ stipulation that was approved on
January 7, 2016, are as follows. In early 2014, M. Kent retained Respondent to incorporate a
nonprofit organization and to prepare and file applications .for state and federal tax exempt status
for that organization. Kent paid Respondent $2,500 as a flat fee for Respondent’s legal services
and $450 as an advance for costs. Respondent completed the incorporation of the organization.
In addition, she prepared the applications for state and federal tax exempt status, but lost them
and Kent’s contact information when the hard-drive of her law office computer crashed beyond
repair in about March 2014.

In early January 2015, Kent filed a complaint against Respondent with the State Bar

because, among other things, Respondent failed to file the applications for tax-exempt status and
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because Respondent had stopped communicating with him. During OCTC’s investigation of
Kent’s compliant, OCTC sent Respondent two investigation letters seeking information from
her. Respondent, however, failed to respond to those letters even though she received them.

In August 2015, OCTC filed the NDC in Shirer II charging Respondent with six counts
of misconduct. Five of the counts charged Respondent with misconduct in the Kent matter and
one of the counts charged Respondent with failing to cooperate with a State Bar disciplinary
investigation.

In the January 7, 2016, stipulation in Shirer II, Respondent stipulated to culpability on
four of the six counts. Specifically, Respondent stipulated to (1) failing to competently perform
legal services in the Kent matter (rule 3-110(A)); (2) failing to adequately communicate with
Kent (§ 6068, subd. (m)); (3) failing to account to Kent (rule 4-100(B)(3)); and (4) failing to
cooperate in OCTC's investigation of Kent’s complaint (§ 6068, subd. (m)). The remaining two
counts were dismissed.

Shirer 111

Respondent’s third discipline is the Supreme Court's April 17, 2017, order in In re Rae
Diane Shirer on Discipline, case No. $239886 (State Bar Court case No. 15-0-14402)

(Shirer 11I) placing Respondent on one year’s stayed suspension and two years’ probation on
conditions, including a 30-day actual suspension. The Supreme Court imposed that discipline on
Respondent in accordance with a stipulation regarding facts, conclusions of law, and disposition
that Respondent and OCTC entered into and which the State Bar Court approved in an order
filed on December 20, 2016, in State Bar Court case No. 15-0-14402.

The facts and culpability conclusions underlying the Supreme Court's April 17, 2017,
order in Shirer 111, as set forth in the parties’ December 20, 2016, stipulation, are as follows. As

of July 1, 2013, Respondent had completed all of the required 25 hours of Minimum Continuing
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Legal Education (MCLE) courses for the compliance period ending on January 31 of the
following year. Respondent stored all of her MCLE compliance records on her law office
computer’s hard drive. In early March 2014, the hard drive on Respondent’s computer froze and
was unrecoverable, resulting in the loss of all the files on that hard drive, including Respondent’s
MCLE compliance records. On June 30, 2014, Respondent reported under the penalty of perjury
to the State Bar that she had fully complied with her MCLE requirements for the compliance
period ending January 31, 2014. Respondent’s report of compliance, however, was false
because, under rule 2.90 of the Rules of the State Bar, noncompliance with the MCLE
requirements includes an attorney’s failure to keep a record of his or her MCLE compliance.
Moreover, Respondent stipulated that, when she reported to the State Bar that she was in
compliance with the MCLE requirements, she was grossly negligent in not knowing that she was
not in full compliance. Respondent further stipulated that her unintentional, false reporting of
her MCLE compliance involved moral turpitude in willful violation of section 6106 because the
false report resulted from her gross negligence.

In the present proceeding, Respondent’s three prior records of discipline are significant
aggravating circumstances.

Multiple Acts of Wrongdoing

Respondent’s present misconduct does not evidence multiple acts of wrongdoing because
she has been found culpable of only two violations of section 6068, subdivision (k). (In the
Matter of Shalant (Review Dept. 2005) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 829, 839 [two acts are not

multiple acts of misconduct aggravation]; see also In the Matter of Blum (Review Dept. 1994) 3

Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 170, 177.)
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Mitigation

Candor/Cooperation to Victims/State Bar (Std. 1.6(e).)

By entering into an the partial stipulation of facts with OCTC, Respondent has
acknowledged her misconduct and demonstrated her willingness to participate in the
rehabilitative process and to conform her conduct to the strictures of the profession. Respondent
is entitled to significant mitigation for her recognition of wrongdoing, for her willingness to
undergo rehabilitation, cooperation, and for saving the State Bar significant resources and time.
(Silva-Vidor v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 1071, 1079 [where mitigating credit was given for
entering into a stipulation as to facts and culpability]; In the Matter of Spaith (Review Dept.
1996) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 511, 521 [where the attorney's stipulation to facts and culpability
was held to be a mitigating circumstance].)

