James Edward Griswold - #207294
The following information is from the official records of The State Bar of California.
100 Oceangate 12th Fl Ste 432
Long Beach, CA 90802
|Phone Number:||(714) 633-9500|
|Fax Number:||(714) 633-3885|
||Undergraduate School:||California Polytechnic St U; San Luis Obispo CA|
|Sections:||None||Law School:||Southwestern Univ SOL; Los Angeles CA|
Actions Affecting Eligibility to Practice Law in California
State Bar Court Cases
NOTE: The State Bar Court began posting public discipline documents online in 2005. The format and pagination of documents posted on this site may vary from the originals in the case file as a result of their translation from the original format into Word and PDF. Copies of additional related documents in a case are available upon request. Only Opinions designated for publication in the State Bar Court Reporter may be cited or relied on as precedent in State Bar Court proceedings. For further information about a case that is displayed here, please refer to the State Bar Court's online docket, which can be found at: http://apps.statebarcourt.ca.gov/dockets.aspx
DISCLAIMER: Any posted Notice of Disciplinary Charges, Conviction Transmittal or other initiating document, contains only allegations of professional misconduct. The attorney is presumed to be innocent of any misconduct warranting discipline until the charges have been proven.
|Effective Date||Case Number||Description|
|10/3/2015||14-O-5677||Order re Entry of Default [PDF]|
|1/30/2015||14-O-2205||Order re Inactive Enrollment [PDF]|
California Bar Journal Discipline Summaries
Summaries from the California Bar Journal are based on discipline orders but are not the official records. Not all discipline actions have associated CBJ summaries. Copies of official attorney discipline records are available upon request.
November 18, 2016
JAMES EDWARD GRISWOLD [#207294], 50, of Los Angeles, was disbarred Nov. 18, 2016 and ordered to comply with rule 9.20 of the California Rules of Court.Griswold was disbarred after his default was entered for failing to respond to a notice of disciplinary charges. He did not have the default set aside within 90 days as required under rule 5.85 of the State Bar’s Rules of Procedure so the State Bar moved to disbar him.The charges were deemed admitted. Griswold improperly withdrew from employment, failed to comply with a court order requiring him to pay $1,000 in sanctions, cooperate by not providing a substantive response to three letters from a State Bar investigator or to update his membership address.