Honest and Understandable Confusion

As noted above, even though Respondent’s honest and understandable (i.e., reasonable)
confusion over the date by which she was required to pay restitution, which resulted from the
Office of Probation’s unequivocal, erroneous statement in its June 30, 2016, letter that
Respondent had until June 17, 2018, to pay the restitution, is not a defense to the found section
6068, subdivision (k) violation for not timely paying the restitution, Respondent’s confusion is a
very significant mitigating circumstance with respect to that violation. (Std. 1.6(b).)

Community Service and Civic Endeavors

The Rotary Club is a professional organization devoted to performing local and
international community service projects. Respondent not only served as a district governor with
the Rotary Club from July 2013 through June 2014, she also served as the local president twice.
During her service with the Rotary Club, Respondent participated in the Rotary Club Youth

Leadership Camp. During her one-year term as a district governor, her district’s fundraising
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events raised about $450,000 which supported eye and dental clinics in Guatemala, provided
medical services and medical supplies in Mexico, and supported youth mentorship programs in
Orange County. That same year, Respondent’s district held an emergency fundraiser which
raised $30,000 to help restore housing for typhoon-affected residents in the Philippines.

Respondent’s credible testimony regarding her extensive community service through the
Rotary Club was corroborated by the credible testimony of John Bouyer, who is one of
Respondent’s former clients and who has known her since November 2000. He was satisfied
with the legal services Respondent provided. When Bouyer was the president of the local Rotary
Club, Bouyer recruited Respondent to join. When Respondent served as a Rotary Club
governor, Bouyer worked on her district leadership team. He also credibility testified that, based
on his Rotary Club experience with Respondent, he knows her be honest and of good moral
character.

Respondent has established, by clear and convincing evidence, that she is and has been
for many years extensively involved in community service through the Rotary Club. (Calvert v.
State Bar (1991) 54 Cal.3d 765, 785 [community service is a mitigating factor].) For about a
two-year period, Respondent’s service with the Rotary Club effectively mirrored a full-time job;
Respondent often times working seven days a week. Respondent is entitled to substantial
mitigating credit for her extensive community service and civic endeavors through the Rotary
Club. Without question, Respondent’s community service through the Rotary Club is
compelling mitigation. (In the Matter of Yee (Review Dept. 2014) 5 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 330,
336.)

In addition to her service through the Rotary Club, Respondent was also involved with
service organizations, including the Orange Senior Housing, Inc. (OSHI), where she served on

the board from 2014 through 2017. As a member of the OSHI board, Respondent was involved
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in its efforts to obtain financing for low income seniors to renovate their homes. While an OSHI
board member, Respondent received a nominal $3,000 fee for her service.

Respondent is entitled to only limited mitigation for her community service though these
non-Rotary Club service organizations because the only evidence of that service was
Respondent’s credible, but uncorroborated testimony. (In the Matter of Shalant (Review Dept.
2005) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 829, 840 [limited mitigating weight is given for community
service established only by the respondent attorney’s testimony].)

Good Faith and Belated Compliance

The record clearly shows that Respondent has acted in good faith. In addition, despite
the two violations of Respondent’s probation in Shirer II found above, Respondent appreciates
and takes seriously her duty to, strictly comply with all of the conditions of her disciplinary
probation. Respondent contacted and sought guidance from her assigned probation deputy as to
what she had to do to comply with her probation conditions. Moreover, Respondent belatedly
complied with all of her probation conditions about six months before OCTC filed the present
proceeding against her. The court finds Respondent’s good faith and belated compliance to be
significant mitigating circumstances. “Belated compliance with a probation condition may be
considered as a mitigating factor in determining discipline. [Citation.]” (In the Matter of Rose,
supra, 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. at p. 652, citing In the Matter of Broderick (Review Dept. 1994)
3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 138, 150.)

Health and Emotional Problems

Respondent credibly testified that, throughout most of 2016, she suffered from either a
severe respiratory infection, depression, emotional distress, or a combination of all three. Even
though Respondent failed to present any expert testimony on these issues, she is entitled to

limited mitigating credit for them. (E.g., Lawhorn v. State Bar (1987) 43 Cal.3d 1357, 1364

-17 -



[Supreme Court considered lay testimony of emotional problems as mitigation]; see also In re
Brown (1995) 12 Cal.4th 205, 222.)
Discussion

The disciplinary analysis begins with the standards, which provide guidance and are
intended to promote consistent application of discipline. (In re Silverton (2005) 36 Cal.4th 81,
91.) Initially, the court considers standard 1.1, which acknowledges that the purpose of attorney
discipline is not to punish the attorney, but to protect the public, the courts, and the legal
profession; to preserve public confidence in the profession; and to maintain high professional
standards for attorneys.

The applicable standard for the two violations of section 6068, subdivision (k) is standard
2.14. According to that standard, actual suspension is the appropriate discipline for violating
section 6068, subdivision (k) with the degree of the sanction to be determined by the nature of
the condition violated and the respondent attorney’s unwillingness or inability to comply with
the disciplinary order. Also relevant is standard 1.8(b). Standard 1.8(b) provides that, if a
member has two or more prior records of discipline, disbarment is appropriate if: (1) an actual
suspension was ordered in any of the prior matters; (2) the prior and current matters demonstrate
a pattern of misconduct; or (3) the prior and current matters demonstrate an unwillingness or
inability to conform to ethical responsibilities. Standard 1.8(b) provides for a departure from the
appropriate discipline of disbarment where “the most compelling mitigating circumstances
clearly predominate or the misconduct underlying the prior discipline occurred during the same
time period as the current misconduct.” Because standard 1.7(a) directs that when multiple

sanctions apply, the most severe sanction should be imposed, the court focuses on standard

1.8(b).
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It is well established that when applying a standard that provides for a specific level of
discipline based on an attorney’s prior record or records of discipline, such as standard 1.8(b), the
State Bar Court does not blindly “treat all priors as having equal weight, but [must] consider the
facts underlying the various proceedings in arriving at the appropriate discipline.” (Conroy v.
State Bar (1991) 53 Cal.3d 495, 506-507; Arm v. State Bar (1990) 50 Cal.3d 763, 778-779.)
Moreover, the principle that “[t]he imposition of attorney discipline does not issue from a fixed
formula but from a balanced consideration of all relevant factors, including aggravating and
mitigating circumstances” (Rodgers v. State Bar (1989) 48 Cal.3d 300, 316), precludes the State
Bar Court from recommending that an attorney be disbarred based solely on the number of times
he or she has been disciplined. (Cf. In the Matter of Miller (Review Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar
Ct. Rptr. 131, 136 [to fulfill “purposes of lawyer discipline, [the State Bar Court] must examine
the nature and chronology of respondent’s record of discipline™].)

The court concludes that standard 1.8(b) is to be applied in the same manner as former
standard 1.7(b). Former standard 1.7(b) was applied “with due regard to the nature and extent of
the respondent’s prior records. [Citation.]” (In the Matter of Meyer (Review Dept. 1997) 3 Cal.
State Bar Ct. Rptr. 697, 704.) In that regard, when former standard 1.7(b) was applied,
significant weight was placed “on whether or not there is a ‘common thread’ among the various
prior disciplinary proceedings or a ‘habitual course of conduct’ which justifies disbarment.
[Citation.]” (In the Matter of Shalant (Review Dept. 2005) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 829, 841.)

There is no common thread between the present proceeding and any of Respondent’s
prior records of discipline. Moreover, the present misconduct is not sufficiently egregious to
recommend disbarment. (Cf. Conroy v. State Bar, supra, 53 Cal.3d at pp. 506-507 [disbarment
under former std. 1.7(b) was not mandatory even when compelling mitigating circumstances did

not clearly predominate].) Nonetheless, under standard 2.14, the court finds that significant
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discipline, including a lengthy period of actual suspension, is necessary to fulfill the purposes of
attorney discipline. In addition, the court concludes that the recommended period of actual
suspension should be greater than the 30-day actual suspension imposed on Respondent in
Shirer 1II. (Std. 1.8(a).)

The willful violation of a condition of probation often calls for actual suspension as a
reflection of the seriousness with which compliance with probationary duties is held. The court
finds Potack v. State Bar (1991) 54 Cal.3d 132 to be instructive on the issue of discipline even
though it is a probation revocation proceeding. Potack’s probation was revoked, and he was
actually suspended from practice for two years because he failed to timely submit one quarterly
probation report after being given ample opportunity to do so. There were no mitigating
circumstances in Potack. In aggravation, Potack defaulted in the State Bar Court and had one
prior record of discipline.

Even though Potack defaulted and Respondent is participating in this proceeding,
Respondent has three prior records of discipline while Potack had only one. Nonetheless,
Potack’s one prior record involved significantly greater misconduct than the collective
misconduct in Respondent’s three prior records of discipline. (Potack’s prior misconduct
warranted a one-year actual suspension; while Respondent’s prior misconduct warranted only a
30-day actual suspension. Furthermore, in the present proceeding, Respondent belatedly
complied with all of the conditions of her probation before OCTC filed the present case; whereas
Potack failed to correct his deficiencies even though he was given ample opportunity to do so by
the State Bar.

The Supreme Court rejected the Potack's argument that the recommended two-year

suspension was excessive, concluding that Potack’s “failure to abide by the terms and conditions
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of his probation is a serious violation” warranting the recommended two-year suspension.
(Potack v. State Bar, supra, 54 Cal.3d at p. 139.)

OCTC argues that disbarment is necessary and appropriate given Respondent’s
culpability and the aggravation which far outweighs her mitigation. Citing In the Matter of
Carver (Review Dept. 2014) 5 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 348, 356, Respondent argues that the
appropriate level of discipline is 90 days’ to one year’s actual suspension.

After carefully considering the factors unique to this case, the court finds that disbarment
is not warranted or necessary to protect the public, the profession, or the courts. The Supreme
Court has repeatedly stated that disbarment will not be ordered in cases like the present one in
which there is no evidence that a sanction less than disbarment is inadequate to deter further
misconduct and protect the public. (In the Matter of Hertz (Review Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar
Ct. Rptr. 456, 472, and cases there cited.) Nonetheless, on balance, the court concludes that the
appropriate level of discipline is two years’ stayed suspension and three years’ probation with
conditions, including a one-year actual suspension.*

Recommendations
Discipline

It is recommended that Rae Diane Shirer, State Bar Number 167137, be suspended from

the practice of law for two years, that execution of that suspension be stayed, and that

Respondent be placed on probation for three years with the following conditions.

# As noted above, Respondent was ordered to take and pass the MPRE in Shirer II.
Respondent took and passed the August 2017 MPRE. Respondent committed all of the
misconduct found in the present proceeding before she took and passed the August 2017
examination. Accordingly, the court does not recommend that Respondent be ordered to take
and pass the MPRE again in this proceeding. (Rhodes v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 50, 61;
accord In the Matter of Dahlz (Review Dept. 2001) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 269, 286.)
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Conditions of Probation

Actual Suspension
Respondent must be suspended from the practice of law for the first year of Respondent’s
probation.
Review Rules of Professional Conduct
Within 30 days after the effective date of the Supreme Court order imposing discipline in
this matter, Respondent must (1) read the California Rulés of Professional Conduct (Rules of
Professional Conduct) and Business and Professions Code sections 6067, 6068, and 6103
through 6126 and (2) provide a declaration, under penalty of petjury, attesting to Respondent’s
compliance with this requirement, to the State Bar’s Office of Probation in Los Angeles (Office
of Probation) with Respondent’s first quarterly report.
Comply with State Bar Act, Rules of Professional Conduct, and Probation Conditions
Respondent must comply with the provisions of the State Bar Act, the Rules of
Professional Conduct, and all conditions of Respondent’s probation.
Maintain Valid Official Membership Address and Other Required Contact Information
Within 30 days after the effective date of the Supreme Court order imposing discipline in
this matter, Respondent must make certain that the State Bar Attorney Regulation and Consumer
Resources Office (ARCR) has Respondent’s current office address, email address, and telephone
number. If Respondent does not maintain an office, Respondent must provide the mailing
address, email address, and telephone number to be used for State Bar purposes. Respondent
must report, in writing, any change in the above information to ARCR, within ten (10) days after

such change, in the manner required by that office.
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Meet and Cooperate with Office of Probation

Within 15 days after the effective date of the Supreme Court order imposing discipline in
this matter, Respondent must schedule a meeting with Respondent’s assigned probation case
specialist to discuss the terms and conditions of Respondent’s discipline and, within 30 days
after the effective date of the court’s order, must participate in such meeting. Unless otherwise
instructed by the Office of Probation, Respondent may meet with the probation case specialist in
person or by telephone. During the probation period, Respondent must promptly meet with
representatives of the Office of Probation as requested by it and, subject to the assertion of
applicable privileges, must fully, promptly, and truthfully answer any inquiries by it and provide
to it any other information requested by it.
State Bar Court Retains Jurisdiction/Appear Before and Cooperate with State Bar Court

During Respondent’s probation period, the State Bar Court retains jurisdiction over
Respondent to address issues concerning compliance with probation conditions. During this
period, Respondent must appear before the State Bar Court as required by the court or by the
Office of Probation after written notice mailed to Respondent’s official membership address, as
provided above. Subject to the assertion of applicable privileges, Respondent must fully,
promptly, and truthfully answer any inquiries by the court and must provide any other
information the court requests.

Quarterly and Final Reports

a. Deadlines for Reports. Respondent must submit written quarterly reports to the
Office of Probation no later than each January 10 (covering October 1 through December 31 of
the prior year), April 10 (covering January 1 through March 31), July 10 (covering April 1
through June 30), and October 10 (covering July 1 through September 30) within the period of

probation. If the first report would cover less than 30 days, that report must be submitted on the
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next quarter date and cover the extended deadline. In addition to all quarterly reports,
Respondent must submit a final report no earlier than ten (10) days before the last day of the
probation period and no later than the last day of the probation period.

b. Contents of Reports. Respondent must answer, under penalty of perjury, all
inquiries contained in the quarterly report form provided by the Office of Probation, including
stating whether Respondent has complied with the State Bar Act and the Rules of Professional
Conduct during the applicable quarter or period. All reports must be: (1) submitted on the form
provided by the Office of Probation; (2) signed and dated after the completion of the period for
which the report is being submitted (except for the final report); (3) filled out completely and
signed under penalty of perjury; and (4) submitted to the Office of Probation on or before each
report’s due date.

c¢. Submission of Reports. All reports must be submitted by: (1) fax or email to the
Office of Probation; (2) personal delivery to the Office of Probation; (3) certified mail, return
receipt requested, to the Office of Probation (postmarked on or before the due date); or (4) other
tracked-service provider, such as Federal Express or United Parcel Service, etc. (physically
delivered to such provider on or before the due date).

d. Proof of Compliance. Respondent is directed to maintain proof of Respondent’s
compliance with the above requirements for each such report for a minimum of one year after
either the period of probation or the period of Respondent’s actual suspension has ended,
whichever is longer. Respondent is required to present such proof upon request by the State Bar,
the Office of Probation, or the State Bar Court.

Commencement of Probation

The period of probation will commence on the effective date of the Supreme Court order

imposing discipline in this matter. At the expiration of the probation period, if Respondent has
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complied with all conditions of probation, the period of stayed suspension will be satisfied and
that suspension will be terminated.

California Rules of Court, Rule 9.20

It is further recommended that Respondent be ordered to comply with the requirements of
California Rules of Court, rule 9.20 and to perform the acts specified in subdivisions (a) and (c)
of that rule within 30 and 40 days, respectively, after the effective date of the Supreme Court
order imposing discipline in this matter.’ Failure to do so may result in disbarment or
suspension.

Costs

It is further recommended that costs be awarded to the State Bar in accordance with
Business and Professions Code section 6086.10 and that the costs be enforceable both as
provided in Business and Professions Code section 6140.7 and as a money judgment. Unless the
time for payment of discipline costs is extended pursuant to subdivision (c) of section 6086.1 0,
costs assessed against a member who is actually suspended or disbarred must be paid as a

condition of reinstatement or return to active status.

Dated: August 9, 2018.

3 For purposes of compliance with rule 9.20(a), the operative date for identification of
“clients being represented in pending matters” and others to be notified is the filing date of the
Supreme Court order, not any later “effective” date of the order. (4thearn v. State Bar (1982) 32
Cal.3d 38, 45.) Further, Respondent is required to file a rule 9.20(c) affidavit even if Respondent
has no clients to notify on the date the Supreme Court files its order in this proceeding. (Powers
v. State Bar (1988) 44 Cal.3d 337, 341.) In addition to being punished as a crime or contempt,
an attorney’s failure to comply with rule 9.20 is, inter alia, cause for disbarment, suspension,
revocation of any pending disciplinary probation, and denial of an application for reinstatement
after disbarment. (Cal. Rules of Court, rule 9.20(d).)
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CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

[Rules Proc. of State Bar; Rule 5.27(B); Code Civ. Proc., § 1013a(4)]

I am a Court Specialist of the State Bar Court of California. I am over the age of eighteen and
not a party to the within proceeding. Pursuant to standard court practice, in the City and County
of Los Angeles, on August 9, 2018, I deposited a true copy of the following document(s):

DECISION
in a sealed envelope for collection and mailing on that date as follows:

X by first-class mail, with postage thereon fully prepaid, through the United States Postal
Service at Los Angeles, California, addressed as follows:

MICHAEL VAUGHN HESSE
4515 TYLER ST
RIVERSIDE, CA 92503 - 2808

X by interoffice mail through a facility regularly maintained by the State Bar of California
addressed as follows:

Timothy G. Byer, Enforcement, Los Angeles

I hereby certify that the foregoing is true and correct. Executed in Los Angeles, California, on
August 9, 2018. \
'\ A .‘ P rYa iy
g o Udss -
Elizabeth Alvarez I
Court Specialist / )
State Bar Court s




